Disney Cruise Vacations Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Disney Cruise Vacations CEO Karl Holz
Karl Holz
45 Ratings
  1. "Coordinater at Disney cruisliner"

    5.0
     

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations

    Pros

    International experience, very advanced company, culturally diverse, inclusive and highly skilled.

    Cons

    Away from family, long hours, unpaid vacation, no free wifi

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2019-03-06
  2. "It's ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time

    Pros

    Free admissions to the parks

    Cons

    Horrible food for crew. All the budget invested in food for officers. Even Carnival treats crew much nicer

    Disney Cruise Vacations2019-02-04
  3. "Youth Activities Counselor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time

    Pros

    All living expenses covered Free travel

    Cons

    Tiny shared room with bunk bed Crazy long hours Low pay

    Disney Cruise Vacations2019-01-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "DCL Youth Activities Counselor"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time

    Pros

    The travel and free flights are pretty cool. The pay isn't bad and the disney perks like the passes are kind of cool too. You save a lot which is nice and because you have friends around the world you have places to stay. You might even meet a super special someone like a future wife or husband as most people on this ship do. But thats pretty much the only reason I gave this job 2 stars is because I met my wife there.

    Cons

    The Ship: I was placed on the disney Dream and although its the bigger ship of the four, Disney limits your access to the majority of the ship. Because Youth activities is apart of the entertainment department you have more access to the ship then others such as the pools and theaters. But other than that you an awful game room with a pool table thats useless because when the ship rocks all the balls move, a running deck to get out all of your anxiety about being stuck on a ship, and a small bar that's always too busy to buy drinks and full of creep guys looking to swoop up a girl who's had one too many. The living quarters are also ridiculous. Any cruise line around the world will have small rooms but these are ridiculous. I'm only 5'6" and I cant spread my arms out without hitting anything. Because they're so concerned about the guests they added space to the guest rooms by taking away from yours. Ship life: You work everyday for 9+ hours for months with kids. You're gonna be tired so just accept it. I thought I was a relaxed and chilled person but everyone has their limits and how to deal with their problems. If you think it's gonna be a fun party lifestyle job look somewhere else. You're only allowed beer and wine in your room and they water down everything at the crew bar. If you're a male like me, be prepared to work with a mainly female employees. It sounds awesome at first if you're into that sort of thing but the drama on a daily basis is too much sometimes. On the older ships with older employees it's nearly impossible to make friends due to the fact that they don't take kindly to new faces. It's a lonely life as it is on any cruise line, the difference is that because its disney your expectations are higher which means that it hurts more when it all falls. Another thing to keep in mind is that internet isn't free you pay for it. By the end of my first contract I had spent well over 300 dollars on internet for a couple months because you pay 10 dollars for 250 MB. So if you have a business at home or need to connect to family while on the ship, be prepared to pay for it. The food in the mess is also the most unhealthy and non tasty stuff on the planet. I have friends from Africa who have even told me and I quote, "I come from a third world country, and not even our food is this bad." You aren't allowed to eat in the guest areas without a request which won't always line up with your daily schedule and their might not always be space available for you. The Job: You like standing? Good, that's all you do. When the recruiters and interviewers talk to you about the job they always fail to mention that you'll be standing for hours IN ONE SPOT. It seems like you'll be playing with kids a lot which you do. But there are some things that you have to do like stand in front of the bathrooms to make sure the kids wash their hands thats not in the job description. sometimes you'll be stuck there for hours before the floor manager remembers to move you. The worst is the Castaway Cay. You'll be standing in a pool of you're own sweat for hours not allowed to move without permission just to make sure a kid doesn't go near a gate. Because Youth activities is such a large department you'll be assigned to help out around the ship such as firework duty, making sure guests don't go in danger zones, or welcome line where you stand and clap for every family that walks on board. Aside from the non stop standing you'll also be involved in the most ridiculous cleaning standards known to mankind. By the end of your first contract the smell of bleach will haunt you because of how much you use it to clean. The managers are so worried about dust and kids touching things that we do a thorough bleach clean multiple times a day. Everyone does it so theres no getting out of it. But at the end of the day if you're on closing team, the managers will come with flashlights and check and call you out for the most minor and insignificant things like a speck of dust on a picture frame. I can only speak for the Disney dream as I haven't been on the other ships, but let me tell you that you'll see the best and worst of kids and their parents. Sometimes your interactions with kids is awesome and you'll remember them forever. But when you're stuck in the kids club with kids ages 3 to 12, most of the time you're dealing with crying 3 and 4 year olds cause their parents either dropped them off and ran or the older kids aren't letting them play. The club itself really isn't that big and there will be times where you have over 200 kids. This past Christmas morning we had 280 kids checked in at 10 in the morning and most of them were crying because they just wanted to play with the toys in their rooms but their parents wanted to spend christmas morning alone. Speaking of the parents we really bend over backwards for them. Any sort of complaint that we get we end up treating them like VIPs just to avoid a bad review. And thats even if we did nothing wrong. For example we have a strict no 2 year old policy. But if a parent decides to kick up a fuss we will give them gift bags and invitations for free hours at our nursery followed by personal visits by our manager. It's honestly disgusting how awful parents can be over the smallest things and we will do anything just to change their minds. We reward bad behavior and the guests know it and take advantage of it. And being but mere counselors on the front desk, we're on the front lines and take the full hit for it. Final Note: Not all the ships travel. If you want to travel the world and you end up being put on the Disney Dream, dont even bother getting on the plane. They travel from Sketchville Florida, to dangerzone Bahamas, to Disney island and back. You see nothing and trying to transfer to a new ship is close to impossible because no one ever leaves the other ships. Some find this job amazing and love it. But for me and my friends that have been here long enough we've seen enough people come and go to understand that no one should ever do this job without fully accepting what the job is like. I wrote this review in hopes to warn those thinking about applying. You will be tested emotionally and physically as this job demands everything from you. I have a friend who went from this job to the navy and she told me that the inside DCL joke is true. Between the Navy and Disney, being in Navy is easier because at least you don't have to smile.

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Modern Times Slavery"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Port Canaveral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your friends back home will believe you have a cool job

    Cons

    You will wonder everyday how is all of this possibly legal

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2019-01-25
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Think before you sign on"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Travel Planner in Celebration, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, .... Great insurance, park admission

    Cons

    very poor management... your manager will probably not be able to do your job but will tell you how .... favoritism and gossip, so much credence is put into seniority and how long you have been at the company, but not the job you do and any experience or education you have that got you the job, that is forgotten and they do not want it mentioned....you become only a number measured by your seniority and if you are a favorite rather than the job you do. The only raise you get are a few cents a year as a merit raise.. my pay was ok, but I was making more 10 years ago with much less hassle

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2018-10-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Different role to job applied for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time

    Pros

    Great employee benefits, use of guest areas with certain restrictions, look after crew well with parties and various other activities.

    Cons

    Very long hours, job role was very different to how it was advertised, management weren't great

    Disney Cruise Vacations2018-08-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Personal Banker in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Disney is truly a world class employer, same care and passion for cast and Crew as it’s for Guest - (customers) I would work for Disney any day.. They treat u as family and create a fun , motivational environment .

    Cons

    There are NO CONS , Long hours on Cruise but great benefits .

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2018-07-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cruise Attendant (2 yrs)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cruise Attendant in Cairns
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing places to see and explore - Smaller ship with a mixed variety of job roles to keep things a little more interesting - Once again some of the excursions and activities you get to do - Delicious food

    Cons

    - Company didn't treat their employees that well in terms of pay and growth. - Crazy amount of hours worked.

    Continue reading
    Disney Cruise Vacations2018-06-21
  10. "Great people, too much overtime."

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Disney Cruise Vacations full-time

    Pros

    Great people and perks as cast members.

    Cons

    Too much overtime. Low salary.

    Disney Cruise Vacations2018-06-23
Found 98 reviews