Cornell University "great place" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Cornell University Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1209 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Martha E. Pollack
117 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ithaca is a nice town to live in, albeit slightly expensive for the middle of nowhere(in 66 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, great town to live in(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ithaca is isolated from the rest of society -- NYC is a 4 hour drive minimum(in 127 reviews)

  • "It can be a bit too cold during winters(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great place"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Cornell University

      Pros

      Great place to learn and be surrounded by smart people.

      Cons

      Terrible weather, that gets in the way of studying.

      Cornell University2018-10-09
    • "General review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Cornell University part-time

        Pros

        Great place to work at

        Cons

        Winter takes some getting used to

        Cornell University2018-09-13
      • "Program Coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Great place for work/life balance.

        Cons

        No real dawn backs to working here

        Cornell University2018-09-13
      • "Associate director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cornell University full-time

        Pros

        Collegial, professional environment. Great place to learn more in a specific area. Pay was average, nice place to live.

        Cons

        Disappointed with ability to move up, once you hit middle management they always bring people in from outside. I have noticed lately that a couple former colleagues have moved up, which is good, but too late for me. Had to leave to advance.

        Cornell University2018-08-21
      • "Graduate Student"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time

        Pros

        Great place to live, university has lots of resources and you are constantly surrounded by sharp people.

        Cons

        Far from everything, very liberal.

        Cornell University2018-08-03
      • "Annual Giving has Issues"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Cornell University full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Cornell overall is a great place to work with great benefits, and there are a lot of opportunities for growth. There certainly are rewarding jobs within Alumni Affairs and Development, though I can't speak to any other part of the organization.

        Cons

        The Annual Giving Programs team is a nightmare. They have tremendous staff turnover and more work than they can handle. The department has woefully weak leadership that habitually ignores glaring issues, and is determined to remain insulated and closed off from members of the team and their ideas. This was truly the most dysfunctional environment I've ever worked in. I would hesitate to accept any offers from Annual...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Spend some time to figure out why staff turnover is so high on the Annual Giving Programs team.

        Cornell University2018-03-28

        Cornell University Response

        April 3, 2018Office of Workforce Recruitment and Retention

        Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad to hear that you have had rewarding experiences and are aware of opportunities for growth. Your other description concerns us. The Annual Giving team recently led the way to the highest number of donors, gifts and ...

        Show More
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ithaca, NY

        I have been working at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great place to work Lots of smart and hardworking people

        Cons

        can be stressful, with little work life balance

        Cornell University2017-11-26
      • "Cornell treats postdocs really well!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Ithaca, NY
        Recommends

        I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Postdocs on the Endowed side of the University are treated very well. University contributes an extra 10% of base salary to a retirement account (you are not required to match contribution), very affordable and good health care, free bus pass, free parking if you carpool with one other person (including a spouse), free access to the university gyms, ability to take classes. Also, I loved living in Ithaca. It's an especially...

        Show More

        Cons

        Great speakers do come, but not as many or as often as in major research hubs in big cities. Also, Ithaca is cold in the winter. If you like big cities, Ithaca will feel a little provincial and isolated.

        Cornell University2017-10-19
      • "data base administrator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Cornell University

        Pros

        Benefits are great. IF you have a family, it is a great place to work

        Cons

        This is not a good place to work if you are an ambitious person. There are no opportunities to grow and most of my colleagues were completely lazy. Everybody seemed OK with doing just the minimal amount of work needed

        Cornell University2017-10-17
      • "Post doc"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Ithaca, NY

        I worked at Cornell University full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        If the small town environment is a fit - a great place to minimize distractions and focus - Ithaca is an ideal place to post doc. Opportunities to collaborate with the Weill campus in NYC abound. There are plenty of other post docs and students at this big research campus in a small town.

        Cons

        Travel is difficult, as the airport is small and Ithaca is a bit out of the way - the flip side to the above.

        Cornell University2017-09-05
      Found 1209 reviews