Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
7 Ratings
  1. "Good Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You mostly have to focus on research output and not worry about the working hours. The environment is very diverse and inclusive.

    Cons

    The salary is minimal and you will barely make any savings.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2020-02-26
  2. "Great research campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great collaborative environment Good compensation Great faculty, helpful and friendly Collaborative environment

    Cons

    Small town Very cold winter weather Health leaves could use some changes

    Cornell University2020-02-24
  3. "Nice research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Peaceful campus, good for focusing on research

    Cons

    Kinda isolated from everything else such as city life

    Cornell University2019-12-19

    Cornell University Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to write a review!

    Continue reading
  4. "Ithaca is Gorges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people & atmosphere. Beautiful area full of natural beauty.

    Cons

    In a small town- great for some things but not for others

    Cornell University2019-12-10

    Cornell University Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to post a review!

    Continue reading
  5. "Good school to do research!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    friendly people and beautiful environment

    Cons

    too far from major cities

    Cornell University2019-10-31

    Cornell University Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to post a review!

    Continue reading
  6. "Awesome place to do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professors are nice, large database, a lot of support from other staff

    Cons

    Pay is low. Structure not quite clear

    Cornell University2019-09-06
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, and encourages interdisciplinary work.

    Cons

    poor work life environment and attitudes by some

    Cornell University2019-08-20
  8. "Very good for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs

    Cons

    Can be challenging for social life

    Cornell University2019-07-08

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Socializing can be a challenge in a new town, but with all that's going on at Cornell as well as in the lively Ithaca community, it's often a matter of knowing where to look. A new website called liveinithaca.org features some great resources for finding community and quality of life. Meetup.com also features lots of local opportunities to socialize for a wide variety of interest groups.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A harrowing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There are a few people high up in the administration that really care about making Cornell a more inclusive, safe place. I just wish there were more of them. -Higher than average grad stipend and year-round health insurance, but no dental or vision

    Cons

    -Toxic work culture with a focus on prestige and appearance rather than quality research -Abuse, both sexual and emotional, from students and professors -Title IX and ombudsman office are understaffed and the processes in place to report assault or abuse are time consuming and triggering -Outdated scientific equipment in many labs -Working in isolation for years with no feedback on performance or career advancement opportunities -High cost of living in and around Ithaca, NY

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2019-06-21

    Cornell University Response

    June 25, 2019

    Cornell is committed to the success of our graduate students and to the integrity of our research, teaching, and engagement mission. We take reports of misconduct seriously. Cornell encourages the commenter to provide details of their complaint by filing an EthicsPoint complaint at http://hotline.cornell.edu.

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cornell offers a supportive environment and gives the opportunity to nurture our interests

    Cons

    Ithaca is an isolated place.

    Cornell University2019-05-01

    Cornell University Response

    May 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Have you seen the new liveinithaca.org website? They have a great volunteering/philanthropy area -- finding and building community through volunteering is a great way to connect in Ithaca!

    Continue reading
Found 69 reviews