Cornell University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1209 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
117 Ratings
  1. "Game Day Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time

    Pros

    Extremely friendly environment Provide food

    Cons

    Lots of standing and long hours

    Cornell University2019-03-18
  2. "This position depends largely on the academic department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

      I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There is considerable flexibility and autonomy, but depends largely on the specific professor you work for.

      Cons

      The pay is relatively low compared to industry.

      Cornell University2019-03-03

      Cornell University Response

      April 17, 2019

      Thank you for taking time to provide feedback -- your insights help us to continuously improve our workplace.

    • "amazing academic environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great scientists to collaborate and get feedback from. Lots of resources from teaching workshops, BEST program, writing and communication workshops for career development and a lot of the world's best scientists come to give talks, which is great!

      Cons

      slightly isolating environment at the same time.. it is hard to engage socially, i think because Ithaca is a quiet community. Also isolated from the big cities, so it is hard to network and eventually find jobs for graduate students interested in industry jobs.

      Advice to Management

      we need more career fairs catering to PhDs in life-sciences! We also need better ways to find and network with our alums

      Cornell University2019-03-17

      Cornell University Response

      April 17, 2019

      Thanks for taking time to provide feedback -- we appreciate your insights!

    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great people and management, little work to do

        Cons

        Low pay, minimum wage offered

        Cornell University2019-02-25

        Cornell University Response

        April 17, 2019

        Thank you for taking time to provide feedback! There are lots of ways to advance your career at Cornell -- from online and in-class training, to experiential development opportunities, job rotations, and more. Tools like the Career Navigator and Workday's Opportunity Graph help ...

        Show More
      • "It was a decent job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Server 

          I worked at Cornell University part-time

          Pros

          The people were very njce

          Cons

          The pay was not good

          Cornell University2019-03-10

          Cornell University Response

          April 12, 2019

          Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We value insights that can help us continuously improve our workplace. If you'd like to provide more specific feedback, please use this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

        • "Good time!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Research Assistant 
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great community, plenty of resources

          Cons

          In the middle of literally nowhere

          Cornell University2019-02-22

          Cornell University Response

          April 12, 2019

          Thanks for taking time to provide feedback! Sure, we do get some kidding about being "centrally isolated" in Ithaca -- but being in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes region comes with plenty of benefits - take a look at our "Explore" page on the HR website: https://hr.cornell.edu/welcome/your-first-months/explore

        • "Well-supported grad student"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Graduate Research Fellow in Ithaca, NY
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Generous stipend, great health insurance

          Cons

          Lack of support from the grad school for issues that might arise with advisors

          Cornell University2019-02-21

          Cornell University Response

          April 12, 2019

          Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. Please let us know if you'd like to share more specific insights that can help us improve our workplace via this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

        • "Pretty Alright"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Student Supervisor 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Community, Free meals when you work, Bonuses for supervisors and above

          Cons

          Little to no autonomy

          Cornell University2019-02-26

          Cornell University Response

          April 12, 2019

          Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. Please let us know if you'd like to share more specific insights that can help us improve our workplace via this anonymous form: https://cornell.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_3EitErAP80n9YkR

        • "Culture is stuck in the 70s"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Scientific Researcher in Ithaca, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Some science is forward thinking.

          Cons

          Communication is lacking or non existent.

          Advice to Management

          Be transparent

          Cornell University2019-03-17

          Cornell University Response

          April 1, 2019

          Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We value insights that can help us continuously improve our workplace. It would be helpful to hear in more detail where you feel improvements could be made. If you'd like to provide more specific feedback, please use this anonymous form: ...

          Show More
        • "TA for Chemistry Department"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
            Recommends
            Approves of CEO

            I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

            Pros

            Those in charge of managing TAs and running the labs are well organized and have many years of experience

            Cons

            Some professors make the job harder than it should be

            Cornell University2019-02-09

            Cornell University Response

            April 12, 2019

            Thank you for taking time to provide feedback!

          Found 1209 reviews