Dollar Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dollar Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Dollar Bank CEO James J. McQuade
James J. McQuade
39 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work so long as you have previous experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall the residential lending department was a great place to work and my management team was very knowledgeable and forth coming with assistance.

    Cons

    very small organization had a hard time rolling out new technology. If I didn't have previous experience I don't think I would have been able to achieve my goals on their training alone.

    Dollar Bank2019-03-20
  2. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSS in Stow, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun staff, good training, and progressive environment.

    Cons

    Smaller bank, customers can be weird.

    Dollar Bank2019-02-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Overworks and underpay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist 

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and steady schedule are nice

    Cons

    Management will overwork you. Undermine you and underpay you.

    Dollar Bank2019-01-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Dollar Bank

    Pros

    Hours were flexible, but they more so benefitted the customers not the employees.

    Cons

    Turn over and Saturday hours.

    Dollar Bank2018-11-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive regional managers, clear expectations, compensation based on actual performance, not perceived performance.

    Cons

    I wish pay was better, but willing to trade lower pay for heavy sales pressure. I have also had a lot of staffing challenges - it takes a really long time to fill a position when somebody from the team leaves.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-10-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fully vested in 401k 1st day

    Cons

    weird schedule looks like a computer generated it

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Feel at home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is nice working for a company that appreciates your efforts. Very thorough training program conducted by knowledgeable trainers. Upper management is very approachable; they take an interest in you as a person, not just an employee. Excellent back office support. Promote from within. Several social events each year. Improved vacation policy and 401k program in last year. Benefits include vacation and sick days, health, dental, vision, matching 401k, tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    No place is perfect, but no issues that workers everywhere don't complain about!

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-10-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "DB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, really nice people Bank really does want to help customers—do things for right reasons

    Cons

    Department silos Need to get with the times—too old fashioned in thinking Low pay

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-10-27
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you work downtown you will have true bankers hours. You can meet a lot of great people at the branches. You don't have to take work home with you. The job is easy unless you move into a management role where you just get more and more piled on you without the pay you deserve.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are laughable even with recent improvements. You will still make far under the standard pay for your position and even less if you are a woman or a person of color. They forbid you to talk about pay so you don't realize how crazy the gaps are between what people get paid. Certain branch managers do whatever they want based on who they are close with in branch support and upper management. There are branch managers who are employed by Dollar Bank who are blatantly racist, sexist, incompetent, verbally abusive to employees and drive away a large amount of employees however continually get promoted based on who they know. Branch Support will act like they want to listen to your concerns but will never do anything about it. They will leave your branch incredibly understaffed and expect you to just deal with it. Forget taking lunches, you are expected to just eat behind the teller line or not at all. HR Dept claims they don't even have to give you a lunch. The amount of turnover is insane. Every assistant manager I met absolutely hated their job and felt overwhelmed and taken advantage of. Dollar Bank is a boys club, forget about real advancement if you are a woman.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-10-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Slave Drivers! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you don't mind the constant berating and Stockholm Syndrome, they sometimes buy lunch.

    Cons

    Essentially everything. Regional Management does not care about customer care or staff success, only making sure they are in the office as little as possible and going on vacation half the year. Promotions are based upon a scale of who smooches the corporate behind the best. You are not allowed to have opinions, and god forbid you have an emergency- they will probably fire you. If you enjoy sanity and respect, I suggest you stay as far away from this place as humanly possible.

    Continue reading
    Dollar Bank2018-10-16
Found 168 reviews