Commerce Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Commerce Bank Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Commerce Bank CEO John W Kemper
John W Kemper
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance, ability to advance your career, continuing education opportunities, company culture(in 22 reviews)

  • "The best work environment, Great benefits(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "hours but only considered part time(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management is not understanding nor flexible with home circumstances(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Internal promotions Great atmosphere Good communication Pay

    Cons

    pay difference between retail and back office

    Commerce Bank2019-11-18
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, innovative culture, abundant opportunities for growth and advancement

    Cons

    Lower than average pay, internal processes can be slow to stagnant

    Commerce Bank2019-10-27

    Commerce Bank Response

    November 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are proud to have great reviews from team members like you on our page. Our Talent Management team does an amazing job providing employees with great benefits, career opportunities, and a culture to write home about. We’re glad our employees love it as much as we do. We are always trying to be more agile in how we approach problems so if there is an internal process you think can be improved, we’d love to hear your suggestions. Please email us at jobs@commercebank.com with your ideas and we will be sure to take them under consideration. Thank you for your review and being a member of the team!

    Continue reading
  3. "Commerce Bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst 

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good Location, good parking, downtown

    Cons

    there are to many cons

    Commerce Bank2019-11-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience.. Until the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Leadership Development Program, Plenty of Opportunity to Grow, Care and Compassion, Great Culture, Resources Provided To Support Team Development, Able to Make Decisions at the Team's Level

    Cons

    Lack of support with problem employees, Boss had Unconscious Biases, Made several Political and Racist Statements, when I started standing up to these things I received negative feedback on my leadership style and I eventually left before someone escorted me out as I stated to my boss during our last face to face meeting since it seemed like that's what we were headed to. He swore that wasn't true, but handed me a list of 41 leadership style items I needed to work on that were never an issue before and I had consistently received performance reviews that exceeded expectations every year of my employment.

    Continue reading
    Commerce Bank2019-10-18

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 23, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Commerce Bank prides itself on a diverse and inclusive environment and we take accusations of racism very seriously. Please email us at Jobs@commercebank.com so we can address your concerns.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good work culture.

    Cons

    Still a boys club at the top. Hard for women to move up.

    Continue reading
    Commerce Bank2019-10-18

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 23, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your ten plus years with us and sharing your feedback! Commerce strives to provide a competitive benefits package and a positive company culture, and we are glad you are seeing the difference it makes. Diversity and Inclusion is a top priority for us at every level of the company and we are making strides in this direction. If there is a specific issue you would like to address, we’d like to hear more. Please email us at jobs@commercebank.com. Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work - nice people - fair management

    Cons

    nothing really - wish systems were a bit better

    Commerce Bank2019-10-12

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 22, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for sharing! Our culture at all levels of the company is something we’re very proud of and we’re glad you are part of the team. We appreciate your suggestions on technology, we will pass it up the chain. Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place To Grow In Your Career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hands on management - Intensive training provided - Team-oriented atmosphere - Room for advancement if you're willing to work for it - Transparency in management - Good compensation - Empowering positions

    Cons

    - Holiday time off can be hard to manage

    Commerce Bank2019-10-04

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 22, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    What a list of pros! Thank you for your five-star review. Commerce makes learning, development and internal hiring a priority and we are glad you are seeing it in your daily work life. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  8. "Progressively better than years before."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Representative in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Commerce provided benefits of being an employee has increasingly improved over the last few years. I'm so pleased that they’re reviewing our surveys and attending to our desires for a better workplace environment and employer. After 20 years of service, this has been the happiest I've been working for Commerce Bank.

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of any at this time.

    Commerce Bank2019-10-03

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 22, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    WOW, 20 years at Commerce! We’re glad to see that our dedication to the employee experience is something you can see in your daily work life. We’re always seeking feedback on how we can improve and make our employees lives better. Thank you for all your feedback and for being a member of the team!

    Continue reading
  9. "Commerce - good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Clayton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commerce Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    continuing education working with great people flexibility with job duties

    Cons

    I do not have any - I have enjoyed the people I work with daily

    Continue reading
    Commerce Bank2019-10-03

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 22, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Hiya and thanks for your review! It’s great to hear that the positive work environment that we work hard to maintain is something that resonates with our team members. YOU are the reason we are such a great place to work! Thank you for your advice on salary, we will take that under consideration. Thank you again for your response and we’re glad you are member of the team!

    Continue reading
  10. "Personal Banker 1 salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker I 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Commerce Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offered very good pay for the position

    Cons

    Training just wasn't there for me

    Commerce Bank2019-10-02

    Commerce Bank Response

    October 21, 2019Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review of working at Commerce. Our Personal Banker training is a multi-week program designed to get you up to speed on all things Commerce Bank in stages. We are sorry to hear this wasn’t the case for you and we’d like to hear more about the challenges you faced. Please email us at jobs@commercebank.com with more details. Your feedback can help us improve!

    Continue reading
Found 383 reviews