Cornell University Administrative Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Administrative Assistant

Cornell University Administrative Assistant Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
2 Ratings
  1. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO, flexible hours, fair compensation

    Cons

    No benefits, some management should be improved

    Advice to Management

    Better benefits

    Cornell University2019-07-04

    Cornell University Response

    July 15, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We value feedback and would like to hear if you have more specific recommendations; please use this anonymous survey: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great people and management, little work to do

      Cons

      Low pay, minimum wage offered

      Cornell University2019-02-25

      Cornell University Response

      April 17, 2019

      Thank you for taking time to provide feedback! There are lots of ways to advance your career at Cornell -- from online and in-class training, to experiential development opportunities, job rotations, and more. Tools like the Career Navigator and Workday's Opportunity Graph help ...

      Show More
    • "Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends

      I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, friendly work environment, decent pay and benefits

      Cons

      Work in academia is usually slow!

      Cornell University2018-07-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      We are here to assist students in discovering their skills and interests, and identify related career options. This is a rewarding career that helps contribute to life long learning in the Cornell community.

      Cons

      At this time I don't have any.

      Cornell University2018-06-26
    • "Great workplace overall, can be very bureaucratic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Geneva, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good staff, working environment, great benefits and healthcare; development and social opportunities exist can can be hard to access,

      Cons

      Extensive bureaucratic policies and procedures can be hard to understand and work with and can make things difficult, relationship between colleges and academic departments can be contentious

      Cornell University2018-06-22

      Cornell University Response

      June 25, 2018Office of Workforce Recruitment and Retention

      Your candid feedback is very appreciated. Thank you for sharing it. Please consider stopping by the Cornell Staff Development Day event on July 25 from 9am-4pm in the Physical Sciences Building/Clark Atrium. Take advantage of a day full of opportunities to foster career and professional ...

      Show More
    • "Student Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY

        I have been working at Cornell University for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible, can trade hours easily with co-workers and call off when I need it. I am also allowed to do homework or complete whatever tasks I need during my working hours so long as I have no responsibilities. The faculty in the office are dynamic, supportive, and friendly.

        Cons

        None; the job is a standard, boring student job

        Advice to Management

        n/a

        Cornell University2018-01-15
      • "Good Place Great Benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Administrative Assistant IV in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great People Even better benefits So many departments

        Cons

        Hard to get into unless you know someone The degree you have not the effort you put in determines your growth

        Advice to Management

        Ignore the degree and find your hard workers

        Cornell University2017-09-02
      • "Administrative Assistant III"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Administrative Assistant III in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends

        I worked at Cornell University

        Pros

        Camaraderie. Part of a "family".

        Cons

        It can be hard to get promoted.

        Advice to Management

        Consider revising job titles and responsibilities.

        Cornell University2016-06-22
      • "Student Administrative Assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Friendly, flexible, wonderful boss and coworkers, great culture, keeps me busy. Great pay, great location (natural beauty), relaxed atmosphere

        Cons

        Job location: weather is sometimes dreary Sometimes work is a little slow, but isn't much of a problem since some downtime is always nice

        Cornell University2016-05-18
      • "Administrative assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Charlottesville, VA

          I worked at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Great management and supervisors to work for. Enjoyed the promotional projects I completed for them.

          Cons

          The work was not very challenging and I often found myself asking what to do next.

          Cornell University2016-03-04
        Found 32 reviews