Costa "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Costa Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 18 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Costa CEO Jill McDonald
Jill McDonald
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good colleagues; Free Drinks; Half price food(in 96 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, especially if working a second job or being student(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours demanding fussy customers(in 81 reviews)

  • "A lot of overtime is expected even as a part time employee, pay for franchise stores is minimum wage compared to stores owned by whitbread(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Some benefits, reasonable pay, long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits including feel food points and discounts for a range of companies

    Cons

    Very long hours, too much pressure on staff

    Costa2020-01-18
  2. "Barista at costa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in London, England

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Proactive job with lots to do, good customer service experience

    Cons

    Long hours due to staff sickness that effects whole team

    Costa2020-01-16
  3. "Fab colleagues, tough hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    You deal with many different personalities and situations, and it's great to meet people and get to know people. It can grow your confidence as you deal with a lot in a small team. My manager was great and you definitely feel like your part of the team. It was a great place to work as it gave my skills that I still use now.

    Cons

    Usually short staffed, so long hours and coming in on days off and cancelling annual leave was quite regular. Staff absenteeism and no shows are a problem too, probably due to the pay. You normally close down the shop in pairs, so if your colleague was slacking you'll be doing extra work just to leave the building on time.

    Costa2020-01-04
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    salary nice collegues good atmosphere i like it

    Cons

    long hours no breaks during shift

    Costa2019-12-01
  5. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Coffee, Fast Pace, Everyday is different

    Cons

    The long hours, Not enough resources sometimes,

    Costa2019-11-25
  6. "Such a lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Costa part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the staff environment great!

    Cons

    Long hours which can be tiring.

    Advice to Management

    Oversee or delegate

    Costa2019-10-21
  7. "Hard work but great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time

    Pros

    I met some of my best friends working at costa, training on the job which is great, supporting team.

    Cons

    It's hard work and physical work, sometimes long hours. Had a few experiences with bad bosses but 95% of the people I worked with were lovely and we still keep in touch many years on!

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible, I understand its stressful running a shop but people need lives outside of work!

    Costa2019-10-22
  8. "Great Flexibility & Career Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista Maestro 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility and work life balance. Great career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Short breaks, long hours sometimes

    Costa2019-10-15
  9. "amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Costa part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pay nice people fab

    Cons

    long hours demanding fussy customers

    Costa2019-10-14
  10. "Team make the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Costa full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team to work with, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Expected to clean an entire shop on 30minutes. Long hours Cap on staff your allowed to save money

    Costa2019-10-15
Found 81 reviews