Cornell University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Graduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
3 Ratings
  1. "This position depends largely on the academic department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is considerable flexibility and autonomy, but depends largely on the specific professor you work for.

    Cons

    The pay is relatively low compared to industry.

    Cornell University2019-03-03

    Cornell University Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback -- your insights help us to continuously improve our workplace.

  2. "TA for Chemistry Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Those in charge of managing TAs and running the labs are well organized and have many years of experience

    Cons

    Some professors make the job harder than it should be

    Cornell University2019-02-09

    Cornell University Response

    April 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback!

  3. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great stimulating environment working with a lot of smart people

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging

    Cornell University2019-02-14
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in designing recitation exercises as a Teaching assistant for general chemistry

    Cons

    Classes can be quite large, which makes addressing everyone's concerns during office hours quite difficult.

    Cornell University2017-11-29
  5. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Graduate students at Cornell receive excellent benefits. This varies by department, but on the whole, we receive an education (with all tuition waived), health insurance, and a decent salary as far as graduate student positions go (I make ~$33,000; I made ~ $40,000 last year with the correct teaching assistantship).

    Cons

    People say that Cornell is isolated; I love it, because I grew up in a small town and have ample opportunity to hike, canoe, kayak, fish, pretty much do anything outdoors. Other people hate Cornell's climate. Yeah, it gets cold. But if you embrace it, it's not too bad. Small price to pay for a top-notch education.

    Advice to Management

    Higher ups in graduate school: I get the sense that they are somewhat conniving. E.g., encouraging grad students to call their senators to block a new tax reform bill by fearmongering that we will be taxed on tuition as if it were income, when really that's not true if you read the fine print (the tax bill would affect they way the school endowment is taxed). Management by department varies considerably.

    Cornell University2017-11-25
  6. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly, also learning experience

    Cons

    work load is kind of heavy

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Cornell University2017-05-07
  7. "Graduate Research and Teaching Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Stipend compared to work that is allocated.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities to connect with industry leaders due to geographical constraints.

    Cornell University2017-04-27
  8. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have summer and winter vacations

    Cons

    Limited flexibility in people's preferences of which course to teach

    Cornell University2017-04-25
  9. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good people

    Cons

    Long hours and too much work

    Cornell University2016-02-06
  10. "good community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University

    Pros

    good community, The work is very interesting and challenging cases can be mini problemsolving exercises and it's enormously fulfilling to file a report and finish up a project. Smart people from top colleges are good to brainstorm with. People are generally hardworking and do not slack off, so there is a lot of cooperation and a collaborative work style.

    Cons

    As anywhere, if there is something boring, the most junior analyst got it. But it's educational, and the managers generally try very hard to take analyst development into consideration, but sometimes there are things that the team just have to wade through.

    Cornell University2015-12-18
Found 18 reviews