Cornell University Postdoctoral Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Postdoctoral Associate

Cornell University Postdoctoral Associate Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
2 Ratings
  1. "peaceful campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Postdoctoral Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University for less than a year

    Pros

    peaceful campus, can focus on your own work without disturbing

    Cons

    too peaceful, far away from city, far away from companies

    Cornell University2019-05-07

    Cornell University Response

    May 14, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review. We appreciate your feedback!

  2. "Research at a chill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and multiple resources.

    Cons

    Secluded from the academic nodes.

    Cornell University2019-04-23

    Cornell University Response

    May 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to write a review -- we appreciate your feedback. If you'd like to share more insights about ways you think we could improve, please use this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

  3. "Very professional Research but no funding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, Great facilities in Chemistry department, High quality research

    Cons

    Funding is becoming an issue for many professors

    Cornell University2018-05-01
  4. "Beautiful and reputable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive environment overall. Family friendly.

    Cons

    Avoid some of the bad bugs.

    Cornell University2018-02-16
  5. "Great place to conduct challenging research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resources, amazing collaborators, wealth of knowledge, flexible schedule

    Cons

    pay could be a little better

    Cornell University2017-06-07
  6. "Love this university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, collaborative environment. Good benefits and perks. Lots of opportunities for personal development.

    Cons

    There is some administrative nonsense but not too much in my experience.

    Cornell University2017-05-09

    Cornell University Response

    May 10, 2017Staffing Consultant

    We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with Cornell! Thanks for the great review

  7. "Great research, isolated existance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Great place for doing research, top class research facilities

    Cons

    The stereotype of cold, cloudy and long winters are very true. Plus the isolated location makes it hard to travel, especially by flights due to routine cancellations.

    Cornell University2016-12-02

    Cornell University Response

    December 5, 2016Staffing Consultant

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad to hear that you are enjoying your experience working in research at Cornell! If you are interested in getting out of Ithaca for a weekend, don't forget about our campus-to-campus bus service which runs 7 days a week to ...

    Show More
  8. "love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great 401k and health insurance. relaxed environment

    Cons

    If you work in research, department doesn't help when your lab runs out of grant money

    Cornell University2016-09-01
  9. "Postdoctoral associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit. Lots of employee perks. Intellectually stimulating environment. Good staff members. People are friendly in general

    Cons

    Ithaca is in the middle of nowhere.

    Cornell University2016-08-12
  10. "Decent place for work, not that great for much else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cornell is a great research institution, and you will meet and work with world-class professionals daily. Also a recognized brand for your CV, and they pay OK to live comfortably in Ithaca. Ithaca is pretty charming and has great water-falls and hikes.

    Cons

    The weather in winter. The general population is a lot less social than other universities, and the town is very boring and in the middle of nowhere. Flying out or driving out is a huge pain, and you will have to do both for conferences/jobs/escaping the boredom. There is next to no support for postdocs. Your experience may vary wildly. Finally, the university has a *massive* bureaucracy problem.... Nothing ever gets done, and you are not allowed to do it yourself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the careers of your postdocs.

    Cornell University2016-05-30
Found 38 reviews