Costa "hard work" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Costa Employee Reviews about "hard work"

Updated 21 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited free drinks during the shifts(in 96 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "cleaning and long hours someties(in 79 reviews)

  • "A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hard work goes unrewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly rapport with some of the customers. - Meet new people as part of the job. - Reasonable pay.

    Cons

    - Team members aren't offered incentives to work harder; hard work goes unnoticed and laziness goes unpunished. - Workplace atmosphere is toxic and detrimental to customer service.

    Costa2019-12-21
  2. "Hard work but great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    I met some of my best friends working at costa, training on the job which is great, supporting team.

    Cons

    It's hard work and physical work, sometimes long hours. Had a few experiences with bad bosses but 95% of the people I worked with were lovely and we still keep in touch many years on!

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-10-22
  3. "Enjoyable social hob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Gateshead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    social, fun, active, challenging, exciting

    Cons

    hard work, not great pay, work weekends

    Costa2019-07-29

    Costa Response

    August 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    Continue reading
  4. "Good Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always kept busy Company discount if with Whitbred Fair hours

    Cons

    No discount if with a franchise No cons unless you dislike hard work and a busy fast environment

    Costa2019-06-12

    Costa Response

    June 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Costa – it sounds like you were able to develop within our business which we love to hear.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Ilkley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, 50 percent off food when on shift

    Cons

    The 7 months I spent working at this company became one of the most depressing periods in my life. It was honestly the worst job I’ve ever had. Firstly the job itself, it was hard work for little money and some of the tasks that had to be done every day were tiring and unnecessary. Secondly, the owners of the franchise didn’t care about their employees and only cared about the money, often getting management to threaten their employees with being sacked for no viable reason. Thirdly, I felt that I was given all the jobs everyone else didn’t want to do and I felt like I was just a laughing stock because I would do those jobs. Fourthly, I was on a 5 hour contract and had some weeks where I was working 30+ hours and some where it was just 8, so I couldn’t arrange my life around that as Rotas could be changed more than four times during a week so you never knew where you stood. If questioned on this the attitude was ‘you can either put up with it or you know where the door is’. The owners passed on comments to management about employees saying they don’t do this they don’t do that and it made you feel that you weren’t good enough. Never received any praise for anything. Finally, no adequate coffee training was given and training was bad to say the least, which made the environment stressful when busy as training hadn’t been adequately given. I never received any tips (nor did anyone else) whilst working here as tips were used to top up the tills so their was no reward for the hard work you put in. I would definitely avoid this company as it’s not worth the constant self confidence damage you receive whilst working for this franchise or costa at all.

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-06-21

    Costa Response

    July 22, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

    Continue reading
  6. "Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Nice people and thats it

    Cons

    Hard work for no money

    Costa2019-05-19

    Costa Response

    June 13, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We will take all your feedback and pass to the relevant teams to help us improve.

    Continue reading
  7. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment You get to meet a lot of people 50% off food or beverage while working

    Cons

    Long shifts (8am-8pm), short breaks Hard work

    Costa2019-05-11

    Costa Response

    May 14, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Costa Coffee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista 

    I have been working at Costa part-time

    Pros

    Fun and busy place to work, good colleagues

    Cons

    Hard Work, little appreciation by management

    Costa2019-04-06

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good for young employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro in Folkestone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bond with customers and colleagues and always nice to get compliments from customers my , can get promotions easily if you work hard and are committed to the job.

    Cons

    Not always acknowledged for your hard work by higher management, would be nice if they listened to employee needs more. Pay is minimum wage and below average if you want to be a manager.

    Continue reading
    Costa2019-04-03

    Costa Response

    April 10, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    Really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Costa. Thank you for taking the time to write a review

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Strabane, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee and 50% food while on shift

    Cons

    Badly managed No recognition Minimum wage for hard work Managers sit around and offer little assistance No training provided Bad morale

    Costa2019-02-25

    Costa Response

    February 28, 2019Costa Resourcing Co-ordinator

    We really value our teams’ feedback and it’s important to us that our people feel supported by their line manager and there are procedures in place to ensure this. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    Continue reading
Found 40 reviews