Cornell University Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 108 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
9 Ratings
  1. "Very good for research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Quite and beautiful campus with a lot of collaboration across labs

      Cons

      Can be challenging for social life

      Cornell University2019-07-08

      Cornell University Response

      July 12, 2019

      Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Socializing can be a challenge in a new town, but with all that's going on at Cornell as well as in the lively Ithaca community, it's often a matter of knowing where to look. A new website called liveinithaca.org features some great resources ...

      Show More
    • "excellent experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great culture as an ivy. In my department, PhD students get very professional instructions from amazing advisors and we are allowed to take courses freely offered by different schools over the university due to the inter-discipline nature of our research. Good life-work balance.

      Cons

      The location is a little isolated, but it is ok if you want to focus on your research.

      Cornell University2019-07-01

      Cornell University Response

      July 12, 2019

      Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you're enjoying your experience at Cornell!

    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Research Assistant 

        I have been working at Cornell University part-time

        Pros

        flexible hours, plenty of resources

        Cons

        none, working here is great

        Cornell University2019-06-20

        Cornell University Response

        June 25, 2019

        Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're glad your experience working at Cornell has been positive.

      • Helpful (1)

        "A harrowing experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -There are a few people high up in the administration that really care about making Cornell a more inclusive, safe place. I just wish there were more of them. -Higher than average grad stipend and year-round health insurance, but no dental or vision

        Cons

        -Toxic work culture with a focus on prestige and appearance rather than quality research -Abuse, both sexual and emotional, from students and professors -Title IX and ombudsman office are understaffed and the processes in place to report assault or abuse are time consuming and triggering -Outdated scientific equipment in many labs -Working in isolation for years with no feedback on performance or career advancement...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Continue to support people in the administration who are trying to advocate for better student treatment and benefits. Offer management training to professors and lab technicians.

        Cornell University2019-06-21

        Cornell University Response

        June 25, 2019

        Cornell is committed to the success of our graduate students and to the integrity of our research, teaching, and engagement mission. We take reports of misconduct seriously. Cornell encourages the commenter to provide details of their complaint by filing an EthicsPoint complaint at ...

        Show More
      • "Amazing School"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Cornell offers a supportive environment and gives the opportunity to nurture our interests

        Cons

        Ithaca is an isolated place.

        Cornell University2019-05-01

        Cornell University Response

        May 9, 2019

        Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Have you seen the new liveinithaca.org website? They have a great volunteering/philanthropy area -- finding and building community through volunteering is a great way to connect in Ithaca!

      • "Grad student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant 

          I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Excellent mentors, great resources for career advancement, great facilities, beautiful location.

          Cons

          poor mental health support, questionable treatment of sexual harassment cases, expensive housing.

          Cornell University2019-04-16

          Cornell University Response

          April 17, 2019

          Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Your insights are valued as we work to continuously improve our workplace. If you'd like to provide more specific feedback, you can use this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

        • "Good but monotonous"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Research Assistant 

            I worked at Cornell University part-time

            Pros

            The pay is decent and the research is cutting edge

            Cons

            The research can be monotonous depending on the lab.

            Cornell University2019-03-22

            Cornell University Response

            April 17, 2019

            Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Cornell's cutting edge research depends on a lot of hard work in our labs!

          • "Great place to pursue PhD degree"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
            Recommends

            I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

            Pros

            People are really smart, nice and supportive!

            Cons

            Location. Harder to build a career network

            Cornell University2019-03-05

            Cornell University Response

            April 17, 2019

            Thanks for taking time to provide feedback, and congratulations on over five years of employment with Cornell!

          • "amazing academic environment"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

            Pros

            Great scientists to collaborate and get feedback from. Lots of resources from teaching workshops, BEST program, writing and communication workshops for career development and a lot of the world's best scientists come to give talks, which is great!

            Cons

            slightly isolating environment at the same time.. it is hard to engage socially, i think because Ithaca is a quiet community. Also isolated from the big cities, so it is hard to network and eventually find jobs for graduate students interested in industry jobs.

            Advice to Management

            we need more career fairs catering to PhDs in life-sciences! We also need better ways to find and network with our alums

            Cornell University2019-03-17

            Cornell University Response

            April 17, 2019

            Thanks for taking time to provide feedback -- we appreciate your insights!

          • "Good time!"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Research Assistant 
            No opinion of CEO

            I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Great community, plenty of resources

            Cons

            In the middle of literally nowhere

            Cornell University2019-02-22

            Cornell University Response

            April 12, 2019

            Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Sure, we do get some kidding about being "centrally isolated" in Ithaca -- but being in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes region comes with plenty of benefits - take a look at our "Explore" page on the HR website: https://hr.cornell.edu/welcome/your-first-months/explore

          Found 108 reviews