Costa "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Costa Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food(in 96 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours demanding fussy customers(in 81 reviews)

  • "A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Barista 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great job during University, flexible working hours.

    Cons

    As with all these types of jobs, the workload can sometimes be overwhelming on busy days - especially if staff are sick. At least there's lots of coffee.

    Costa2020-01-03
  2. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista 

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, not the most taxing job in the world.

    Cons

    High staff turnover, serious higher management

    Costa2019-10-02
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary Flexible hours Management are approachable and friendly

    Cons

    Can get very hectic Not always enough staff working to cope with demand

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-09-11

    Costa Response

    October 23, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    That’s not great news to read. We take these comments seriously and want you to know that this has been noted and passed onto the relevant teams to look into for future team members. Thanks for bringing them to our attention.

    Continue reading
  4. "Fun but no progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours Lots of fun Busy environment Good for a first career experience

    Cons

    Training program seems well organised, but only teach you the basics and generates no actual interest in coffee, plenty of coffee related procedures are unspecified or wrong Unhealthy food options Low salaries

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-09-18
  5. "Working for Costa Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, some decent benefits.

    Cons

    Not guaranteed hours when budgets are lowered, long and tedious cleaning and restocking duties on a close, late opening hours for drive-thru stores even when not at all busy.

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-09-16
  6. "hard work for little money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Derby, England

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good team and supportive manager

    Cons

    no staff benefits, basic holiday with basic salary

    Costa2019-09-10

    Costa Response

    October 23, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    That’s not nice to hear. We want to help you get to the bottom of these comments, please address these with your Line Manager or People Partner who will investigate for you.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great job for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours around study. Great team of young fun employees.

    Cons

    My only con would be the inability to socialise after work due to the smell of coffee beans clinging to your skin.

    Costa2019-08-22

    Costa Response

    August 29, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking time to share your experience.

    Continue reading
  8. "it's ok for a while but not forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Costa full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours possible and it's a fun environment

    Cons

    can be stressful at certain times

    Costa2019-09-04

    Costa Response

    October 23, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    thank you for raising it to our attention. If you are able to speak to your Line Manager or People Partner about these issues then they can help you resolve them.

    Continue reading
  9. "Barista Maestro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Advancement options Easy to move from town to town

    Cons

    May be extremly long hour or extremly low hours depending on the store.

    Costa2019-05-13

    Costa Response

    May 14, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    Continue reading
  10. "Easy if you know what you are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours days and hollidays

    Cons

    Company constraints with labour are never ending. Bonus scheme is never based on what work you out in but the luck in the draw of maintenance and budgets

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-04-21

    Costa Response

    April 24, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    Continue reading
Found 50 reviews