Dollar Bank Branch Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Branch Manager

Dollar Bank Branch Manager Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Branch Managwr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They've been a great company to work for. Hard work and communication have earned me multiple promotions. They take care of employees that put effort into their careers

    Cons

    The cons are people that come on sites like this and complain. They didn't have a good experience because they didn't work hard enough. The bank keeps these people around too and should fire people instead of keeping them around. They also allow managers, like are the one with the Lions, to verbally chastise his employees and stay out all day doing nothing. They should remove him.

    Advice to Management

    Remove employees that are obvious problems.

    Dollar Bank2019-05-27
  2. "Ethics in banking starts here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, pay is very good, 401k is exceptional.

    Cons

    None at the moment I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure we keep to the values of do what's right. It's what makes us who we are.

    Dollar Bank2019-01-21
  3. Helpful (5)

    "A ton of sales pressure and horrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a darn thing. Horrible culture and below average pay.

    Cons

    Horrible salary. Unachievable sales goals. Regional management says they have your back but they don't. A lot of people here seem totally fake. At assistant managers meetings you are told one thing and then expected to do something else. The only way to move up in this company is to suck up. I was told when I was hired that as long as you give your best effort, everything will be ok even if you don't hit your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow what the previous reviews said and get rid of the numbers-focused regional managers. Please go back to doing what is best for the customers. Customers are people, not just faceless statistics like we are told in assistant managers meeting.

    Dollar Bank2018-10-12
  4. Helpful (8)

    "If you love sales pressure, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing anymore. Turning into a smaller Wells Fargo.

    Cons

    Focus shifted from providing great customer service to just hitting the sales goals. Not compensated well. Around $10,000 lower than other banks. Technology was just upgraded but is still in the early 2000's. Online banking is horrible. I am ashamed to show our technology to our customers. Not a lot of room for advancement. If you ask about transferring to another department, it is decided that you are not engaged...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to treating the customer well. It's not about customer service or having the right behaviors anymore. It's all about the numbers and the bottom line. Some employees do unethical things to get their end of year bonus, or "recognition" as the bank calls it.

    Dollar Bank2018-08-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people and culture were fantastic, good benefits and plenty of time off. Good work life balance. Not a lot of turnover

    Cons

    Dedication to.old values seemed to.diminish as the years rolled by. More emphasis on sales versus service. Became like all other banks.

    Dollar Bank2018-03-22
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Small bank everyone knows everyone else. Has little else to offer unless you just want a job. Many employees have been in the same position for decades.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. If you are a woman or a minority, forget it. Also they preach customer service but take advantage of people at every opportunity.

    Advice to Management

    You run a business don't say one thing yet act in a totally different manner.

    Dollar Bank2017-04-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A second rate bank."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unless you have been employed there for 10 or more years there are no pros. Made many friends and there are some great workers.

    Cons

    Got rid of pension. Claim to be customer service oriented but it's all about the sales. In two years branch was never fully staffed. Management plays favorites. Different rules for different employees. HR is unprofessional.

    Dollar Bank2017-02-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Less money more problems ...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    Training is ok. Company events are fun. employees are great people. Laid back. Gym reimbursement. Branch Support is good, if they like you.

    Cons

    Challenging to move up internally. If you do get promoted you're paid significantly less than someone with less experience externally... Which causes massive turnover. A lot of unnecessary paperwork. Pay is SO LOW compared to other banks and companies its worth getting the experience and leaving. Pension is frozen. Upper management need to start investing more in the younger employees rather than catering to the people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need to look to pay your employees more for their service. Try implementing a program to reward people for not calling off ($$$$).

    Dollar Bank2016-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training program, Coaching to meet potential, Advancement opportunities, Customer service focus, Benefits

    Cons

    Relatively low pay, Extended hours at some branch offices, Employee turnover,

    Advice to Management

    Increase employee incentives to encourage quality employees to stay.

    Dollar Bank2016-08-23
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Since "1855" Still like "1855""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees. Training program is perfect for someone who wants to learn banking.

    Cons

    Leadership not so great. The main problem is that the leadership team runs like an "old boys club" Need to get with the times and realize banking isn't like it used to be in 1855. Just isn't going to get any better if top of the house leadership doesn't change. When you are a community bank you should have local decision making capabilities with local leadership who UNDERSTANDS the markets we serve. Every business...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN TO YOUR EMPLOYEES > THEY ARE YOUR ONLY CHANCE TO SURVIVE. They have ideas and feedback that are meaningful and if you take the time to GET WITH THE TIMES then you may stop the bleeding you are currently experiencing in the CLEVELAND market. Not to mention you may keep a few more employees rather than having 40 open positions in a market with only 27 branches.

    Dollar Bank2014-07-03
Found 12 reviews