Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Commonwealth of Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker (no image)
Charlie Baker
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, not a lot of room for growth, promotion is more about who you know than how talented you are(in 18 reviews)

  • "It isn't personal like the private sector(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good for fresher to startup and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    .NET Developer in Pune
    Recommends

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts

    Pros

    learn lot of things for fresher

    Cons

    time problem need to improve

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2016-03-03
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Officer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Effective and efficient growth culture

    Cons

    Technology limited by budget constraints

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2020-02-17
  3. "Good Place to work if you effectively deal with stress and child abuse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Social Worker in Worcester, MA

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Lots of trainings

    Cons

    It's very much about the numbers meaning quality of contact is not nearly as important as just contacting clients. This leads to poor relationships with families. Greedy foster parents, some were very good and very much doing it for the right reasons but there were man who just wanted a paycheck.

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2020-02-17
  4. "Director of Legislative and External Affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Legislative Affairs 

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Lead advocate for tech policy in the Commonwealth

    Cons

    Specific to only tech and cyber advocacy

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2020-01-28
  5. "Excellent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - State Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is great flexibility in the job

    Cons

    There are great demands on my time at odd hours

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2020-01-09
  6. "A very hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very hard job for what they pay. Is good thought

    Cons

    Ratchet people who think they are social workers

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2020-01-03
  7. "Great Altrustic Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veteran Employment Representative in Springfield, MA

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Independent Work with Veterans looking for employment help - No micromanaging, Great benefits, Great hours, -Creativity in utilizing resources, soft skills, resume writing a must -Unionize position, Flexible work schedule (Outreach in the community/partners encouraged). -Experience equally weighted with education. Yearly increases. -Easier to transfer jobs once you are in the system (similar to federal employment) -Gives up to 4yrs credit for military service (buyback for retirement) -Paid travel, paid training, OJT

    Cons

    -Estudios documentation expected -Must be comfortable switching through hats to coach customers to their success -Sometimes getting proper follow-up through the process is like nails -If you lack established connections with employers it's challenging -Pay could be better; possessing education & experience does not allow you to start higher the entry salary (labor union agreement) -Does not provide the option to buy back over 4 years of service even if applicable -Can take around 6mo to start after application submittal for the job -Training scheduling is delayed

    Continue reading
    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2019-12-14
  8. "Good place to work these days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, nice HR department

    Cons

    Hours can be long and irregular.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2019-11-26
  9. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Investigator 

    I worked at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time

    Pros

    Great hands-on experience and wonderful co-workers.

    Cons

    I don't have any. I enjoyed working there at that time in my life.

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2019-11-24
  10. "There is room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Commonwealth of Massachusetts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -benefits are awesome -learning opportunities through training -ability to pursue a degree that is field related

    Cons

    Bureaucracy can be tough to deal with

    Commonwealth of Massachusetts2019-11-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 399 reviews