Coles Checkout Operator Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Coles Checkout Operator Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Coles CEO John Durkan (no image)
John Durkan
4 Ratings
  1. "Okay for casual position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, okay work environment

    Cons

    Small hours, no opportunities to move up

    Coles2019-06-20
  2. "Casual Customer service team member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Coles part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and pay on time.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING ELSE. Management are money-grabbers and don’t care about their team. Will hire heaps of young people and not give any shifts to anyone over 20. Don’t recommend.

    Coles2018-09-26
  3. "checkout operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good discounts lovely people to work with

    Cons

    working 3 hours once a week sucks especially if you are the cheapest

    Advice to Management

    give proper hours we dont travel to work for 3 hours a week

    Coles2018-09-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    money was reasonable, and some people were cool.

    Cons

    Very boring. Also got assaulted at work and the management could not have cared less. If you can get a better job, get a better job. if not, at least try.

    Coles2018-07-12
  5. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Great team environment

    Cons

    Sometimes understaffed, not enough on during peak hours at times

    Advice to Management

    Nothing really

    Coles2017-09-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great starting job, not much growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Cairns
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Consistent base hours, always people calling in sick so you can get more hours, incentives for management to keep staff happy.

    Cons

    It's next to impossible to get a full time position in a pre-existing store unless somebody dies, retires, or gets fired. Even then, it's split into multiple part-time positions

    Advice to Management

    You've been better with your budget, but you should give store management more leg room - It's hard enough getting RELIABLE people in, but you can't give them enough hours to keep them there and the customers happy. Every department at most stores I've been to has complaints about the budget and not being able to keep up

    Coles2017-05-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Mcdonalds for adults"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Wollongong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can basically get away with anything

    Cons

    Everyone can basically get away with anything

    Advice to Management

    Management dont actually care, often they will tell you this. everything they do is for their bonuses.

    Coles2017-02-21
  8. "Pretty Good place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Gold Coast
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours while studying, Usually good management.

    Cons

    Was forced to go from a casual worker to part time, but our current store manager doesn't like us taking time off work, and will call you an unreliable worker if you get sick with a legitimate sickness (and doctors certificate). Never had any problems until I was under our current manager.

    Advice to Management

    Department Managers are good, Store manager needs to get a reality check, You can tell she hasn't worked in any sort of customer service for many years.

    Coles2016-05-11
  9. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Checkout Operator in Townsville
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Coles part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great shifts, flexible with studies and look after employees.

    Cons

    Depending on shifts you may never see another weekend.

    Advice to Management

    All people should have a weekend off atleast once a month

    Coles2016-04-03
  10. "experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Checkout Operator in Adelaide
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Coles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible, great working envioronment, great benefits

    Cons

    its quite tough to say but is a bit hardwork

    Advice to Management

    career options for the employees

    Coles2015-12-09
Found 10 reviews