Costco Wholesale Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Costco Wholesale Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5800 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Costco Wholesale CEO Craig Jelinek
Craig Jelinek
2728 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No weekends off unless you are a full time employee(in 259 reviews)

  • "if limited part time hard to move to(in 227 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work with

    Cons

    None to specific as of now

    Costco Wholesale2018-07-03
  2. "mama mia mama mia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time

      Pros

      free food no salary only 4 hours

      Cons

      no beds can't enter wearing a bikini

      Advice to Management

      allow bikinis we spend more than 9 hrs at office we need entertainment

      Costco Wholesale2018-03-21
    • Helpful (1343)

      "Real Pros and Cons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier Assistant (Front End Assistant) in San Luis Obispo, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very affordable high quality health insurance benefits even for PT employees. Great for working parents who split up child care and need coverage. The key to succeeding at Costco is to work hard, have a good attitude and be nice to people. It's hard work and fasted paced, you have to be down for that to succeed.

      Cons

      At this warehouse you are required to work 5 days per week, even if you are PT at 24 or so hours. This means lots of 4-5 hour shifts rather than fewer 8 hour shifts which is tough for those who commute a long distance to work or have to cover day care.

      Advice to Management

      Allow the PT staff at 24/hours per week or so to work 4/6 hour shifts or 3/8 hour shifts rather than 4 and 5 hour shifts. it gets expensive for those who commute a long distance to work or have to cover day care.

      Costco Wholesale2014-10-25
    • Helpful (201)

      "Costco is awesome to shop at and work for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tire Technician in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I tell everybody that if you do not have a Degree or know a trade, or if you are going to school and need a part time job, you need to work at Costco. To anyone reading this considering working for Costco, know that you could be a part time cart pusher making $25/hr getting bonuses twice a year, with excellent insurance and a 401k. Getting sick/vaca, and all the benefits you can think off. Just for being a good retail...

      Show More

      Cons

      I have not read any of the other reviews here, but I will I be honest as I can about any 'cons' working at Costco: Nights and weekends. you give that up. At least until you make it to the top of the totem pole in your dept.. That can be hard if you are in a big dept like 'front end' or in a dept. where employees have been there for a long time. You can ask to have more opening shifts and maybe a weekend off. But be...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      The only thing I wish Costco did was ask lower level employees (full timers-part timers) surveys about how they think the managers are doing. All level of management. From immediate supervisors to warehouse managers. Then have the warehouse manager review them. Just to get more input from the front line employees who almost matters most in Costco.

      Costco Wholesale2018-02-20
    • "Great pay and benefits!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Front End Associate/Cashier 

        I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time

        Pros

        Great pay for retail and great benefits. Sundays are time and a half. :)

        Cons

        Prepare to work every Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-22
      • "Excellent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Tire Installer in Kalamazoo, MI
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        You do NOT work holidays, great benefits, flexible schedule, on the job training, high paying, always room to move up in the company. Good raises.

        Cons

        Management is very poor, “ favoritisms” is a big thing here. Never post anything on social media they are always watching ( in the handbook) the cashiers have “clicks” and love drama. Everyone their always has something to say about another employee. Very gossiping.

        Advice to Management

        Do your job and stop handing it off to others so you can leave early. If something is broken do not try to fix it yourself, call the professionals to fix heavy equipment. If someone reports sexual harassment take the right action and do not assume or play the “ favoritism” card. Get involved and lend a helping hand instead of sitting in the office on your phones all day!

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-21
      • "Stable"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Buyer Assistant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Stable company, great benefits

        Cons

        Limited promotion options, middle management underpaid

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-21
      • "they have the best employee benefit"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cashier in Halifax, NS
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        they have the international students program which is so cool

        Cons

        I can not think of any

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-21
      • "Poor Management, Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Major in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Costco Wholesale full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        -Good Pay -Bonus -Holidays -Reasonable Perosnal Time -Amazing Benefits

        Cons

        -To many poor management choices Managers need a serious improvement on people skills on leading by example -Too much gossip between higher ups about employees were others can hear them, zero courtesy for many private matters.

        Advice to Management

        Weed out people who abuse their rank and actually listen to your employees without all the gossip of a High School lunch room.

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-22
      • "Costco"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Service Assistant in Fairbanks, AK
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Costco Wholesale part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Amazing Benefits , great people, Great pay

        Cons

        Employees can't use certain coupons/ discounts

        Costco Wholesale2019-07-22
      Found 5800 reviews