Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Graduate Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
5 Ratings
  1. "Awesome place to do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    professors are nice, large database, a lot of support from other staff

    Cons

    Pay is low. Structure not quite clear

    Cornell University2019-09-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good people, and encourages interdisciplinary work.

    Cons

    poor work life environment and attitudes by some

    Cornell University2019-08-20
  3. "Very good for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs

    Cons

    Can be challenging for social life

    Cornell University2019-07-08

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Socializing can be a challenge in a new town, but with all that's going on at Cornell as well as in the lively Ithaca community, it's often a matter of knowing where to look. A new website called liveinithaca.org features some great resources ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A harrowing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There are a few people high up in the administration that really care about making Cornell a more inclusive, safe place. I just wish there were more of them. -Higher than average grad stipend and year-round health insurance, but no dental or vision

    Cons

    -Toxic work culture with a focus on prestige and appearance rather than quality research -Abuse, both sexual and emotional, from students and professors -Title IX and ombudsman office are understaffed and the processes in place to report assault or abuse are time consuming and triggering -Outdated scientific equipment in many labs -Working in isolation for years with no feedback on performance or career... advancement opportunities -High cost of living in and around Ithaca, NY

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support people in the administration who are trying to advocate for better student treatment and benefits. Offer management training to professors and lab technicians.

    Cornell University2019-06-21

    Cornell University Response

    June 25, 2019

    Cornell is committed to the success of our graduate students and to the integrity of our research, teaching, and engagement mission. We take reports of misconduct seriously. Cornell encourages the commenter to provide details of their complaint by filing an EthicsPoint complaint at ...

    Show More
  5. "Amazing School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cornell offers a supportive environment and gives the opportunity to nurture our interests

    Cons

    Ithaca is an isolated place.

    Cornell University2019-05-01

    Cornell University Response

    May 9, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Have you seen the new liveinithaca.org website? They have a great volunteering/philanthropy area -- finding and building community through volunteering is a great way to connect in Ithaca!

  6. "Grad student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent mentors, great resources for career advancement, great facilities, beautiful location.

    Cons

    poor mental health support, questionable treatment of sexual harassment cases, expensive housing.

    Cornell University2019-04-16

    Cornell University Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Your insights are valued as we work to continuously improve our workplace. If you'd like to provide more specific feedback, you can use this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

  7. "Great place to pursue PhD degree"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are really smart, nice and supportive!

    Cons

    Location. Harder to build a career network

    Cornell University2019-03-05

    Cornell University Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback, and congratulations on over five years of employment with Cornell!

  8. "amazing academic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great scientists to collaborate and get feedback from. Lots of resources from teaching workshops, BEST program, writing and communication workshops for career development and a lot of the world's best scientists come to give talks, which is great!

    Cons

    slightly isolating environment at the same time.. it is hard to engage socially, i think because Ithaca is a quiet community. Also isolated from the big cities, so it is hard to network and eventually find jobs for graduate students interested in industry jobs.

    Advice to Management

    we need more career fairs catering to PhDs in life-sciences! We also need better ways to find and network with our alums

    Cornell University2019-03-17

    Cornell University Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback -- we appreciate your insights!

  9. "Great place to do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great facilities, excellent professors, nice summer weather, and very few distractions

    Cons

    Sometimes one would appreciate some distractions

    Cornell University2019-02-05

    Cornell University Response

    February 6, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you've had a positive experience working at Cornell. A great place to find some positive distractions is our "Get Connected" page: (https://hr.cornell.edu/our-culture-diversity/get-involved) -- loaded with volunteer opportunities, ...

    Show More
  10. "Well paid for graduate student salaries, academic life is bountiful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Access to high quality eduction, plethora of extra curricular events, world renown experts whether at the university or invited, decent food options, and name recognition. Ithaca is a nice town to live in, albeit slightly expensive for the middle of nowhere.

    Cons

    Ithaca is isolated from the rest of society -- NYC is a 4 hour drive minimum. Food options on campus are quite limited when late or during breaks. As a graduate student, our status within the university is in a quantum superposition state between student and employee. Benefits are limited, and representation is minimal. Also, graduate life can be brutally taxing on work/life balance. True almost anywhere,... though.

    Show More
    Cornell University2019-01-03

    Cornell University Response

    January 4, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Cornell deeply values the contributions of our graduate students. Please visit the Grad School website (https://gradschool.cornell.edu/) for resources designed to support graduate and professional students, including financial support, ...

    Show More
Found 64 reviews