Dollar Bank Customer Service Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dollar Bank Customer Service Reviews

Updated Nov 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fully vested in 401k 1st day

    Cons

    weird schedule looks like a computer generated it

    Advice to Management

    Lose the ego

    Dollar Bank2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Feel at home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is nice working for a company that appreciates your efforts. Very thorough training program conducted by knowledgeable trainers. Upper management is very approachable; they take an interest in you as a person, not just an employee. Excellent back office support. Promote from within. Several social events each year. Improved vacation policy and 401k program in last year. Benefits include vacation and sick days, health,...

    Show More

    Cons

    No place is perfect, but no issues that workers everywhere don't complain about!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to review and improve benefits, systems, etc. There's been a big improvement in my time with the bank; look forward to what the future holds!

    Dollar Bank2018-10-17
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Slave Drivers! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you don't mind the constant berating and Stockholm Syndrome, they sometimes buy lunch.

    Cons

    Essentially everything. Regional Management does not care about customer care or staff success, only making sure they are in the office as little as possible and going on vacation half the year. Promotions are based upon a scale of who smooches the corporate behind the best. You are not allowed to have opinions, and god forbid you have an emergency- they will probably fire you. If you enjoy sanity and respect, I suggest...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It looks like I have the same advice as a lot of other folks - get rid of the regional managers. Horrible, horrible, horrible! A lot of people feel like the regionals can't be trusted. They will say one thing and then do another or just totally disregard your opinion and substitute their own reality. How about higher raises than 2.5%? That is embarrassingly pathetic.

    Dollar Bank2018-10-16
  4. "Great experience and instruction in a variety of areas allowing for full customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety in hours and positive team atmosphere to encourage growth and development personally and in career

    Cons

    High turnover and busy atmosphere. In general there is always more to get done.

    Advice to Management

    Increase in wages would be nice but mainly develop sense of ownership of the work and/or sense of importance at the base level

    Dollar Bank2018-05-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not pushed to sell, so less pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Greensburg, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great environment. Not pushed to sell. Nice hours - bank closes at five. The customers are mostly very nice and have been with the bank for a long time.

      Cons

      No commission. Do not receive pay raises often. There really aren't that many cons - I enjoy my job most of the time.

      Dollar Bank2017-03-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Customer Service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Massillon, OH
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Dollar Bank for less than a year

      Pros

      Good work hours, with weekends off

      Cons

      Management wasn't very respectful at least at my office

      Dollar Bank2016-09-27
    • Helpful (2)

      "customer service specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      No pressure to meet your sales goals.

      Cons

      Pay is terrible, it starts at low 20k and doesn't get much higher. Technology is extremely outdated.

      Advice to Management

      Pay people more.

      Dollar Bank2016-05-04
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great work environment, less than ideal salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The training and support are extensive. The managers and back offices want you to be knowledgeable and successful. If I had a question, someone would find the answer. Dollar Bank always had my back. They want you to meet goals, but your job security doesn't depend on pushing naive old people into opening accounts they don't need. Dollar Bank says they put customer service first, and this is entirely true.

      Cons

      The only two significant drawbacks were the hours and the pay. When I was hired, I was promised two Saturdays off a month, and that almost never happened. I believe I had a streak of ten Saturdays I worked in a row. The pay, although not dependent on commission, is not enough compensation for the responsibilities you are likely to have.

      Advice to Management

      Honestly, the most important thing management could do to draw in and keep good employees is show their appreciation with higher salaries.

      Dollar Bank2016-03-10
    • Helpful (3)

      "Old fashioned to a flaw"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant - Float in Cleveland, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Entry level positions. -No education or experience required -A more prestigious type of retail -Very good insurance -Old style feel

      Cons

      -Churn and burn employment -Inexperienced and uneducated management. The company still employs the "Good Cop Bad Cop" style of management. -Managers promote infighting in the office. Often times they will ask for gossip that will show up on other peoples reviews. -Company was founded in 1885, and still feels generally the same. Innovation is a dirty word. Suggesting ways to increase efficiency or improve service met...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Some basic training in HR for the management would benefit greatly, even simple steps such as reading "The Peter Principle" Young employees are often treated as second class citizens, and are often left out of the innovation process. Listen to your more valuable resources and try to improve functions within the company.

      Dollar Bank2015-06-03
    • Helpful (4)

      "Customer service assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Some of the employees and regular customers are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel like family you build a lot of relationships that you'll take with you after leaving the company

      Cons

      It is very stressful upon hiring they tell you, you can not get fired if you don't make your goals which is not true they constantly get on you to meet your goals like the much bigger banks but they don't want to pay bonuses or incentives then if you do meet your goal they're still not satisfied, management plays favorites a lot and the gossip is worse than high school staff is overworked and underpaid and not appreciated...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Management should learn how to speak to the staff as well as make them feel appreciated as well as not showing favoritism to some employees also know how to say good job when someone meets their goals instead of do more

      Dollar Bank2015-05-27
    Found 22 reviews