Cloudreach Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cloudreach Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Cloudreach CEO Aaron M. Painter
Aaron M. Painter
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains that come with every org growing at this rate, but leadership is working hard to implement processes that help the org scale(in 18 reviews)

  • "yes, the company is growing inorganically(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "My company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Technology in Pune City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture. Employee friendly. Good work.

    Cons

    Not many cons working with Cloudreach

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2017-11-14
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Don't join India office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Snacks in office, Cloudy lunch on Friday. Quarterly events.

    Cons

    Compensation and salary, Poor management, No growth.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-08-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "CR Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    * Good learning curve * Awesome team * Quarterly trips domestic, international * Fair amount of projects * Loads of tech events

    Cons

    * HR can interfere in most ways * Project assignment to the right talent

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-03-06
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Unfortunately it's going down the water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Csd 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Current benefits: - unlimited holiday - remote work - smart colleagues (those who has not left yet) - cloudy lunch - option to travel - still a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    - chaos in the project management - chaotic resourcing management - fast growth allowed to lower skill level bar too much Leadership keep asking for feedback but when people have questions, answers are very broad, political and blurry, like they are trying to avoid hurting someone's feelings. After onboarding of new CEO, everything has become way more political, and communication changed from plain simple English (which was easy to understand for non-native speakers) to corporate meaningless rubbish which no-one cares about. As time goes by it feels like more and more people are afraid to take ownership and being accountable about what's happening. Culture is disappearing because cultural leaders are leaving due to lack of support and motivation. Newcomers cannot see this because they do not understand what's missing. Nothing will change, but everything is changing :) Touching people's money and benefits (in a negative way) in order to put everyone on the same level is a recipe for disaster. On top of that constant talk about transparency, but then wrapping the answers into a maze or politically correct answers with. I'll be happy to change this when I see the results if they come.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-08-05

    Cloudreach Response

    August 13, 2019General Manager NA

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you appreciate the multitude of cloudy benefits available and see loads of opportunity for yourself at Cloudreach. We recognise that as we evolve and grow at 80-100% year over year, there is always work to be done and that growth catches up with us. There are a few things you point out where we recognise there's work to be done and others where we disagree with your assessment. In terms of people’s compensation and benefits, we’ve spent significant time, effort, and resources on the People Fundamentals programme over the past year to deliver a framework that ensures we are paying competitively externally, as well as consistently internally. This past spring, the entire company took part in a benchmarking exercise using external professional market salary surveys from Radford and Mercer, during which we made crucial compensation adjustments for those who were found to be below market as a remediative action outside of our annual compensation review. As part of our Cloudy Deal (Cloudreach’s employee value proposition), we’re building out our total rewards strategy, including a full benefits review. Through our new Performance Elevation Process, we’re also establishing a regular cycle of performance, development, and recognition to support everyone to grow and develop, including mid-management and all leaders. Finally, we’re sorry to hear that you feel our communications have become less effective over time. As we’ve grown from a startup to a global company with nearly 1,000 employees in 21 locations, our communications approach is something that has needed to adapt and change with us to include many different cultures and individuals. Thank you for letting us know you prefer a more direct approach. We take all feedback seriously and will share this with leadership, as we’re always looking for suggestions on how to improve our internal communication mechanisms. Please continue sharing your thoughts, challenges, and constructive feedback with us internally, we do appreciate it. We are 100% in agreement on one thing – none of us want to lose sight of the great things we’ve always done as our company scales, so thank you again for your contribution at Cloudreach.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "It'll do, for now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of amiable colleagues from whom you can learn a lot. Working conditions are generally quite good (within Europe at least).

    Cons

    Firstly, the leadership has an obvious political agenda. There is a drive to become über diverse and intersectional in every dimension except thought; 'wrongthink' and even worse, 'wrongspeak', are monitored carefully. Wobbly eggplant emojis are now obvious phallic imagery and an offence to public decency; the workplace is now unsafe for women, such that we now have separate "circles" which are, apparently, safer for us. Particularly among our US colleagues, the outrage mentality/culture is very, very strong. The worst of it, the irony, is that from the leadership side, these 'Diversity and Inclusion' efforts are completely disingenuous: it just happens to be trendy in tech to align your business with 'liberal' ideology and the leadership team don't want to be left behind. Secondly, since the US leadership takeover, all corporate messaging has become completely and utterly 'Americanised'. I regret to use that term, but there's no other word I have to succinctly describe it. Everything is so soft and cushioned, everything has to have some emotive analogy/side story to go with it. Buzzword bingo has never been so popular. The corporate jargon and the verbiage cheese are so overwhelming that many of the European staff are completely tuned out of all corporate internal meetings and comms.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-29

    Cloudreach Response

    August 2, 2019Cloudreach

    Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear your positive comments on your lovely colleagues (we agree we have some pretty awesome Cloudreachers) working conditions and environment. Diversity and inclusion is an interesting topic. It is indeed a hot topic in the tech industry and we truly care for it. It is difficult to get it right for everyone, we invite anyone who is passionate about it to be part of the solution and share ideas and advice with us. We deeply believe this leads to better decision making, improved problem solving, greater creativity and innovation. Messaging for a global company is targeted to many different cultures and individuals. Thank you for letting us know it might be to soft for you, we will take this feedback in. Thank you for your feedback, we wish you all the best in your future endeavours!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Lots of dissatisfaction. The company was great and is now a bit bland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are still some great people at Cloudreach below the senior management level who go above and beyond to try and make this a great place to work. Despite the nice to haves being reduced there are still many perks to work at Cloudreach. The company has ambition and aims to be a market leader. Middle management are still worth following.

    Cons

    The hypergrowth has diluted the feel of working for an exciting start up, as such it has become like any other big business without the bonus of established routines, processes and equivalent renumeration. The company has shifted from being European led to being American run (this is only a con if you prefer the former) with a change in focus, priorities and leadership style. Although I was not aiming for any promotions in the near term I witnessed many people overlooked for promotion as growth was bought in rather than nurtured and developed. Leadership pride themselves on offering opportunities to ask questions and create an open communication culture, yet more often than not they sit on the fence in the manner expected of politicians.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-11

    Cloudreach Response

    July 22, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Absolutely agree with you that we have incredible people at Cloudreach, and teams that really care about the work we do, the impact we’re having and looking out for each other as we do it. It’s one of the main reasons I joined Cloudreach myself! Thanks for being open about how you’re feeling in the ‘cons’ section too. We do pride ourselves on our open culture and providing opportunities for everyone to share their questions, concerns and ideas. It’s quite difficult at times to answer questions in a way that meets the needs of everyone in open forums, particularly when asked anonymously as we often lack the context for those questions. I certainly find a conversation is more effective and rewarding, so I would love to speak with you personally to understand more. If you haven’t already, please feel free to contact me directly. As you say, we’ve had a year (actually many years) of huge growth, and with that our smaller ‘start-up’ business has become much bigger. We hear you - our systems, processes and routines have been lagging this growth spurt. That’s why we have been investing time over the past year to solidify those foundations to steady our growth. We want Cloudreach to feel just as connected as we grow, so please share your ideas on how we don’t lose sight of the great things we’ve always done as our company scales. Hopefully we will get a chance to talk soon.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The technology is amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Operations in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I spend my days playing with the latest technology. There are no limits and I can build anything I want and being it to my peers. Cloudreach enable people and provide an environment where you can work how you want to work. You will be tasked to do some really interesting work and have an opportunity to work with some of the smartest people. -Free beers on Friday! -Free lunch on Friday -Free breakfast every day -Pastries on Friday -Weekly get together where we acknowledge all the great things individuals have done in the previous week Cloudreach do care, they really do. Their entire culture from the top down are very aware of the 'human factor' and they allow you to work and be great in a way which works for you.

    Cons

    Honestly none. I'm very happy with my employment at Cloudreach.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-18
  8. Helpful (16)

    "Complete lack of vision and de-motivational lack of effective leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cloud Systems Developer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The individual contributors and engineering talent is there; if you are just starting out your career, Cloudreach peers will help you in any way they can because we genuinely want you to succeed, in spite of leadership. Unlimited time off and flexible work schedule allows you to take care of personal life and relationships comfortably, without affecting work. People are friendly, and enjoy spending time with each other outside the office.

    Cons

    Ever since a new CEO was brought on in August 2018, a few organizational restructurings and pivots have happened. Since then, the company has completely lost any semblance of an identity in who it is, and what it stands for. A few examples are illustrated below: - Grassroots campaigns like the Alliance for Partnerships and Inclusion (API) has completely lost focus, and pretty much fallen apart due to lack of interest from leadership, and basic requirement for monetary ROIs of diversity efforts. That's no way to measure success of D&I initiatives. D&I is currently on the back burner as the leadership team deals with burnout and high turnover rate among under-represented groups. If you are part of a diverse group, please think twice about coming here. Your concerns will probably not be heard. - A sharp pivot to focus on software and solutions has alienated the consulting (or CE) organization because CE no longer felt respected and listened to. CE is the most profitable and successful source of revenue for Cloudreach, yet has become an afterthought in leadership. As a result, consistency in delivery has gone down, talent has left, bookings have dropped sharply, and types of deals (especially Migration work) have become more body-shop like, and less interesting. Sales is driven by bonuses and commission to sell software that can barely stand its own, and CE engineers are recruited to help with it, while not getting paid or compensated in any way for their work. - False promises of promotions and compensation. Cloudreach has lost any understanding of "market-rate salary". Most people stayed because of the culture, but the culture and engagement has dropped sharply in recent months; internal surveys have revealed this to be the case. As a result, lots of top-end talent has left the building. Management, instead of listening to their concerns, has started to hire external talent with high pedigree, essentially alienating internal talent that waited many years in some cases to rise up to the top. - Lack of mid-management. There are lots of voids in mid-management because of people leaving, and lack of direction for each business unit. Training for managers is non-existent and inconsistent when there. Top-level leadership is a revolving door where some individuals keep rotating between positions, expecting the overall outcome to change. - Changing Values. Cloudreach has acquired a few companies (Relus mainly) whose culture values do not align with ours. Yet we are trying to combine them in a way that doesn't make sense. "Old school boys club" attitude still prevalent in these companies makes its way to the Cloudy culture Cloudreach used to harbor. Focus was put on revenue, over development of talent. 'Promoting personal growth' and 'being easy to work with' values are no longer respected as a result of a strong push to succeed monetarily. - Lack of ownership. When problems arise in teams becoming silo-ed, instead of working together, people say "not my problem" way too often, and leave things as is. No one wants to improve internal systems and procedures, and if they do, it's a single-handed effort where management simply never pulls through in supporting these changes. The Executive Council has grown from 10 people to probably more than 20, with no understanding from the individual contributors as to who owns what, who is responsible for what.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-16

    Cloudreach Response

    July 26, 2019Cloudreach

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you generally like our benefits - we do our best to bring our employees together and support a good work life balance as much as we can. We agree with your advice - listening is key to success. We take feedback very seriously and try our best to ensure every Cloudreacher has channels to share their concerns and questions including regular Q&As, a speak up form, engagement surveys to name a few. We welcome anyone for a coffee who wants to share their thoughts too. For employees who decide to leave, we organise exit interviews and surveys. Feedback themes are sent to our leaders weekly and many of our core initiatives form on the basis of these reviews. Yes, we have made a number of pivots to set us up for future growth, and that has meant expanding our solutions to include software, managed services AND consulting services as a collective offering - which has meant focusing equally on all three areas. This will take time to mature, but we feel it will create great opportunities for all of us to grow our impact further . In terms of Diversity & Inclusion, this is at the heart of what’s important to us. We deeply believe this leads to better decision making, improved problem solving, greater creativity and innovation. D&I is definitely a priority - we’re doing some great things already that perhaps you’re not aware of: -Focusing on balanced hiring resulting in increased females in leadership roles -Educating (mandatory) all Cloudreachers on unconscious bias -Reinvigorating grassroots employee communities like the API council by expanding the network and re-energising it’s focus in an evolved company - this is one of our key FY20 focuses -Sponsoring global external initiatives like world pride month and international women's day, and partnering with important communities i.e. Black Girls Code, Women in Tech, -Instead of handing out branded gifts at our events, we are channeling our efforts into supporting minority groups. These are just a few examples. We’re looking ahead to our new financial year to see how we can improve them further and measure their impact more effectively, In terms of our values. We’re proud of our cloudy culture - it has, and continues to be, one of our key differentiators. As we grow, it’s critical that we stay true to who we are. Equally, as we look to elevate the future, it’s vital that our culture - how we do things - evolves with us. Which is why we’re looking to evolve our values to reflect the company we’ve become over the past decade. We don’t take this lightly, but culture is a living, breathing thing that collectively represents how we do things, based on what’s important to us. How we’re evolving our values and culture is just as important as what they are That’s why we’ve led a bottom-up inclusive process through a mix of data and insight analysis, workshops, activation of 50 culture champions to facilitate sessions, and refinement rounds so that our refreshed values reflect what’s important to all Cloudreachers. In terms of compensation, we’ve spent time through People Fundamentals programme earlier this year to level the entire company through external professional market salary surveys, and make crucial market adjustments for those we felt were below market. As part of our Cloudy Deal, we’re building out our total rewards strategy including a full benefits review, Through our new Performance Elevation Process coming in August, we’re also establishing a regular cycle of performance, development, and recognition to support everyone to grow and develop, including mid-management and all leaders. None of us want to lose sight of the great things we’ve always done as our company scales. Thanks again for your contribution at Cloudreach - we wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to be with great learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cloudreach full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Amazing people and even more awesome colleagues • Flexibility & working from home. • Opportunities to progress in a different direction. • There's so much learning potential in all different areas. • The perks & benefits, they're unparalleled from anything I've seen before. Laptop, phone, unlimited holidays (within reason), quarterlies, yearly kickoffs, weekly free lunch, snacks & drinks, and much more. • • • I can't speak much on the state of other departments, I've never felt "threatened" by upper management about any aspect. We chose our own development path, tools and frameworks and were never forced to do anything in a specific way. • • • All in all, I think over the past ~4.5 years I went from a graduate to learning so much on AWS/Azure/GCP, software development and most leading industry technologies. I even got the chance to participate in a few Hackathons!

    Cons

    • Generally a 1-2-1 is promised every week, but after a while it felt like this happened every few months instead (2017-2018). • Sometimes an inquiry to management via your manager would take a while (not the manager's fault), in one case it took almost 8 months to get a response after chasing (2017). • A certain colleague in another department did not have the best of relationship, they were constantly trying to undermine our department at every opportunity; however, nothing was done about them and this eventually caused amazing talent to quit as a result. • • • I did notice a change during the end of 2018 in which we were moving more towards the traditional business model, however that is to be expected when you have so many employees. I joined when Cloudreach only had about 100 employees. • • • My only reasoning for leaving was to try out different avenues, but I would definitely recommend Cloudreach to anyone else.

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A genuinely good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cloudreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Pay, Unrivalled Work Culture, Perks including eating out Fridays, Working From Home, Bonuses and uncapped holiday allowance. Exciting tech driven work, in a market leader.

    Cons

    Going through severe growth, so business is adapting as it's outgrown being a startup

    Continue reading
    Cloudreach2019-07-05
Found 192 reviews