Cloudera "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cloudera Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Cloudera President and Chief Executive Officer Rob Bearden
Rob Bearden
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a GREAT reputation in the Big Data world(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, Open culture, free lunch(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with all start-ups that go IPO, there are some growing pains and there is a need to roll up sleeves(in 30 reviews)

  • "Too much work, work life balance not very well(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Internship at cloudera"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Bangalore
    Recommends

    I worked at Cloudera for less than a year

    Pros

    very chilled out work environment, work from home is never a problem, supportive management, awesome pantry, free lunch

    Cons

    only con in my mind was that it was an unpaid internship

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-08-12
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Not Suggested for experienced people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch, Free Breakfast, Cab for morning Shift guys.

    Cons

    All low level Support type of work in all most project.Manager are god here and incompetent managers.Lots of politics and favoritism and Incompetent Higher management.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (25)

    "Cloudera - Could've Been, Should've Been, Will Never Be If Things Continue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free lunch every day (personally cooked by chefs) and plenty of snacks/drinks - Flexible WFH and remote working policies - Good supplementary benefits (beyond health benefits) - Though few, there are are some good people left at the company holding it by the bones - Great company for managers, directors, VPs, etc. to continue playing the "Enterprise Game"

    Cons

    - Favoritism runs very deep in this company. If you're not "in" with the right leaders, do not expect promotions or market-worthy raises. This has been going on for years before the merger. - Attrition is high and morale is low. Retention packages were issued as the only means of keeping talent. Those who received a package were senior leadership or sales and engineering, which speaks volumes if this company can't even attract and retain engineering or sales talent. - Little opportunity for growth for individual contributors. Most business units do not have good (or any) documentation or onboarding plans. From day one, it was clear that I was not set up for success. If you interview here, make sure you ask the right questions to vet your managers and their "plans" for you and their team. And then, hold them to it. Be very careful if you consider joining this company. - Middle Management and Upper Management are not technical. Unfortunately, many in their positions today are unqualified and need some serious coaching. Few understand the day-to-day of their team, and if they do they can only speak to it at a high level. Most spend their time fighting political battles with one another, and sending their direct reports on meaningless projects to cover more ground for themselves and make themselves look good for the next title promotion. - Cloudera likes to pride itself in "moving fast", but very few here understand the market and make decisions based on emotion.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (15)

    ""RUN FOREST RUN!! Its a train wreck don't get on this nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera full-time

    Pros

    free lunch and snacks AC works most of the time

    Cons

    mark this date down!! in six months this company will be a memory writing is on the wall when their top leadership weeks apart from each other "ALL" suddenly quits. false claims of wanting to spend more time with their families? ironically all happens four months after said "Merger" they all got paid out millions as they made a fast getaway! while the rest of the LHWX & LCLDR watched their investments take a market dive to $3...

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2019-08-10
  5. "Excellent Work environment and highly tech people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, Open culture, free lunch

    Cons

    Growing pains, company is going through too many internal changes.

    Cloudera2019-02-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Welcoming open company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cloudera has a very transparent open company culture. Mgmt will answer tough questions during all hands etc.. Very supportive people with open feedback. Still a strong engineering culture with focus on customer delivery. A company that is working closely with a lot of top 500 brandnames. Very broad analytics portfolio, strengthened by Hortonworks merger. Great perks, free lunch, vacation, 401K, good health benefits.

    Cons

    Playing some catchup in some technology areas, but that reality has sunk in.

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2018-12-13
  7. "Software Engineer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera for less than a year

    Pros

    - People here are extremely nice , approachable, and happy to help you - Your contributions and ideas as an intern are definitely considered and valued - Very flexible environment - Free lunch and snacks - The company's executives make the time to talk to interns - you learn a lot!

    Cons

    Nothing really to report here

    Continue reading
    Cloudera2018-10-23
  8. "Great internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudera

    Pros

    1. My mentor is very versed in how the Hadoop Distributed File System works and provided prompt help when I encountered technical difficulties in my internship project. 2. My manager is very supportive and understanding. I was even allowed to take one week off attending a conference to present my research work as a PhD student during my internship. 3. My recruiter was very caring and was always willing to help during my internship. She also organized some fun activities for us interns, e.g., hiking at the Dish and Alcatraz cruise in San Francisco. 4. Free lunch was provided. This saves a lot of time.

    Cons

    1. The living expenses (especially the rent) in the Bay area are too high.

    Cloudera2018-10-21
  9. "Great experience for Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudera for less than a year

    Pros

    - Highly talented and experienced engineers. - Very accessible executives. You can head to CTO's desk and pick his brains. - Free lunch - Competitive pay for interns. - Very open culture - Great work life balance

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Cloudera2018-10-19
  10. "Good internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cloudera

    Pros

    Nice teammate Free lunch Work&life balance Intern events are interesting

    Cons

    Not very focus on innovation Need more diversity

    Cloudera2018-10-20
Found 24 reviews