Con-way Freight Driver Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 of over 484 reviews

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
7 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    DSR/linehaul

    Feb 29, 2016 - Driver/Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    started in XIN (Indianapolis) (great place to work at) transferred to XAU aurora il and XLA lasalle il. the longer the run the more money. if lower in seniority may not get the longer better paying runs. lower in seniority also means you get the last loads out. if you stick it out long enough you will move up depending on the drivers ahead of you. The pay is decent.

    Cons

    Loads are not always ready when they call you in for a start time. you had to call in every night for a lineup and sometimes you get called in at 9 and wont get you loads until 10 or 11 at night making you sit there for 1-3 hours. long hours, the hours varied on runs, loads, break downs of other drivers. longer runs with lower seniority often left new drivers pushing the limit of the 14 or 16 hour rule. loaded your own trailer making it a long stressful night when long freight came down the dock and you are on your last trailer and its 3/4 full

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great, especially for unskilled labor in our area. Mileage pay when you drive linehauls. Hourly pay when you work the dock, overtime after 8 hours (almost unheard of around here). Three weeks PTO after just a couple years. Profit sharing and 401k contributions. Our terminal provides food and refreshments every couple of weeks, especially when extremely hot or cold. Regular communication meetings between drivers and management. Lots of newer trucks now, xm radios and a/c, way better than equipment used just a couple years ago. Lots of attention being focused on safety, which is generally good. Home every day, ten hours off at least. Really happy most of the time.

    Cons

    Dock pay is a little lower per hour than non-union conpetitors in the area. Lots of the trucks are still worn out junk. Takes a long time to move up to higher paying linehaul runs, 5 to 10 years sometimes. Freeze your but in the winter time. Not much time for family depending on job selection, especially when freight levels are high.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Professional Driver Frinisher

    Apr 24, 2015 - Professional Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great trucks and very consistent freight. I love my fleet manager and she takes care of me when I need it. I have never had an issue go unaddressed, sometimes it might takes some work though. Over all, this is a fantastic starter company... key work is "starter".

    Cons

    This company has become a starter company since was hired on. New employees are now given a nearly endless chance to not fail. I have trained six new hires, four have made it off me truck hired and two had issues that caused me to have them removed from the truck. One hit me with the trailer during a backing exercise(I should have been paying more attention but I was making sure he didn't hit another truck), and the other nearly ran another truck off the road. Both were given second and third chances. Home time is bad. One day for each week out and you will have to fight to get home when you want to use them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    A job is a job, so stay focused on that.

    Jan 11, 2009 - Truck Driver Kansas City, KS 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is probably not too different than others in that you are there to assist it in just getting the operation through the day. The employee is a tool, and nothing else. If the tool wears out, it is thrown out and another is there to replace it. Not a big mystery. If you keep this in mind, don't take anything personal, and do your job - you will most likely be OK. No one is your friend, so don't try to make any. Your friends are at home, hopefully. Be an asset, and not a liability, and you will stay out of trouble. If you get cross ways here, be prepared to throw in the towel.

    Cons

    It seems that once an employee arrives at top pay, that the company managements mentality is to look for any and all opportunities to cut payroll expenses. Than means, find a way to get rid of the senior drivers and find new hires to replace them. To me, I would want all my people to be the most experienced and seasoned work force, but management does not look at it like that. What a shame. Company videos show that the experienced driver is highly prized, but this does not carry through to the real world of con-way day to day life.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hands down the worst company I have ever worked for.

    Jul 26, 2013 - OTR Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Truck fleet is well maintained.

    Cons

    I have never worked with a larger group of deceptive individuals in my life. I started working for this company over a year ago and not one time in that year have they got me home on time. Not once in an entire year. Load planners and dispatchers are constantly lying to you the entire time you are trying to make it home. They have posters hanging up all over the terminals talking about Integrity, Communication, and making drivers feel as though they are apart of a team and not just a number. At the end of the day your are just that, another number. If you had an on time performance that matched theirs you wouldn't have a job,but its okay if they do it to you and your family. THEY DO NOT CARE!! I for one am tired of being lied to. I was told this was a great company to work for. What a complete disappointment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    driver

    Feb 28, 2016 - Driver Sales Representative in Martinsburg, WV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great pay rate and benefits

    Cons

    Awful place to work, management does not know anything about the freight business most of them are fresh out of college. They do not value experience and seniority instead they encourage brown nosing and tattle telling. They force drivers to do things that are unsafe. They hire cheap labor to load the freight, which frequently leads to top heavy and unbalanced trailers. Then force the drivers take the loads with out any knowledge of how there trailers are loaded, yet you are fired if you flip a trailer. They treat employees with no respect and wont allow time off for family emergencies. If you need to get off work on time for an appointment, they add extra stops to your pedal and tell you to work faster. Most of the supervisors enjoy making others unhappy, they would rather make fun of your mistakes than help you correct them. Employees are not encouraged to work as a team, it's everyone for their self.This is very hostile working environment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Wish it was like it used to be.

    Jan 9, 2014 - Night Linehaul Driver in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They supply uniforms. Home every day. Payday is weekly. Direct deposit. Most Drivers communicate with each other very well.

    Cons

    This company has been going downhill for the last ten years. They feed the low level employees all kinds of propaganda to brainwash them into believing that it's a great company. I believe Con-Way does this to get the employees to invest their money via their 401k into Con-Way stock. I have been told how we're growing and advancing but I don't see it at all. I see production diminishing from the drivers and their attitudes getting worse. Many supervisors can't wait to leave. There is a high turnover for drivers and lower management. The middle management (FOM's) loves to intimidate drivers. If you try to stand up for yourself, you will pay for it somehow. Cameras in trucks are distracting and frightening. Always afraid of losing my job because of it.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent place to work

    Jan 13, 2012 - Driver Sales Representative in Irwin, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent place to work over all, friendly and helpful co-workers. They keep you busy with some OT for most of the year. Home nightly and you can switch between nightly linehaul and city p+d once a year. You can also bid a start time once a year. Inexpensive benefits.

    Cons

    Flex board is not that fun. You really want to get a bid. During the winter, January at least, there is little work for the flex guys. They have to sign up for partial unemployment. If you have a bid, you will usually get your 8 hours, but that is about all.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A fine place to get OTR experience

    Jun 24, 2014 - OTR Driver in Joplin, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Drivers are generally treated with respect, the equipment is kept in good condition, lots of small perks like the ability to choose your own routing or bank days off, etc. There are still many employees who take pride in their work.

    Cons

    Company thinks 10,000 miles/month is good for an over the road driver. Pay rates lag industry as well. Driver turnover used to be lowest in the industry, but it is rapidly rising as the brass focuses their attention on attracting lower-cost employees (new hires and those with little experience). As a result, the company is no longer positioned as the premium service offering the drivers could take pride in.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Plain and simple

    May 18, 2016 - Driver Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mon thru Friday schedule . average benefits like other companies . Top pay rate is decent. Life work balance is ok. No forced dispatch lately in adverse weather conditions

    Cons

    You have to fight to make your time. If you're new you might not work every day and can be on call for several years without a steady schedule. New management new owner got into the business without knowing what they got into. A lot of people have second jobs because the money here is not great.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

Work at Con-way Freight? Share Your Experiences

Con-way Freight logo
or