Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1211 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
118 Ratings
  1. "Very good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Research Associate 

      I worked at Cornell University full-time

      Pros

      Good salaries and working conditions

      Cons

      High standards. Great productivity required

      Cornell University2019-05-14

      Cornell University Response

      May 14, 2019

      Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you had a positive experience working at Cornell!

    • "Great place to work...depending on your department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Content Strategist in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great salaries, fun colleagues, work that improves society

      Cons

      It's difficult to do bad work, which works out great if you don't do much. But it's not so great for people who are hard workers by design. It's very difficult to advance, especially internally. Political bureaucracies reign, but such is the nature of higher ed.

      Cornell University2019-05-22

      Cornell University Response

      June 3, 2019

      Thank you for taking time to provide feedback! Cornell is dedicated to creating an environment conducive to growth and development -- we hope you'll check out some of the innovative career-building resources that HR has assembled. The Career Navigator tool can help you learn about ...

      Show More
    • "Amazing School"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New York, NY

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Cornell offers a supportive environment and gives the opportunity to nurture our interests

      Cons

      Ithaca is an isolated place.

      Cornell University2019-05-01

      Cornell University Response

      May 9, 2019

      Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. Have you seen the new liveinithaca.org website? They have a great volunteering/philanthropy area -- finding and building community through volunteering is a great way to connect in Ithaca!

    • "Great Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

        I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        People are great, and place is beautiful

        Cons

        Hourly pay can sometimes feel mediocre and minimal

        Advice to Management

        Consider raising the hourly TA pay scale

        Cornell University2019-04-22

        Cornell University Response

        May 9, 2019

        Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Ithaca!

      • "Quiet life"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Graduate Student 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        - Highly diverse graduate environment. - Highly intellectual.

        Cons

        - Too many rich undergrads (not too diverse).

        Cornell University2019-04-19

        Cornell University Response

        May 9, 2019

        Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, and we're glad you recommend your experience working at Cornell! Supporting diversity in education and our workplace is a fundamental priority at Cornell. A recent article in the Cornell Chronicle noted that the Class of 2021 "is the ...

        Show More
      • "Lots of opportunities available if you keep up to date on everything"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Graduate Student 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        - Wide range of experts from all of the different colleges and departments - Correspondingly, there is a large variety of opportunities that students here have - Professors are open to meeting with students and try to help as much as they can

        Cons

        - Information on opportunities and events are not readily available if they're outside of your major/department

        Cornell University2019-04-19

        Cornell University Response

        May 9, 2019

        Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. Have you checked out the new Experience Cornell website? (https://experience.cornell.edu) It's a hub that lists opportunities all across the university for research, public engagement, career development, and more for undergrads, graduate, ...

        Show More
      • "Great resources, benefits"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
          Recommends

          I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The benefits here are really great- good medical, dental, and retirement. You're vested from day 1 and Cornell contributes 10% (for endowed employees, not sure about state employees)

          Cons

          The cost of living in Ithaca is pretty high relative to its size and location

          Cornell University2019-04-11

          Cornell University Response

          April 17, 2019

          Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We work hard to provide competitive and comprehensive benefits for Cornell employees.

        • "Teaching Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Cornell University part-time

            Pros

            Gain teaching experience as a student and consolidate the knowledge you learned while getting paid; enjoy the sense of achievement when helping others with the coursework that you are familiar with

            Cons

            there's no cons from my point of view :)

            Cornell University2019-04-08

            Cornell University Response

            April 17, 2019

            Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you're having a positive experience working at Cornell!

          • "Research at a chill"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate 

            I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Great atmosphere and multiple resources.

            Cons

            Secluded from the academic nodes.

            Cornell University2019-04-23

            Cornell University Response

            May 17, 2019

            Thanks for taking time to write a review -- we appreciate your feedback. If you'd like to share more insights about ways you think we could improve, please use this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

          • "Community"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Art Director in New York, NY
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            wonderful people, wonderful mission. quality benefits and room to learn.

            Cons

            tight budgeting, lots of disputes amongst upper management.

            Cornell University2019-04-03

            Cornell University Response

            April 17, 2019

            Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you had a positive experience at Cornell!

          Found 1211 reviews