Con-way Freight Account Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 484 reviews

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
0 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great company but the pay is far below the rest of the industry

    May 29, 2012 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Conway is a leader in the LTL industry and is a very stable company to work for if you work hard. They are fair but do not expect to move up as they will almost always hire from other trucking companies such as YRC. Training is solid but it unfortunately can only be used as a stepping stone to a higher paying company.

    Cons

    Bonuses are promised but they will rarely happen and the goals are not realistic. Your 401k match will come and go like the wind. When my pension was taken from me I was promised they would match my 401k plan. I think that might have only happened for about a quarter. When it is time to paint a service center take a guess who they will ask? Yes you! When the truck rodeo is in town plan on spending all day at this event and yes it is mandatory. Pay increases can go for 3-4 years and then they will tell you how lucky you were to get 3%. Their fleet of inspectors will change the class and weight of the freight so most of your day will be spent around customers who are always upset.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Local Account Executive

    Nov 29, 2014 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As long as you're hitting or progressing toward your numbers, you are given autonomy to manage your accounts and your calendar. In general pretty decent National and Regional Sales management team. I had the good fortune to have one (out of three during my tenure) excellent Regional Director of Sales. The other two were average. One was a goon with certain people, the other was under experienced for the position. Both were ultimately removed.

    Cons

    1. Reweighing and re-classifying freight was regaled as recovering millions per quarter. What was not acknowledged but brutal reality for AEs and Op's in continual loss of customers who felt completely betrayed by the company. 2. Vast irregularity of service and integrity from region to region, service center to service center. 3. Emphasis on checking boxes, and the required activity to do so, rather than actual revenue producing activity. I understand that it has gotten better in this area since I left.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company to work for

    Sep 6, 2012 - Customer Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay is okay. The local management tries hard to make you feel like a family. You are rewarded for making goals.

    Cons

    The bidding process is a joke. If you have low seniority you may work long hours for a month and for the next month you may hardly work. They also have a bidding process for the office which causes job duties to be assigned by start time. This causes problems because people are performing duties that they are not really qualified for and causing others to work twice as hard to fix their mistakes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not all service centers are the same

    Jun 15, 2013 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you happen to work at a great service center with great management and great co-workers, then this company is awesome.

    Cons

    Constant change of management. One day your life is good at the company, the next day you get a new manager or new employee that will make your life a living hell. Lack of communication and lack of dicipline towards the "favored employees" can leave a sour taste in one's mouth, especially if you are the one pulling all the slack. Unless you are on management salary, everyone in your department is on the same pay scale, which means no incentives for the lazys to work hard. They can sit around and eat and talk all day and only enter 50 bills in the system while the hard worker enters 200 and the pay is the same. No bonus towards the more dedicated eimployees.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Stable progressive company, adequate compensation.

    Nov 22, 2013 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent sales training. Good management. Great people.

    Cons

    Some Operations scorecards lead to Operations working against Sales when scorecards are too heavy on certain metrics that don't include end results for the customer. Certain internal departments drive away good customers through absolute control with little customer sensitivity. Inconsistent training and protocols for Customer Service and Billing.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    While I worked at Con-way Feight I thought it was an outstanding company and a leader among the other LTL companies.

    Apr 22, 2011 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job Satisfaction, Great Tools to get your Job Done, Compensation, Leadership, Sales Focused Company, Great Service to Sell, Accountability, Promotions

    Cons

    Rapid Implementation of Ideas without modeling Some Micro Managing Key positions have a few weak leaders Drivers are somwhat too empowered

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Does not care about employees

    Sep 14, 2013 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay for a customer service representative if you are full-time. Great PTO program if you are full-time.

    Cons

    On July 26, 2013 Con-Way reduced my hours to part-time and along with that they also reduced my wage by over $2.00 per hour. No benefits. No PTO. Effective July 29, 2013. The following week management sent out an email bragging about the profit they had made, which was the highest since 2009. I understand there was also a video to be shown to all employees but my manager didn't want to rub my nose in it so I didn't see it. It is rumored that these cuts were made in light of Obamacare. By cutting me back to part time Con-Way did not save on the cost of my health benefits as I didn't use them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Make sure the customer is taken care of and you are true to your promises

    Jan 13, 2010 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    stable company, enthusiastic work environment, well compensated compared to similar LTL companies. Plenty of opportunity for promotions and future careers.

    Cons

    In smaller facilities employees with a college education and great know how can be restricted due to current supervisor isn't worth promoting.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company to work for

    Mar 18, 2014 - Customer Service Representative in Greencastle, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly concerned with employee engagement. Rewards employees for accomplishments. Emphasis on saftey. Love idea of saftey principale #1 Expect every company to return home safetly. Core Values are shown in management roles. Implementing lean practices to make world load more balanced.

    Cons

    Survey employees more than once a year. Better manger to employee communication.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Not upfront with Employees

    Mar 19, 2014 - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Once upon a time, it was a good company to work for but with the new Lean practices in place, that has changed. Management no longer values long term employees who have committed to the growth of this company, they view us as liabilities to their bottom line.

    Cons

    When new programs are implemented, management does not give notice to the employee that their position with the company is at risk, they continue to use us until we are no longer needed and then we are tossed away. CSR jobs are currently being eliminated to send work to a different country and soon the majority of CSR's will lose their jobs due to centralizing the CSR department down inTexas.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Work at Con-way Freight? Share Your Experiences

Con-way Freight logo
or