DBS Bank Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
DBS Bank Chief Executive Officer Piyush Gupta
Piyush Gupta
1,182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance multi generation(in 201 reviews)

  • "good working environment for sure(in 174 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance may be an issue for some(in 217 reviews)

  • "Long working hours and independent life(in 139 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Place To work

      15 Apr 2021 - Development Engineer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DBS is good place to work and get more knowledge

      Cons

      don't have any cons from my side. every this fine for me

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      DBS Bank Response

      Senior Manager, HR

      Thank you for a positive review. We wish you a long and fulfilled career with DBS

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic place.. Zero work life balance

      12 May 2021 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits.. but they are shadowed by cons.

      Cons

      1.There is no planning for anything.. neither projects nor people’s career. 2.Requirements are not clear to product managers even till it’s ready for prod deployment.. I have experienced a project release which got reverted on user testing day in prod. 3. Most laughable thing : Mangers think and say that agile means we will it have requirements on day 1 , we need to ask questions, document the info. So, When should basic requirement analysis be done? After pushing developers to start Dev? Whose responsibility is this? Well in most of DBS Ibgt teams it’s developer’s responsibility to get requirements etc etc. 4. People’s career is joke to them, it goes like there is a requirement and oh here is a person who looks free just give it to him. Does it match his career goals ? Does he have knowledge on it? Does he need to learn and deliver? Nothing is thought of and deadlines are set without considering anything just a random date when user needs.. that’s it. 5. Employees are expected to work any number of hours and even after that they are not given enough support when needed. Thankless culture, 6. No pay balance at all . 7. Just a brain draining and stupid place to work at. 8. To top it all, HR ppl are of no use than sending out mails about policy changes .. this benefit that benefit.. wellness etc etc and in real nothing changes.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Secure place to work

      8 May 2021 - Analyst in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      DBS is an excellent workplace with lots of challenging opportunities, great people and great rewards. Organization is highly employee friendly and take good care of their concerns. DBS not only focuses on diversity hiring but also make sure that participation of these employees is equal. The management gives right opportunities to challenge you, learn and grow together. A great work culture which inculcates growth mindset and motivate us to do our best. I am proud to be part of this amazing organisation.

      Cons

      Didn't notice anything as such yet

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      For the Strong hearted

      24 Apr 2021 - Assistant Vice President in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Talented colleagues and challenging opportunities; Free hand to have ownership of initiatives; Immense learning opportunities with portals; mobile solutions and employee friendly education policies; Peer learning and meet-ups to share knowledge; Open feedback system to give and receive feedback and periodic organisation updates.

      Cons

      A bit of hectic work; Inconsistent decisions by sections of workforce leading to under utilisation of processes, systems and tools

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Management from both DAH2 & DAH

      20 Apr 2021 - Analyst in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great Management & Senior management treats you well 2. People around you are very friendly and helps you in everything. 3. good pay, hikes and bonus, perks, leaves etc 4. BS follows PRIDE values (Purpose driven, Relationship led, Innovation, Decisive, Everything FUN!) 5. My overall experience is great with DBS. 6. DBS encourages employees for Additional education for employees

      Cons

      I dont thik its a Con, but It would be better if management thinks about WFH flexibility to employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Zero work life balance

      1 Mar 2021 - Data Engineer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      high salary but salary is not everything

      Cons

      1) While I am joining I was surprised about Salary which they are paying, after joining I felt so bad for why I haven't asked more 2) Manages Feel like they hired us for 12 hrs. of working hours, so please don't ask me about Work life balance 3) They don't give any accesses for UAT or QA and in DEV you wont get data to test your code but task should be completed it in 1 or 2 days max, asking stable environment is a big crime 4) Managers will not discuss about your future aspirations and asked my manager about my interested working area, he told why should I care about emerging technologies out side DBS, if you want you can try outside and free to leave the company. I am so happy for his concern because it triggers me to searching outside job and got my aspirated role 5) Can some one suggest me that how we can improve spark app performance, with out seeing spark application URL and logs, but here it happens 6) They work for Stand up meeting status, not for application completeness 7) Don't ask about business logic to Singapore BA's, they will escalate you on this because Developer should tell the business logic to BA and Business people 8) I had many bad experiences please pardon me for not posting

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      DBS Bank Response

      Senior Manager, HR

      We regret that you have had a bad experience with DBS. We strongly recommend that you reach out to your line manager/HR business partner for any inputs you have on the way of working.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Employee review

      8 May 2021 - Executive in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good career for all employees

      Cons

      Work pressure across all portfolio

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Work Culture

      7 May 2021 - Analyst in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very cool working culture in DBS

      Cons

      not many that I have seen

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work culture and environment.

      30 Jan 2021 - Senior Officer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment and work culture. No restriction on timings (depends on project). work with cutting edge technologies like big data, block chain, micro frame works etc., In DBS they try to use everything open source and also KPI's involves cost cutting to third party tools.

      Cons

      Few times there will be peak work and sometimes average work (need more analysis on agile methodology). Lot of infrastructure and environment issues (because everything they use are open source, so there is very less product support) . Compared to other financial institutions pay is little low. As it is financial firm the freedom to explore new software and technologies is quiet low, you required permissions for every thing you want to try or install. I personally feel that security doesn't mean restricting access, it means isolation of critical systems from potential threats.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to expand your career in finacial sector

      26 Apr 2021 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can learn and grow career at a fast pace, open to change, welcoming and open minded collegues

      Cons

      Some senior staff are too predetermined and are a bit harsh.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,468 Reviews

    Popular Careers with DBS Bank Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DBS Bank? Share Your Experiences

    DBS Bank logo
    or