Con-way Freight Freight Operations Supervisor Reviews

Updated May 27, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 484 reviews

3.2
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Con-way Freight Chief Executive Officer  Bradley S. Jacobs (no image)
Bradley S. Jacobs
1 Rating
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    FOS

    Jan 12, 2016 - Supervisor of Freight Operations in Hagerstown, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to promote up Learning environment with other supervisors looking to advance in the company Recruit recent college graduates looking for first time jobs Managers want to see you promoted and advance in the company. Company does a very good job of promoting from within. It seems every 3 or 4 months someone is promoted out of Hagerstown.

    Cons

    Work a minimum of 50hrs a week It is one of the largest facilities in the company, some times you just feel like a clog in the system. A lot of times of short staffing of employees due hiring freezes, makes you frustrated because you can't complete the work expected of you. Some managers can be heavy handed and unfair in discipline toward supervisors. There is a define pecking order of which supervisors get move to which positions, usually this is based off of seniority and skill/knowledge but can be due to favoritism. Working on a shipping dock in a variety of weather. Some managers are far removed from the operation, and seem out of touch with the reality of the operation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    A terrible place to work.

    Aug 21, 2010 - Freight Operations Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The actual "working employees" (drivers, dock workers) are some of the hardest working people I have ever supervised. The work force is excellent. Training is abundant for supervisors, but completed training and upgraded skills brings no financial reward.

    Cons

    This is a company that has lost its identity and its integrity. They are the greediest corporation I have ever seen. They cut our pay, our pension, our 401 k match, and now are doubling the premium for our health insurance. They are profitable, but the quest is always for more profit, to heck with the people doing the actual work. Every week brings a new plan to become the industry leader and bury the competition, while the only ones getting buried are the employees. Supervisor pay is lousy (45-50 k for a 60 hour week, sometimes weekend work plus your 5 weekdays). They expect your whole life to be dedicated to the company, but give nothing in return.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Con-way is a good company that expects a lot from it's employees and pays well with good benefits.

    Feb 11, 2015 - Freight Operations Supervisor in Davenport, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good wages, good benefits, strong company - doesn't lose money.

    Cons

    High pressure/stress for management employees - sometimes the "what have you done for me lately" attitude by upper management regardless of you work record and continued dependability and efficiency - it's all about the numbers whether you can control it or not.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Great pay, poor culture

    Mar 3, 2015 - Freight Operations Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good Job security is pretty good Military friendly Great benefits including health, dental, vision, and a 401k. Focus on safety in the work place.

    Cons

    Long hours Poor shifts This company has little to no reward for the hard work you put in. And by reward, I mean the attitude towards employees. Management is not encouraging…they do not provide a team atmosphere like they make you think. Instead they create a consequence environment where it's about how bad you did, not how good you did some things and could improve on others. Ability to advance is limited for drivers and management. If you're management, you must be willing to relocate. I was also lied to when I was hired about the shifts I'd work and the pay raises I'd receive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I CAN'T SAY IT EMPHATICALLY ENOUGH, BUT I LOVE MY JOB!

    Jul 24, 2011 - Freight Classification Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Con-Way Freight is a non-union company that takes very VERY good care of their employees. I feel as if my pay is competitive and the recognition I recieve from my superiors is always positive! Con-Way is committed to success and I am proud to be part of their equation.

    Cons

    Benefits! While the benefits are adequate for my family, the premiums have gotten to be very costly due to the ignoramous in the White House! Thank you Mr. Obama for doing your part in making companies struggle for survival! I love my company and need the government to BACK OFF!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Brutal exposure to weather and chemicals

    Dec 13, 2010 - Freight Operations Supervisor in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good history and culture, managed well financially, decent consistent pay - no union

    Cons

    Th brutal exposure to weather extremes and hazardous chemicals made me unhealthy. I had to work very long shifts which compromised safety and as a manager I was never allowed to redeem a sick day. We lost valuable employees to a very strict attendance policy.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    High expectations; high personal development.

    Nov 19, 2014 - Freight Operations Supervisor in Hagerstown, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The management training program sets you up for success and they promote from within. The pay is very good and you gain solid professional experience that is gold on a resume. Working in a developing Lean workplace creates many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    Long demanding hours. Shifts will change frequently and they are strange hours to those not familiar with the freight industry. Management can be too focused on the "flavor of the month" topics.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Awesome for entry-level

    May 27, 2016 - Freight Operations Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome company to get started with as far as logistics is concerned. There were several opportunities for me to grow and learn new things and programs.

    Cons

    In order to rise within the ranks, you have to be willing to not only relocate but work late nights or the overnight shifts. However, if you are a single person that is okay with travel and relocation, this is perfect.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Con-way

    Aug 31, 2012 - Freight Classification Specialist in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job security is there, and the wages are at the higher end of most trucking companies. The benefits are very nice too.

    Cons

    Typical with any company there is supervision that does not adress problems that need taking care of. Computer systems are also very slow, and you always have to call india when something needs fixed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Supervisor

    Jul 6, 2015 - Freight Operations Supervisor in Worcester, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to wok if you like new challenges everyday. Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work way more hours then what your paid for (Salary for 50 hours; really turns out to be 80 hour week) Performance is based off of various goals, which are set too high to consistently achieve. Preach accountability for employees, but leave no way to actually hold them accountable for any wrong doing, Very horrible insurance plan, price is low which is great, but comes with a $4,000 deductible for single, $12,000 if your on a family plan

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

Work at Con-way Freight? Share Your Experiences

Con-way Freight logo
or