Cornell University PhD Candidate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for PhD Candidate

Cornell University PhD Candidate Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
1 Ratings
  1. "Everything is great except the town."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly professional. Friendly. A lot of resources.

    Cons

    The town. The cold. A lot of undergrads.

    Cornell University2017-11-15
  2. "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent people, positive environment, friendly community, fair opportunity.

    Cons

    Bad and expensive food on campus

    Advice to Management

    think serious what's a fair summer stipend

    Cornell University2017-05-31

    Cornell University Response

    June 1, 2017Staffing Consultant

    Thanks for the review. Did you know that Ithaca has more restaurants per capita than NYC? If you're not enjoying the food on campus, consider venturing into town to check out some of the many amazing places to eat!

  3. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multidisciplinary, very easy to access different faculties as they operate through a "field" system more than a "department" system, making faculty cross-listing easy and common.

    Cons

    I would imagine some people might resent being so far away from large cities and having a killer winter.

    Advice to Management

    I have no reason to believe management should change anything right now.

    Cornell University2016-04-20
  4. "Great place for Graduate School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University

    Pros

    The professors you work with are very hardworking and very accomplished Ithaca is a very nice city to live in during graduate school Because Cornell is a big school, it has many amenities that make life easier for a graduate student

    Cons

    You have to work a lot as a graduate student, so if you do not enjoy working, you should not come here :) You will also not be payed a lot, but that's also part of being a graduate student.

    Advice to Management

    The school is doing great in terms of supporting students.

    Cornell University2016-03-17

    Cornell University Response

    March 22, 2016Staffing Consultant

    Thank you so much for your great review. We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your time at Cornell!

  5. "Cornell PhD Candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cornell is a huge organization, so I can only speak for the Chemical Engineering department. The research base of the department is very large, covering everything from cancer treatments to solar cells. The diversity of collaborations is very valuable, but you will need to reach outside the department to find specialized people to work with.

    Cons

    Coming from NYC, Ithaca is the smallest town I've ever lived in, and it pinches sometimes. The combination of icy winters and steep hills is not great. But these are problems with the setting, not the university per se.

    Cornell University2016-02-17

    Cornell University Response

    March 4, 2016Staffing Consultant

    Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to fill out this review. It is great to hear that you are enjoying the collaboration among your peers from different department! If you ever want to take a break from Ithaca and get back down to NYC don't forget about the campus to campus bus service which provides round trips to NYC every day of the week!!

    Show Less
  6. "PhD Candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment to concentrate on your studies

    Cons

    Not much entertainment around Ithaca

    Cornell University2015-04-29
  7. "Good graduate programs in physics/astronomy (relative to others like it)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    High salary relative to cost of living. Good policies that many other comparable programs don't have, like good family leave and medical leave policies. Great health insurance. The committee system is good, and there are ways to be able to go around your adviser if you have a bad one, so that you aren't left isolated and alone in a bad situation. Very, very easy to take classes in any department and collaborate with... anyone.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very high stress. Academia isn't really for me, so I probably had a harder time than some.

    Advice to Management

    Make it more obvious to students in physics and astronomy that the job market is currently bad, and make it easier to explore non-academic career options. (This is getting better, though, and Cornell is better at this than many other schools.)

    Cornell University2014-10-14
  8. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Candidate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, quiet place, nice place to do research

    Cons

    The school is really dragged down by the location

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with the campus in New York

    Cornell University2014-01-09
Found 8 reviews