Con-way Freight Dock Worker Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 484 reviews

3.2
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
4 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    We need more respect

    Aug 10, 2010 - Full Time Dock Worker in Blythe, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only good thing about this job is the pay. Which is only good compared to the other few jobs in this small town.

    Cons

    Biggest problem is the way management runs the company. They believe in lying and bullying employees. Always threatning our jobs if we voice our opinion to them. The hours are so hard it makes con-way ur entire life sometimes. If you go above and beyond you are rarely to never noticed for it , but as soon as you make a mistake they know all about it and go after you with full steam ahead attitude. They keep taking away from benefits and pay and employee bonuses , but upgraded the race team they sponser. The company is clearly doing just fine in the economy but used the economy to take away all of the things that made con-way a good place to work. I have worked for con-way for three years and wish the company would go back to the way the veteran employees said it used to be. Conway needs to learn to give respect to get it!!!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Bad employment experience

    Jan 28, 2015 - Dock Worker in West Chester, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    time-off policies , training that is all that i can think of or that is all that the company can offer

    Cons

    They have a employee turn over rate more then any other company ive worked for. The truck driving is a good area of the company to work for but dock working the time and effort you have to put into it is not worth it. They have such a big turn over rate for the dock workers that you are just another head to them they say safety 1st and were so-post to intervene when something is unsafe. But when you do they say "Don't worry about the other worker you cant do your job and worry about someone else being unsafe". Also its a no tobacco zone all most of the supervisors in the (west Chester) Ohio area use tobacco on the docks and in the office. so if you are trying to quit using this is not the place for you because i assure you that you will just need to deal with it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Ex Driver now PT Dock Worker...Need I say more

    Aug 30, 2009 - Dock Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co- workers and decide equipment are the only plus to this job.

    Cons

    No respect given from Superiors. Yet they demand it from us. No breaks for dock workers. The supervisors and up never have your back. They would throw you under a bus to keep themselves from trouble...and they do.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Dock worker

    Dec 13, 2015 - Dock Worker in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay an benefits are exceptional, very good company to work for. Would recommend anyone.

    Cons

    When it's the slow season overtime is cut down. Can get very cold on the dock an hot during the summer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    always stay on stop of thing, got my task done as soon as possible, always on time.....

    Oct 17, 2014 - Dock-worker in Des Plaines, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    its a great company to work for, I have fun with all the dock-workers and truck drivers,,,,,,

    Cons

    nothing really, I task everything. even being the cold at zero below snowing on the dock, I still maintain....

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, really good pay, good benefits, good to employees, easy to move up. 2nd to Fedex in the industry.

    Aug 11, 2015 - Dock Worker in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay, no union, easy to move up, becomes family. Located all throughout the US, and is one of top LTL companies.

    Cons

    Tough enviorment, not everyone follows policy.. Some people only advance those they are, "tight" with. Sometimes hours are short, 7 hour days when slow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    dockworker

    Apr 12, 2016 - Dock Worker in Parma, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good truck company close to home

    Cons

    am good hard work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    great company

    Aug 17, 2015 - Dock Worker in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company who cares about their employees. They provide great training and every tool needed to be successful. One of the best companies i have worked for

    Cons

    They are really strict about time...and im talking 1 minute late and that could possibly cost you your job. Mininal hours are given also (no overtime)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    Decent benefits, drivers program,

    Cons

    Outside conditions far as weather, understaffed at times, no set schedule, hard to get 40 hours at time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Wow.

    May 29, 2016 - Dock Worker in Pontiac, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really can't think of one

    Cons

    Not protected from the elements enough, Winters are extremely cold, no baffles to protect you from the wind and rain, if it snows, the snow, ice will blow in through the openings between the trailers and dock doors , the winters are brutal and you are still expected to somehow keep up a pace when your fingers are ready to fall off from cold! You have to use the exhaust from the forklifts to try and keep warm. Also when the smooth concrete floor gets icy or wet, you HAVE to move at a snail's pace because the tires are as slick as racing tires, no grip at all Summers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Work at Con-way Freight? Share Your Experiences

Con-way Freight logo
or