Cornell University Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated 13 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Cornell University President Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
1 Rating
  1. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For an undergrad TA, $13.10/hour is pretty great pay. The work is fairly easy (I TA in the Hotel School) and it's great to work with younger students.

    Cons

    Cornell uses Workday for all HR functions (tracking time, payment, etc). The system is terribly slow and not user-friendly.

    Cornell University2019-12-14

    Cornell University Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thanks for taking time to write a review! Did you know that you can find how-to guides and tutorials to help with Workday functions, including guides for student employees, on the HR website? Check here: https://hr.cornell.edu/workday/employees-mgrs. You can also get personal assistance by contacting HR information systems directly: https://hr.cornell.edu/workday/contact-us

    Continue reading
  2. "Fun but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a TA at Cornell is a lot of fun since you get to help students learn material better, and it's genuinely interesting to get to know how people conceptualize course material differently than you do. It's also a good way to make connections within the computer science major.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, but there lots of non-monetary benefits to being a TA, so this isn't that big an issue.

    Cornell University2019-11-21

    Cornell University Response

    December 23, 2019

    Thank you for writing a review -- we appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great job with ANSC Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job with a good group of students

    Cons

    Professor wasn’t always organized

    Cornell University2019-08-14
  4. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University for less than a year

    Pros

    Role is fulfilling Staff is very nice The course is structured very well, so there is no chaos There's always protocol you can lean on

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons - I love this job!

    Cornell University2018-09-17

    Cornell University Response

    September 17, 2018

    Thanks for taking a moment to provide feedback. We're happy to hear you're enjoying your experience at Cornell University!

    Continue reading
  5. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Completely flexible hours when TAing a large class but classes without enough TAs are a pain.

    Cons

    Late night grading sessions after exams.

    Cornell University2017-06-28
  6. "Physics Undergraduate Teaching Assistant Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great faculty, learn a lot!

    Cons

    None, it's a great program. One of the best student jobs on campus!

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2017-04-05

    Cornell University Response

    April 5, 2017Staffing Consultant

    Awesome! Thank you so much for the great reveiw

    Continue reading
  7. "Great university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Students are very eager to learn and come to office hours with insightful questions. Recitations are always an active back and forth between me and my students.

    Cons

    One of the negatives is large class sizes. This can make it difficult to balance one on one sessions with students with helping everyone on the whole.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2016-09-08
  8. "[Dept. of CompSci] Excellent to TA in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent hourly wage for an undergrad, generally a great work/life balance as you're able to TA and review the material on the side of your own coursework.

    Cons

    Can't think of many, it's highly dependent on the professor(s) you work for, some are better than others when it comes to course staff.

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2016-05-02

    Cornell University Response

    May 6, 2016Staffing Consultant

    You rock! Thanks for the terrific review. It's always great to hear from someone who is thriving at Cornell

    Continue reading
  9. "Great place to learn and teach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Teaching Assistant in Ithaca, NY

    I have been working at Cornell University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good opportunity to help out other students 2. Reinforces own knowledge of subject matter 3. Usually easy to fit in with academic schedule 4. Good source of extra salary

    Cons

    1. Balance between coursework and other responsibilities can be difficult 2. Limited space available for office hours

    Continue reading
    Cornell University2015-02-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews