Dow Jones Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Manager

Dow Jones Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
William Lewis
13 Ratings
  1. "Worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pros the hours they are a set schedule.

    Cons

    The company plays a lot of favorites if you are on there good side you will move up. If you don't play teachers pet then you wont.

    Advice to Management

    respect everyone

    Dow Jones2019-08-14
  2. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Monmouth Junction, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Overall the company was nicely run and work was often engaging and interesting. What I liked most about it was you were able to forge your own path and trajectory and manage successful outcomes with management being light touch. Co workers were mostly awesome people with a big heart. That alone made coming to work an absolute pleasure.

    Cons

    Since the News Corp acquisition in 2007, the company experienced significant transformations and a lot of employee churn. This was to be expected due to needed restructurings and realignment of business objectives. People who couldn't adapt to new and often changing operating paradigms did suffer, and more often than not opted to leave or experienced layoff due to reorganization. Executive and Middle Management was a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Been a while since I've been with the firm but please keep the Dow Jones and WSJ brands top tier and strive to stay relevant in the social media era. Keep boosting the online businesses. Strive for top talent.

    Dow Jones2019-07-25
  3. "Good benefits and good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with and good workplace benefits.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for progression available.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to listen to customers in order to maintain competitive advantage.

    Dow Jones2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Management on Every Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not many apart from making some good friends.

    Cons

    Easy to become complacent and bored. Very little room to progress and lots of company politics. Brown nosing is key to make your way up. Don't pay enough.

    Advice to Management

    Listen and be transparent rather than going on the defensive when questions are asked.

    Dow Jones2018-12-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It’s all a nice marketing bubble..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    free fruits and water Subsidized travel Okish to get the name on your CV - then run!)

    Cons

    - Trading on a name which they don’t even own anymore. The rest is also a sinking ship full of lies. - Products are being sold without being tested and working = embarrassing experiences in front of customers guaranteed! - Inaccurate Data - There is a clash in earning potential between senior members of staff at close to 1000%. Fresh AMs are only hired (and subsequently fired) to build their pipeline. Very cliquey...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think about integrity & ethical business perhaps...

    Dow Jones2018-07-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great technology office with progressive company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dow Jones has provided me many new opportunities and tools for growing my career. They provide excellent benefits and allow for a sane balance between work and personal life. The Minneapolis office is energetic, innovative and inclusive. The software development teams are given the latitude to build working and sustainable software. I have never worked with such a thoughtful, intelligent and committed group of people....

    Show More

    Cons

    Dow Jones is headquartered in New York. This means some traveling and the occasional feeling of being a bit dislocated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on moving forward; you're doing a great job of celebrating employee and organizational successes!

    Dow Jones2017-12-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in South Brunswick Terrace, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good salaries Good hours Some really nice people

    Cons

    Some very awful people - political, back-stabbing. Executive management does not have a good handle on what drives these businesses and why customers value the services. Rapidly changing from valuing

    Advice to Management

    Hire staff with experience in these fields instead of less experienced digital people with little understanding of your traditional customers. Value your people by retraining, increasing educational benefits instead of cutting.

    Dow Jones2017-08-17
  8. Helpful (10)

    "STAY AWAY! Received a tempting new offer? Yes it's too good to be true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None. Honestly the only problem about this company is the fact that you have benefits and a 401(k) but you get that at other companies too.

    Cons

    I only gave this company a one star rating because a zero star rating was not available. I worked in New York office from 2014 to 2016 Management was decent. My colleagues were good. BUT The hours were terribly long and the commute was horrible depending on which office you were going to. People worked 10 to 15 hours per day. I did not get to see my kids during the week. I worked on Sundays. Missed my kids school events...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand what your team does.

    Dow Jones2017-03-16
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Monmouth Junction, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly workplace and overall good atmosphere. Good work life balance and respect for differing opinions and ideas

    Cons

    Teams were in transition and a bit disorganized. Leadership needs to be a bit more decisive

    Dow Jones2016-07-25
  10. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Princeton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Dow Jones offers a lot of variety for project management opportunities. Exposure to many different aspects of the business keeps the job interesting.

    Cons

    The company is not very well organized and there is a lot of conflict, animosity, and competition rather than collaboration within senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Start recognizing the people who actually make projects successful rather than singing the praises of managers who take credit for the work of others.

    Dow Jones2016-05-17
Found 58 reviews