DWF Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated Nov 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 439 reviews

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
DWF CEO Nigel Knowles  (no image)
Nigel Knowles
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pays well and good work/life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "flexible working, working from home, nice colleagues, responsibility early on(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Would rather serve 10 years in prison than ever work for DWF again(in 23 reviews)

  • "not much flexibility, long hours(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "flexible working"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Could not recommend working here enough!

      Oct 19, 2021 - Insurance Paralegal in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I left my previous firm in the middle of the pandemic after wanting to move to a bigger company. It was a risk as I was working from home for the first four months by myself, learning a job I had not done before (I previously represented the Claimant). DWF provided me with a desk, laptop, second screen, keyboard and mouse. I was even provided with an office chair. I was supported by my line manager, supervisor and team mates daily and no question was too much. My wish to return to the office was supported and I was encouraged to apply for the firms training contract after only being there for two months. My manager and supervisor and very involved in the development of each team member which is fantastic as I did not think I would be given this level of support at such a big firm - I was worried I would get lost but this has not been the case. The firm have huge plans for the future and excellent success stories every single day. Our clients are house-hold names and the service we provide is outstanding. All employees are friendly and willing to help with whatever you may need - whether your team-mates, HR, facilities or those in a different team that you might have a question for. I have even been provided assistance by Partners who were more than happy to answer my questions. DWF also operate a flexible working hours pattern which is great for those who might need to alter their hours for whatever reason. There's a lot to do working in a busy role for such a prestigious firm but we all work together to achieve the best results. Working in the Insurance department means every day is different and you work on a variety of cases. The firm places a huge focus on important topics such as Diversity and Inclusion as well as Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance. The volunteering opportunities are endless, which is perfect for someone like myself that wishes to get involved in things outside of their daily duties. CEO Nigel Knowles is an excellent person to learn from and is very involved and welcoming. All Partners are very approachable and always willing to help. We have Townhall Meetings with the whole firm (including our colleagues in other countries) and this really helps with networking and getting to know those people that you wouldn't ever otherwise come across. This was particularly helpful when working from home and feeling slightly isolated as a result. These Townhall meetings instilled a sense of excitement around what is going to be happening next for the business. I genuinely considered staying at my old firm after I was offered the role at DWF due to fear of leaving my comfort zone. I am so glad that I decided to take the leap - the possibilities really are endless here. It is a great place to develop and I am excited to achieve a successful and high performing career here. Thank you DWF!

      Cons

      I would not say there are any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not great

      Nov 16, 2021 - Associate in Liverpool, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working and supportive policies.

      Cons

      No training. Limited supervision. Long hours.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good with flexible working - supervision could be improved

      Jul 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working, working from home, nice colleagues, responsibility early on

      Cons

      supervision and training sometimes inadequate

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture and collegiality

      Mar 28, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive teams and colleagues Flexible working practices Great employee engagement programmes Leadership incredibly approachable

      Cons

      Pay is not in line with the market

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      small cog in a large wheel

      Dec 3, 2020 - Solicitor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working. Good views from the 31st floor of The Walkie Talkie.

      Cons

      Corporate culture. Little opportunity to make an impact or be recognised.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      .

      Dec 16, 2020 - Paralegal in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible working hours s s

      Cons

      Very overworked and underpaid, extreme workload

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Billing specialist

      Nov 5, 2020 - Billing Specialist in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good leadership Good system Amazing and friendly staff Training is good you feel welcomed Flexible working

      Cons

      No future opportunities Higher management taking all the credit - not feeling appreciated

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor

      Jul 26, 2020 - Solicitor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Main pro is flexible working & there is some innovation

      Cons

      Cons Outweigh the pros-factory like atmosphere, poor financial rewards, high staff turnover, constant IT problems, high handed treatment of staff reflects their origins in volume work and does not inspire loyalty

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Bridge to your real career - no progression

      May 28, 2020 - Paralegal in Liverpool, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working pattern Casual clothing

      Cons

      No progression. You are going to be stuck doing the same job until you quit your job for a better opportunity or get a training contract elsewhere. You will see new faces in the office everyday because the turnover is high and the management can’t keep up with the leavers (why do you think they are leaving?) Too many cases to handle on your own Each team has its own rules and the manager is in charge, HR will just side with them without investigating or following their policy. Low salary for the work the paralegals do. The paralegals do all the work but get paid less. New systems in place every day and they want to stay in control of you, they are close to becoming micro managers.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I'd rather be unemployed

      Jun 11, 2020 - General Staff in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ever so slightly flexible working hours

      Cons

      Literally everything else Company will do anything to avoid paying their staff a fair wage (or anything at all if possible). They have a 'yes man' culture of only promoting the mindless ones who will blindly follow the leader which has developed a weird, inbred and disfunctional management structure of incompetent people who are not suited to the role due to their inability to think for themselves. They have actively colluded against and tried to frame a member of staff in an attempt to force them out. Male managers find it appropriate to make comments about other manager's breasts. Senior leadership has no quarms about telling managers to "shut up" in front of the staff they are meant to supervise. The company is paralysed by red tape, inefficient communication and a deeply ingrained fear of highlighting issues to those above them. The CEO, who recently abandoned ship, had the right idea.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with DWF Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at DWF? Share Your Experiences

    DWF logo
    or