Dollar General Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dollar General Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,770 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, continuous support, fast paced(in 149 reviews)

  • "Weekly pay great customers great boss(in 113 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    None, has no cone whatsoever

    Dollar General2016-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "QA & production specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DG can be very good company in the long run only if they have proper top management

    Cons

    Its huge company where the TOP management is all messed up. Its like working for govt office. No Direction and Boss keep changing every two years make life difficult for people who work below.

    Advice to Management

    By shutting the Global sourcing office in HK / India / Pakistan / other region how does DG hope to get new vendors and expand its business. By just having one office in China will not help. Also there is huge cultural difference btw China vendors and sub continent vendors of the poor nation like India / Bangladesh / Pakistan etc. I feel DG must open sourcing office in each nation wait for some time and expect... result from day one as DG has very reputation due to there charge back after shipment all over the place, That is one area DG needs to stop hitting vendors who hardly make any money in DG low price orders.

    Show More
    Dollar General2017-02-21
  3. "Dollar General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is probably the easiest company to get a promotion from ranging from cashier to regional director.

    Cons

    The hours they give for the workload can be really tough.

    Advice to Management

    As long as you have a well trained crew you will be successful.

    Dollar General2019-10-19
  4. "Fast paced and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity Benefits Culture Diversity Flexibility

    Cons

    Slow to add systems Parking Cafe no so great, hit or miss Lots of turn over with entry level positions

    Dollar General2019-10-19
  5. "Moderately reasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Thomasville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get started once hired

    Cons

    Random hours not consistent scheduling

    Dollar General2019-10-19
  6. "Awful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Rinnie, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best reasons to work at DG is because they will work with you on your hours more then most places will

    Cons

    The biggest "Con" I have is my last boss was awful, she would call me in have me work trucks while on the register and wouldnt call anyone else in!

    Dollar General2019-10-17
  7. "N/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Builds up customer service skills

    Cons

    Angry & upset customers, but its up to you to handle them the correct way

    Dollar General2019-10-16
  8. "Reliable Customer Service Savant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead Cashier 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers were a joy to be around

    Cons

    The pay could be a lot better

    Dollar General2019-10-16
  9. "Easy job, but little to no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Nickelsville, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding job, fast paced, variety of different tasks makes each day unique.

    Cons

    Stressful, very minimal room for advancement, very poor pay, inconsistent hours/payroll.

    Dollar General2019-10-17
  10. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bosses. In my hometown

    Cons

    Stressful, fast paced. Some customers are rude

    Dollar General2019-10-15
Found 6159 reviews