Cornell University Student Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Student Assistant Reviews

Updated Jan 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
2 Ratings
  1. "It was a worthy experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor is super nice!

    Cons

    Lack opportunity to learn new things.

    Advice to Management

    The management is good.

    Cornell University2018-01-23
  2. "Student Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY

      I have been working at Cornell University for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible, can trade hours easily with co-workers and call off when I need it. I am also allowed to do homework or complete whatever tasks I need during my working hours so long as I have no responsibilities. The faculty in the office are dynamic, supportive, and friendly.

      Cons

      None; the job is a standard, boring student job

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Cornell University2018-01-15
    • "Library Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      fun to work at nice people great supervisors awesome conversations best time of my life

      Cons

      no cons at all its perfect

      Advice to Management

      none

      Cornell University2017-11-06
    • "Student Administrative Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly, flexible, wonderful boss and coworkers, great culture, keeps me busy. Great pay, great location (natural beauty), relaxed atmosphere

      Cons

      Job location: weather is sometimes dreary Sometimes work is a little slow, but isn't much of a problem since some downtime is always nice

      Cornell University2016-05-18
    • "Work Study"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Cornell University

      Pros

      Great to work while studying

      Cons

      Bad weather. Pay is what would be expected for work study jobs. Jobs not especially fulfilling.

      Cornell University2016-04-27
    • "Work-Study"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Administrative Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Cornell University for more than a year

      Pros

      Very positive office environment, my supervisors are very supportive and give large holiday bonuses.

      Cons

      20 hour/week maximum for work-study. Too much food in the office. Too nice, feel awkward asking for a raise.

      Advice to Management

      Offer raises more often without having to be asked, it is awkward to ask for a raise. Challenge student workers with tasks that require more responsibility

      Cornell University2016-01-26
    • "Excellent fo Students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cornell University

      Pros

      Very sensitive to student's academic schedule. Easy to drop a shift. Smart co-workers. All students should get an on-campus job.

      Cons

      Can get boring sometimes but other than that every job on campus is great.

      Cornell University2016-01-07
    • "Student Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Cornell University for more than a year

      Pros

      Very good if you are a student. University Staff is super helpful

      Cons

      Can't take too many shifts without ruining G.P.A.

      Cornell University2015-11-09
    • "Student Program Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Program Assistant in Ithaca, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, quick to adapt.

      Cons

      Sometimes there isn't clear instruction.

      Cornell University2015-11-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "I was a student employee working in IT (at the ATC)."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Technology Assistant in Ithaca, NY

      I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Everyone was very friendly and professional. Occasionally I could do homework while waiting for projects. Lenient dress code. Appreciation for our work from faculty and coworkers. Very convenient location and flexible hours.

      Cons

      Hourly shifts, absences and lateness are taken quite seriously, not always ideal for hectic campus life. They pay is low considering our skillset.

      Advice to Management

      Don't let "the customer is always right" get in the way of reason. Sometimes we took on projects for free that cost us thousands in man-hours.

      Cornell University2015-08-27
    Found 19 reviews