Cover image for Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)
Logo

Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)

Engaged Employer

Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)

Add a Review

Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 172 of over 178 reviews
3.3
58% Recommend to a Friend
Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) President and CEO Clint E. Stein
60% Approve of CEO

Found 172 of over 178 reviews

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) President and CEO Clint E. Stein
Clint E. Stein
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have decent benefits at Columbia Bank(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance and friendly environment(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, terribly low amount of pto days, and very uncompetitive benefits that they advertise as competitive such as 40lk dental/medical(in 7 reviews)

  • "Mean People: Some of the meanest people I've ever met, I encountered in the halls of Columbia Bank(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great for experience at different branches

      15 Nov 2022 - Float Teller in Tacoma, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility, easy scheduling, great work atmosphere

      Cons

      different locations depending on shifts offered

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      15 Sep 2022 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong work-life balance and great company culture.

      Cons

      Technology systems can be improved

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Join the Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Something has to change

      28 Sep 2022 - Client Care in Eugene, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively fast growth within department. Benefits are OK at best.

      Cons

      Pay is less than market, especially considering the stressful nature of the job. Consistently understaffed for how busy the department was. Morale was up and down but usually pretty bad. There wasn’t a lot of back office opportunity here. Most of Columbia’s back office departments are based out of Washington, including half of our department, so we’d frequently see our coworkers in Washington getting new positions in other departments but in Eugene you’re really just stuck there. There is a complete disconnect between the senior management of the bank and the employees who actually do the work. There are managers who have no actual technical experience with the work that we do and only have their positions because they have previous management experience. Human Resources and upper management do nothing about unethical behavior of managers. They’re so desperate for employees they’ve recently offered $2000 referral incentives to their existing employees. Not even just on my former department - I know of another department where 90% of their employees left in a span of 2 weeks!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      8 Sep 2022 - Personal Banker in Boise, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very understanding and supportive and a family feel

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good People

      25 Aug 2022 - Branch Manager III 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was lucky enough to find an incredible mentor at Columbia bank. I was also surrounded by a team of fearless employees that worked well together well and embraced our branch based culture of development and team work.

      Cons

      During COVID, staffing was an issue and training was stripped down to a minimum. This is a paper heavy environment that stretches the capacity of ABM's.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      just ok

      8 Sep 2022 - Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      not the best, not the worst

      Cons

      just a job, no more, no less

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall Good

      23 Aug 2022 - Operations Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inclusive, stable, culture, community, clients

      Cons

      Growth, salary, mergers, rigid, diversity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      15 Aug 2022 - Learning and Development 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay Management Coworkers Culture Leadership

      Cons

      Slow to update systems, but that's normal in the financial world.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No Training Schedule Here

      25 Aug 2022 - Small Business Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a job that pays the bills.

      Cons

      No program, position or process training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Abusive Assistant Branch Manager

      13 Sep 2022 - Personal Banker in Nampa, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits (read cons) My branch manager/ Co workers Almost everyone at the company is great to work with including upper management ( all very genuinely good people)

      Cons

      Overall I loved my branch however I ended up quitting due to our ABM being very covertly abusive and I was pregnant so I couldnt stay any longer for health reasons. Then the company that I thought had great benefits and integrity then asked me to repay vacation time that I had used because it technically wasn't accurred yet within the year, funny thing about that was I was forced to take it because of their strict covid policies. I got covid in the beginning of the year and instead of unpaid they used my vacation time. Columbia doesn't give you an unpaid option if you have vacation time. So I technically had the vacation but because I quit I was required to "reimburse them" for this benefit. Pretty tacky if you ask me especially since I was forced to quit over severe harassment not because I wanted to. Zero empathy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 172 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Reviews FAQs

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 178 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID). This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

    58% of Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID)? Share Your Experiences

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Photos

    + Add Photo
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) photo of: Columbia Bank Center
    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) photo of: The Blue Couch Lounge

    Have you worked here?

    See All Photos

    Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Wells Fargo Logo
    Wells Fargo

    3.7

    42,853 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 178 Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) reviews submitted anonymously by Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Columbia Bank (WA, OR & ID) is right for you.