Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a charming town (as long as you don't need the stimulation of a big city(in 68 reviews)

  • "Great work environment and people(in 56 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary compared to cost of living in Ithaca is low(in 137 reviews)

  • "No downsides; winters are cold in Ithaca(in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Graduate Research Assistant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    You get to work with some of the best minds in the industry

    Cons

    None at all ! I love it here

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2017-01-09
  2. "Good employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University

    Pros

    Healthy work life balance, good community, gorgeous Ithaca

    Cons

    bad weather, long working hours

    Cornell University2013-12-13
  3. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, even for part-time employees. Competitive pay for the area. Abundant training opportunities.

    Cons

    Some departments are great to work for while others can be frustrating. You can't negotiate a raise within your current position so must change jobs frequently to grow your salary.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2020-02-13
  4. "Overall a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, interesting research, and great opportunities to network with elite researchers.

    Cons

    Sometimes management forgets that we are students too, can be overwhelming to balance work and school

    Cornell University2020-02-11

    Cornell University Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for taking time to post a review. Your feedback is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Fellow 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to interact with like-minded individuals in an environment that promotes learning is great.

    Cons

    Being in the city of Ithaca coming from a more urban area.

    Cornell University2020-02-06

    Cornell University Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you're having a positive experience working at Cornell.

    Continue reading
  6. "A great research-focused university to cultivate professional skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Strong academia environment -collaborative -state-of-the-art equipments -strong alumni network -beautiful campus

    Cons

    -winter is long -on-campus parking could be painful

    Cornell University2020-02-07

    Cornell University Response

    February 11, 2020

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. Collaboration - the exploration across boundaries - is one of Cornell's core values. We value the importance of all academic disciplines and celebrate the power of connections among them. https://www.cornell.edu/about/values.cfm

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work with excellent facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Student Researcher in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good facilities, health care, advice for international students and generally the infrastructure catering to students in excellent.

    Cons

    Salary compared to cost of living in Ithaca is low.

    Cornell University2020-02-03

    Cornell University Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Library Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My supervisors were very kind and helpful

    Cons

    I honestly didn't like anything about my job

    Cornell University2020-01-31

    Cornell University Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thanks for posting a review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience!

    Continue reading
  9. "eCornell Professional Development and Online Education Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Counselor in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits if you are salary, not too bad if you are hourly. Lots of opportunities to get involved on campus. Good support network if you are dealing with a crisis situation.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to move up in the department. If you are remote there are few opportunities to get involved on campus. Each department is very different, there is a lot of autonomy, and who your supervisor is will matter in determining your opportunities. The director and assistant director have a very clear vision and if you challenge that vision too much it may not go over well, you will need to work your ideas into the vision that they have. If you are hourly there is more work that you can possibly get to but no approval for overtime so you are constantly triaging and prioritizing. There will be students who you may not get to for a week or two and while that is a missed opportunity you have to prioritize the students who are likely to enroll.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2020-02-14
  10. "phd student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consulting Manager/Principal 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time

    Pros

    great job, lots of resources

    Cons

    no con at all.

    Cornell University2020-01-30

    Cornell University Response

    February 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad your experience at Cornell has been positive.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1290 reviews