Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1217 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
119 Ratings
  1. "Great job with ANSC Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with a good group of students

    Cons

    Professor wasn’t always organized

    Cornell University2019-08-14
  2. "Not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Coordinator in Ithaca, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Gorgeous campus with world renown facilities, access to wellness programs, and interactions with peers who are remarkably talented and supportive.

    Cons

    On the books, CU's all about an inclusive, supportive, responsive environment. This usually holds in place a year or two, but after the first of many re-orgs, the reality can gradually become the reverse. Across colleges, talented staff become hesitant to report issues, even in neutral exit interviews, related to uneven management. Repercussions vary and can include unreasonable loads for extended periods of time or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The university invests substantial time and resources to obtain feedback on organizational matters from external Consultants and yet, recommendations go un-piloted. Turning that around, one initiative at a time, is do-able.

    Cornell University2019-08-12
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    A good place to work

    Cons

    The university is in the middle of nowhere.

    Cornell University2019-08-06
  4. "PTO good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ample PTO generous 401K matcching

    Cons

    No career ladder movement path

    Cornell University2019-08-01
  5. "My time at Cornell University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Facilities 

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Good Hours Excellent Staff Friendly Working Environment

    Cons

    Cant think of any i mean, its pretty awesome

    Cornell University2019-07-31
  6. "good program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good financial support, solid academic environment

    Cons

    disappointing response to efforts by graduate students to unionize

    Cornell University2019-07-31
  7. "Great work study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Library Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Quiet space to decompress, workload is not difficult

    Cons

    Sometimes boring, but that’s not really an issue

    Cornell University2019-07-20
  8. "Growth and Belonging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training and Orientation Coordinator in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff with in my department are extremely supportive and push for both personal and career growth. There are also a of learning opportunities and professional development opportunities available to you. The management aslo appears to really care about you and work balance life.

    Cons

    Cost of living in Ithaca is horrendously high, so you sort of have to live farther away in order to afford anything truly livable.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow the community and keep fighting for us to maintain a work balance life.

    Cornell University2019-07-19
  9. "Cornell University in Ithaca, Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Director 

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    location, expensive to live, hard to be young

    Cornell University2019-07-18
  10. "don't expect promotion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Support Specialist in Ithaca, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work is somewhat flexible, summer and fall are very pretty

    Cons

    no promotion even you did above and beyond, winter is cold and snows a lot

    Cornell University2019-07-09

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review; we truly value all feedback. While there's not much we can do about Ithaca winters, we work hard to provide support and empower employees with resources to advance their careers, both within and beyond Cornell. We've been expanding ...

    Show More
Found 1217 reviews