Dollar Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dollar Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can meet a lot of great people at the branches(in 13 reviews)

  • "They want you to meet goals, but your job security doesn't depend on pushing naive old people into opening accounts they don't need(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Dreadfully low pay which is exponentially worse if you work your way up in the company(in 15 reviews)

  • "If you are not a favorite of upper management the likelyhood of getting promoted is slim(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with good management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    flexible with time, nice environment

    Cons

    less salary, delayed promotions and the graveyard shift

    Dollar Bank2017-09-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Some Good..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President IT Risk Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly friendly people in operations.

    Cons

    Too much internal politics and backstabbing.

    Dollar Bank2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, nothing really changes

    Cons

    Pay, customers, a lot of customer complaints, technology, work not really independent

    Dollar Bank2019-09-15
  4. "Office job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist 

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    good environment, everyone is friendly and accessible, good benefits

    Cons

    the pay is not very competitive

    Dollar Bank2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Banking like its 1855"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get a paycheck twice a month

    Cons

    No direction from management, slow processes. You will not learn and be tasked with non IT tasks to take up your time. Office space is very old, bathrooms are disgusting. The company has no culture, sit at your desk all day and work, go home and do it again.

    Advice to Management

    Formulate real plans, communication is key. Value your employees and empower them to assist with positive change. Departments needs to be held accountable for working together better.

    Dollar Bank2019-09-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work with some caveats. Noticeable changes for the better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance Customer Focus Team Atmosphere Regionals are easy to communicate with and talk to. Contests and camaraderie are something that our whole team looks forward to! Overall I have enjoyed my time thus far at Dollar Bank. 401k better than anywhere I have worked in years.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than the industry standard. However for a good work/life balance ill trade a few grand for reasonable goals and seeing my family. Technology is antiquated though major changes are happening so this is a bit neutral.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the focus on upgrading your systems and getting them current in Online Banking. Inject the selling skills to our teams but don't sacrifice what were good at in truly putting the customer first. Treat your floats like a bench to back fill positions and have a greater focus on succession planning. Quite a few that are ready for the next step but are in a holding pattern to have enough floats. Please get us... more floats! They make or break some of our branches.

    Show More
    Dollar Bank2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best job. But it pays the bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are very nice. The office environment is friendly and helpful. You can never ask too many questions and everyone is always there for you. The salary is alright. Slow paced work which is good if you like that.

    Cons

    The salary could be better. Others make more than you with the same position at other places. The customer call center calls are the absolute worst. Others might get credit for what you do yourself. Little to no recognition. Job descriptions do not always explain in full what you are getting yourself into. Management is biased and sexist at times.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more for what their job description entails. Treat the female employees the same as the males.

    Dollar Bank2019-08-05
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist Supervisor 

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time with dollar bank.

    Cons

    The pay was very low. Moving up in the company can be difficult.

    Dollar Bank2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Benefits could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank

    Pros

    Great place to work if your driven and they like you.

    Cons

    They offer NO paternity leave. They also have NO maturity leave. You have to use your short term disability. Ridiculous. They have no supplemental insurance either. And no help with childcare.

    Advice to Management

    Look at what the progressive companies are offering their employees. Be more competitive. If you aren’t going to pay commission at least be more open to trying new things for employees with benefits.

    Dollar Bank2019-04-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A place to go to use as a jumping pad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    You can be your own architect/programmer as there is no one in charge of the overall design. Benefits are good and you get bank holidays.

    Cons

    Very below market pay. Outsourcing applications. Say they are agile but in reality not so much. Unreasonable time constraints. People get promoted who really should not be, especially after they fail.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in Agile training and make it stick. Add an architect.

    Dollar Bank2019-03-25
Found 168 reviews