Columbia University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Columbia University Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Columbia University President and Trustee Lee C. Bollinger
Lee C. Bollinger
699 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons to this job assignment(in 37 reviews)

  • "Living expenses are very high in New York city(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Columbia University for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment and people.

    Cons

    Sometimes the amount of work expected is too high.

    Columbia University2018-01-13
  2. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Columbia University full-time

    Pros

    Its my ambition to work in abroad. If u give me opportunity I'll prove my self. I'm smart and hard worker employe.

    Cons

    This is current job. Immediately I can join for work.

    Continue reading
    Columbia University2019-02-03
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Columbia University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work in

    Cons

    Nothing nice to work for

    Continue reading
    Columbia University2018-07-23
  4. "Experience at Math Department as TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia University

    Pros

    Good hourly rate of pay

    Cons

    Had to follow up a lot to get hired

    Columbia University2014-01-17
  5. "Over 15 Years working at Columbia University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits offered to employees. Depending on the department and type of work they can be flexible.

    Cons

    Workload can become very overwhelming. You have to ask for things like raises and depending on department they can hold back. Be prepared to deal with a lot of politics.

    Columbia University2020-02-27
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Columbia University full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity, my supervisor was very supportive and encouraged growth

    Cons

    Can be very bureaucratic and insular

    Columbia University2020-02-25
  7. "Great people here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to a lot of academic resources. Great people to work with. No micro managing. Good time off. Interesting projects.

    Cons

    No upward mobility. Okay pay but could be better. Benefits arent great.

    Columbia University2020-02-25
  8. "Huge institution, depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Columbia University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great facilities, amazing funding, top of their field researchers, prestige of the university

    Cons

    Enormous bureaucratic machine, job quality varies wildly between departments, supervisors, area of research

    Columbia University2020-02-24
  9. "Solid Work Study Gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Columbia University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Pretty Good People On Campus

    Cons

    Far from the dining hall The Winter

    Columbia University2020-02-20
  10. "Good Benefits, Bad Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Director in New York, NY

    I worked at Columbia University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, hours, flexibility, vacation time

    Cons

    Toxic academia political maneuvering is inescapable at every level

    Columbia University2020-02-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2115 reviews