Dollar General Stocker/Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dollar General Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Dollar General CEO Todd Vasos
Todd Vasos
1,780 Ratings
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    None, has no cone whatsoever

    Dollar General2016-04-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "QA & production specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    DG can be very good company in the long run only if they have proper top management

    Cons

    Its huge company where the TOP management is all messed up. Its like working for govt office. No Direction and Boss keep changing every two years make life difficult for people who work below.

    Advice to Management

    By shutting the Global sourcing office in HK / India / Pakistan / other region how does DG hope to get new vendors and expand its business. By just having one office in China will not help. Also there is huge cultural difference btw China vendors and sub continent vendors of the poor nation like India / Bangladesh / Pakistan etc. I feel DG must open sourcing office in each nation wait for some time and expect... result from day one as DG has very reputation due to there charge back after shipment all over the place, That is one area DG needs to stop hitting vendors who hardly make any money in DG low price orders.

    Show More
    Dollar General2017-02-21
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time

    Pros

    Breaks and ability to work with you

    Cons

    Hours And pay aren’t that good

    Dollar General2019-11-16
  4. "I was a key holder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Key Holder 

    I worked at Dollar General full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, great training, overall a good place to work

    Cons

    None, maybe more employees to help

    Dollar General2019-11-14
  5. "Was great but has gone down hill over the last 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Dollar General

    Pros

    Paid weekly. Not a 24 hour store.

    Cons

    Work life balance. There isn’t any. Dms are only looking out from themselves. Low budget operator yeah right. It’s NO budget.

    Dollar General2019-11-14
  6. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are cool and make the experience better.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be more work than pay.

    Dollar General2019-11-12
  7. "Job description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are nice and they work with your hours and day of availability also they pay every week

    Cons

    Not enough hours pay is okay but not enough to get by

    Advice to Management

    Try to split the hours between two works so no one haves more hours than the other person and everyone should have to clean the store at the end of the night not just cashier

    Dollar General2019-11-12
  8. "It started out good then...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lead 

    I have been working at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Pay, You’ll get hours

    Cons

    The DM is the worst right now... Managers don’t like to do any damn work, everything goes to the workers to pick up slack

    Dollar General2019-11-12
  9. "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dollar General part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Few hours if needed really that is all you get

    Cons

    None it is what it is

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Dollar General2019-11-10
  10. "Doing mostly what’s a manager does"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Cottondale, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dollar General full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked my way up from an cashier to a stocker and was a key holder. I can get my job done and willing to do anything.

    Cons

    Not enough hours for me to be able to get my own place and find something my in my field of welding.

    Dollar General2019-11-09
Found 6203 reviews