Cox Communications Employee Reviews about "cable"

Updated Dec 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 2,913 reviews

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cox Communications President Pat Esser
Pat Esser
1,494 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits - remote work - flexible hours(in 269 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Good Product, good people(in 196 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cable won't be lasting very much longer, this coming from a 20 year employee(in 46 reviews)

  • "Not tech support but more of a robot now following a unstable program that doesn't know anything(in 45 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "cable"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Family Owned Enterprise - Good Company to work for.

      Dec 5, 2020 - Universal Home Technician in Springfield, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      **Company Pros** -Great Starting Pay (Best I've seen for careers not requiring college degree). -Opportunities for Advancement/Career Roles within Cox Family Enterprise). -Good Benefits (Medical, Vision, Dental, Ect). -Generous Paid-Time Off. -Community Service related Paid-Time Off. -Employee discounts on company services; Cable/Internet/Phone/Home Security. -Enterprise-wide discounts from other companies for various things. **Title Related Pros** -Fleet Vehicle to drive while on duty, and also to take home depending on location. -Outfit & Equipment provided. -Great Training The career is fulfilling and gives the technician a lot of freedom, provided that you enjoy helping clients & are a technical mindset oriented individual.

      Cons

      -Outside elements (Heat, Cold, rain, snow, hail, high winds). -Potential Hazardous environments (Crawl-Spaces, Attics, Potential Asbestos containing Buildings, Boiler Rooms, Electrical Rooms, ect.) -Physical Labor Intensive (Handling 95Lbs ladders, climbing high voltage power lines, drilling, pulling cable, ect.) -You have the potential running into pests & vermin, some more common then others. (Rats, Mice, Spiders, Insects, Snakes). -You have a high-risk of getting shocked. **Disclaimer: You are provided tools to identify voltage/electricity although considering you deal with electronics on a daily basis, you will eventually get some sort of minor shock.** Long Story Short; There are a lot of hazardous situations you will encounter in this career path, but if you use the safety tools provided by the company and are vigilant about your safety the risks are reduced greatly; although there is always the risk of getting seriously hurt or worse.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Employment Branding Specialist

      Hi and thanks for your feedback. We strive to provide great service to our customers, and a great place of employment to our team, so we take feedback like yours to heart. We will certainly consider what you have written and we very much appreciate the time you took to provide it.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Work was ok, field management needs to go

      Apr 29, 2020 - Universal Home Technician in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay for tenured employees

      Cons

      Cable won't be lasting very much longer, this coming from a 20 year employee. They will eventually subout all their work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Hi, thanks for your review! As a 120-year-old company founded on innovation, we are proud to be at the forefront of technology across our diverse businesses and product lines. We are disappointed to hear about your experience, and will actively work to share this review with our leadership team. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We wish you much success in your future endeavors.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Falling Apart

      Sep 18, 2019 - Sales Representative in Newport News, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy, Healthcare, 401K, Independence, Pension

      Cons

      Management; doesn't know where company is going. people cutting cable

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Cox no longer has the "family feel" to it.

      Sep 5, 2019 - Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large organization, nice campus, competitive pay, long term incentive plan.

      Cons

      Constant downsizing and restructuring. Unfortunately, the cable industry is being hit hard by cord cutting and Cox Communications is slow to react. Other cable companies are much faster about integrating new products and services and strategies. Cox used to have a family feel when it came to treatment of employees. -Those days are gone forever.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We’re disappointed that your experience with us is not what you had hoped. You’re correct that our industry is rapidly changing, but we firmly believe that Cox Communications is poised for continued success as we work on next-gen technology, smart home automation and creating moments of real connection. Our employees have always been – and will continue to be – the foundation of our success, and we will never lose sight of that. Thank you again for your time with us, and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stressful, but Company treats everyone so well

      Jan 5, 2019 - Inbound Sales Representative in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best benefits hands down of any company out there. You will not find a better company for freebies, cheap insurance, free cable, and so much more. They even have an in house "save your butt fund" where they will cut you a check to help in the face of an emergency. The employees are like family. so much time off, fairs, travel, free swag, point system catalogue with everything from hair brushes to trips to Ireland. Just an amazing company to work for.

      Cons

      Company is losing a lot of money from internet only sales, and customers are not always treated best when they order "just internet". its discouraged and not as incentivized. Also, it's a cable company/internet, and customers are annoying to the point that if you work there long enough, no matter how good the benefits and pay is and they are unmatched, you will start to hate your job, and people. Cox customer base, especially in Louisiana are the most difficult, most annoying people to service. maybe I'm petty, but after a while, you just get so sick of the job. Very high turn over, but lots of room for advancement.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Universal Home Tech

      May 30, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work/home life balance, 4/10s 3 day weekends. Start out with 3 weeks vacation 1 week sick time. Great medical/dental/vision benefits for the family almost completely paid for by company. Free internet and cable(all channels), discounted other services. Tuition reimbursement . Plenty of advancement opportunity, almost everyone is promoted from within the company. Privately owned, employees are treated more like family, good values.

      Cons

      Deal with angry people all day, that don’t know what input is on a TV, or that the cable box has to be powered on to work

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Trying to squeeze sales right now

      Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, 401k match, generally a good company to work for overall

      Cons

      Use to be a much more local feel type company. Then it turned very corporate. Now since everyone is ditching their cable they are putting a lot of pressure on the sales team to get more multi product sales to the point reps are walking customers if they only want internet. They would rather not get the sale and turn the customer to buy online or go to another provider. It’s getting more corporate by the minute and sales goals change month to month so just when you start doing good the goal gets raised. And the goals have been harder and harder to achieve and I am making less and less money than I use to. I am currently forced to find new work. Also not a lot of room for movement because they closed the main call centers in CA. You have to live in Phoenix or Las Vegas on the west coast to have more opportunities

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cox Communications Response

      Thank you for your feedback. Closing the call center in California was a tough but necessary decision we made over three years ago in an effort to consolidate customer service operations in our seven locations. We continue to have a strong focus on employees, their overall satisfaction and career growth. We encourage you to share your experience with your manager and discuss ways that he or she may be able to support you. Thanks again for your input and review.

    8. 4.0
      Former Contractor

      Cox Communications I.T.

      Dec 15, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was a contractor/consultant off and on from 2008-2017 at CCI. Worked with some good people, was compensated well, was given plenty of responsibility and the chance to shine. Fairly laid-back place to work. If you build good relationships it will pay off.

      Cons

      Contracting/consulting is the way to go as FTE salaries aren't that great. Too many re-orgs, can be difficult to advance and some of their technology is antiquated (ICOMS). Also, Cable TV has seen better days.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst Job Ever Had

      Dec 3, 2017 - Technical Support in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits were great.

      Cons

      Tech Support doesn't mean tech support; it means sales. Yes, you help people fix their cable, internet and phone issues, but they also expect you to sell upgrades. You also can't get anywhere else in the company without brown nosing any and all of the managers and VPs. If you only do good work, you'll never be seen.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      They keep you stagnant in your career and cause you to just settle by making you comfortable with the benefits

      Nov 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are nice to work with, pleasant, and sort of helpful. Benefits are great and retirement plan is good. If you want to work it is sort of stable.

      Cons

      Attendance policy, No sick pay seperately PTO used for everything, Low salaries offered comparable to market for similar jobs aimed on performance based commissions, Overtime needed to make ends meet because the base salaries are way low compared to other large cable and broadband companies. Lateral movement within the company is often the only way to get ahead if those jobs aren't already lined up for friends too.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cox Communications Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cox Communications? Share Your Experiences

    Cox Communications logo
    or