Dotdash Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 of over 207 reviews

4.0
88%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Dotdash CEO Neil Vogel
Neil Vogel
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and culture(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great staff, great writers and lots of perks(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lack of consistency between editors' understanding of guidelines for production(in 9 reviews)

  • "There are too strong hierarchical corporate culture, upper management dictatorship, Old-fashioned, boys club from 90's About(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Design engineer

      Oct 24, 2017 - Design Engineer in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is mostly good Really smart people, great culture

      Cons

      The promotion guidelines are not clear also there is no clear career path for the employees So much work and new wins that internal processes are stressed for capacity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to settle down :)

      Jan 16, 2016 - Senior Operations Analyst in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Less work pressure, relaxed work environment

      Cons

      less pay than you would expect from a normal IT company less than 10% annual appraisal

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great exporience

      Jun 12, 2021 - Fact Checker and Proofreader in Chester, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My Development Editor is amazing. The patience and care to my training and development given to me by my DE makes me feel like she cares about my success. I have been with the company less than a year but the experience has been good and no red flags. I'm learning a lot in my role as a Fact-Checker and I love the ability to manage my own schedule.

      Cons

      I have to admit, onboarding was a bit sketchy but this also the first fully remote position I have worked. The hiring/onboarding process is managed by WorkLoqic - who are all very nice and helpful. But it seemed so weird, and still does, to get hired by a company without speaking to a single soul. Everything is remote. Legit, 100%, but very remote.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Broken but fixable

      Jan 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Company is growing quickly, traffic and revenue are strong. -There are a lot of great people in the organization. If you’re on the right team, you can have a great day-to-day experience and love the people you work with. -IAC benefits and 401k match are hard to beat

      Cons

      -Whatever you think of the lawsuit, it is clear that many women at Dotdash don’t feel their voices are being heard. I hope that management takes this opportunity to solicit feedback from all employees to hear what support they need and aren’t currently getting. Devote time and energy to fixing this problem. This is not a fluke - I have personally had conversations with talented women at Dotdash on multiple teams who are considering leaving because they don’t feel supported by their (male) managers and don’t see a path for growth internally. Please listen to them. -HR seems to be in over their heads and significantly understaffed given the size and growth rate of the company. Rules and processes regarding hiring, reviews, promotions, raises, etc. aren’t clearly communicated. As a result, employees see other teams being treated differently and feel the company is biased or unfair. This can be fixed by clear process and good communication.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Supportive during pandemic

      Jun 10, 2021 - Editorial Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shockingly supportive during pandemic Fast-paced, agile work environment

      Cons

      Always a lot to do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Healthy, Growing Organization Committed to Doing Good

      Nov 12, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Genuine people who care about you as a whole person * An HR department you can turn to for help, support, guidance * Very low tolerance for bad behavior--if you're not in this to work well together, you should probably look elsewhere * Commitment to healthy finances and a strong business * Honest communication about where we are, where we're headed * Ongoing willingness to watch for opportunities for improvement and invest in them to make the business stronger * True ownership of what you do--have a good idea? Try it out, show its value, and it will get real support.

      Cons

      * As we grow, it can be tricky to transition from the scrappy more start-up approach to a scalable approach and still hang on to our fire, but we're doing it! * There's a very high volume of work and we move quickly, so people who are comfortable with that pace are happier. And you have to own your day and clarify priorities so you can do the important things well--don't just absorb all the work. The good news is, that's what's expected of an engaged person on the team!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people are working here!

      May 9, 2021 - Full Stack Developer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is doing well recently, something that motivates you as an employee to continue your hard work. Great culture, great people and great experience in overall.

      Cons

      Nothing that I can think of at the moment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great!

      Jun 3, 2021 - Quality Team Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the people and environment. Great group.

      Cons

      There really are no cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      DO NOT WORK HERE!

      May 6, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life/balance. Partners are easy to work with.

      Cons

      Terrible Management Gaslighting Undervaluing employees and their work Low base salary

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Lacked Communication

      May 26, 2021 - Content Writer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seemed like a good opportunity, friendly HR

      Cons

      Not very clear communication of expectations Worked as brief writer, difficult to understand what needed to be added because of convoluted brief structure Some needed files were not provided, HR counted against me in "trial briefs" Let go without explanation, after checking edits HR made on briefs that I had written (were on Google Docs), changes were minimal

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 125 Reviews

    Work at Dotdash? Share Your Experiences

    Dotdash logo
    or