Denbury Resources Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Denbury Resources Reviews

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Denbury Resources CEO Phil Rykhoek
Phil Rykhoek
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Denbury has gone through a lot of the changes through the years but still offers great benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "Very professional team and wonderful work environment(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "After 2 rounds of staff reduction, organization is top heavy(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low oil prices, cut lots benefits as well as resources(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "GREAT PEOPLE WITH A PLAN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong technical team with opportunities to do interesting work CEO who believes in company and path forward Good benefits and pay Great work environment and people that care

    Cons

    Oil price volatility and the adjustments that requires (but we chose the industry) New leaders who lack experience Grapevine gossip that causes unrest

    Advice to Management

    Focus on helping employees understand that commodity environment means course has to be adjusted as circumstances change. Streamline decision making process and communicate clearly - both good and bad.

    Denbury Resources2019-05-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "HR What a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I support our technology plan.

    Cons

    Our insurance denied an emergency medical procedure that our benefits description said would be covered. HR refused to help, make a call or even try to explain why it was denied. After threatening United they finally said our policy doesn't cover it. Back to HR who again refused to help or ask because "we aren't that kind of HR anymore". What kind? One that cares about their employees? Eventually, after my wife took time...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire better leaders in HR who care, starting at the top. Maybe someone who makes eye contact when she passes you in the hall?

    Denbury Resources2019-05-17
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Operations Engineer 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Denbury Resources full-time

      Pros

      Good people, fun work environment

      Cons

      Management doesn't always communicate clearly

      Denbury Resources2019-01-09
    • "Reservoir"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time

      Pros

      Overall a great company that cares for employees!

      Cons

      Bonus structure is not the best!

      Denbury Resources2018-11-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Denbury 2018"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Geoscience Technician in Plano, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Denbury has gone through a lot of the changes through the years but still offers great benefits. The atmosphere is positive and there are lots of great people who work here. What's left of the technical staff has strengthened, and there are interesting conventional projects that look amazing on anyone's resume. The new CEO is taking Denbury on a path to not just survive, but thrive.

      Cons

      Lots of work with not enough time in the day. The downturn has left us with the same workload with less than half of the technical staff we used to have. Training for techs the last few years has been non existent.

      Advice to Management

      Be more transparent, many people often feel like they have no clue as to what is actually going on.

      Denbury Resources2018-08-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "It was a great place to work 6 years ago"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reservoir Engineer in Plano, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      A few good employees left

      Cons

      Pretty much everything else would be a Con

      Denbury Resources2018-09-18
    • "Company with a lot problems to wokr out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time

      Pros

      You could not ask for better people to work with

      Cons

      All levels of management are severely disconnected with the day to day operations and understanding of how to better our business

      Denbury Resources2018-08-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Field IT Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Support Manager in Flowood, MS
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Excellent management team. My team mates were always easy to work with and excellent at communication.

      Cons

      Interdepartmental communication can be improved. Staffing levels were not optimal.

      Advice to Management

      Improve interdepartmental and company wide communication.

      Denbury Resources2018-04-18
    • "Company Changed- Only look out for Executives"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible work schedule and generous vacation/sick allowances

        Cons

        too many layoffs. Top heavy /too many managers

        Denbury Resources2018-04-25
      • "Culture, Policies & Leadership Poor - Benefits are (were) competitive, Not worth it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Denbury Resources full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Lots of talented people trying to stay positive in spite of the leadership, the high turnover and oil prices. Some of the benefits are still good, but something is being cut every quarter. There are some good managers but they're leaving as fast as the employees.

        Cons

        Leadership can't get it right after so long. Management team continues to fail us. Turnover is uncontrollable. Culture of micromanaging, leaders counting pages printed, continue to protect failing and awful managers even in Plano who they hired from their former companies or their friends (CFO-CIO), HR monitoring coffee consumption after taking away our stock, cutting our bonuses and lowering pay. It was a good company.

        Advice to Management

        Apologize for charging us $50 to buy the pictures WE took of OUR PERSONAL LIVES that decorate the building. Sold the Christmas decor, the plants...do you really need $50 for the 2 pictures of my vacation? You'll throw them away if I don't pay. Just awful.

        Denbury Resources2018-03-30
      Found 84 reviews