Cornell University Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
5 Ratings
  1. "Great job with ANSC Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with a good group of students

    Cons

    Professor wasn’t always organized

    Cornell University2019-08-14
  2. "good program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good financial support, solid academic environment

    Cons

    disappointing response to efforts by graduate students to unionize

    Cornell University2019-07-31
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pays well given cheap cost of living

    Cons

    none that ic an think of

    Cornell University2019-06-26

    Cornell University Response

    July 12, 2019

    Thank you for your feedback -- we really appreciate it, and are glad your experience has been positive here!

    Continue reading
  4. "Thumbs Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good experience for me

    Cons

    No cons at all here

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2019-05-17

    Cornell University Response

    June 3, 2019

    Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your time at Cornell.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are great, and place is beautiful

    Cons

    Hourly pay can sometimes feel mediocre and minimal

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2019-04-22

    Cornell University Response

    May 9, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time in Ithaca!

    Continue reading
  6. "This position depends largely on the academic department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is considerable flexibility and autonomy, but depends largely on the specific professor you work for.

    Cons

    The pay is relatively low compared to industry.

    Cornell University2019-03-03

    Cornell University Response

    April 17, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback -- your insights help us to continuously improve our workplace.

    Continue reading
  7. "TA for Chemistry Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Those in charge of managing TAs and running the labs are well organized and have many years of experience

    Cons

    Some professors make the job harder than it should be

    Cornell University2019-02-09

    Cornell University Response

    April 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great stimulating environment working with a lot of smart people

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging

    Cornell University2019-02-14
  9. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University for less than a year

    Pros

    Role is fulfilling Staff is very nice The course is structured very well, so there is no chaos There's always protocol you can lean on

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons - I love this job!

    Cornell University2018-09-17

    Cornell University Response

    September 17, 2018

    Thanks for taking a moment to provide feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your experience at Cornell University!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in designing recitation exercises as a Teaching assistant for general chemistry

    Cons

    Classes can be quite large, which makes addressing everyone's concerns during office hours quite difficult.

    Cornell University2017-11-29
Found 48 reviews