Dow Jones "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dow Jones Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 632 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
William Lewis
151 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management has no idea about what goes on or maybe they just don't care(in 22 reviews)

  • "Senior management is selfish, rude, and do not even talk to their junior-level employees(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great potential, lacks clear and cohesive focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits. Wonderful work/life balance and flexibility. Was at company for many years, for the majority of those years, there was recognition and appreciation for hard work and new ideas were welcomed. Potential for career advancement.

    Cons

    In the past few years, tools and resources have become scarce, and appreciation and understanding from upper management of the work being done has stalled. Lacks clear direction, focus, goals and communication throughout company.

    Advice to Management

    Create a clear plan and goals and communicate that to everyone. Start making better decisions regarding products, and what clients really want and need, as well as how to support your employees who actually care about the work and quality of products. Provide the tools and resources necessary not only to maintain current products but to create and to innovate.

    Dow Jones2018-01-24
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Princeton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice campus, free coffee and tea

    Cons

    Upper management has no idea about what goes on or maybe they just don't care. The titles for Upper Management change every few months and they only promote each other. The management team in general is very unprofessional and inexperienced. They do not speak or care to interact with the lower level employees. They treat certain positions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being intimidated by your lower level employees who have business knowledge and experience and promote those who are qualified. A company's success is based on knowledgeable, qualified and success driven individuals not egotistical maniacs

    Dow Jones2017-08-09
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Customer Experience Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time

    Pros

    Everyone thinks this is a "prestigious" company so it will look good on your resume.

    Cons

    Customer Experience managers have NO experience whether it be work or education they lack that and common sense. They are selected through favoritism and the management styles are purely unprofessional. You have "Senior VP's" who gossip with associates worst than the associates gossip with each other. The titles for upper management changes every 3 months yet the quality of...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Turning a blind eye will only lead to a downward spiral.

    Dow Jones2017-08-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible Managment, Favoritism and Constant Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time

    Pros

    - HR is actually the only good part about the company

    Cons

    - Upper management is totally disconnected right down to junior management. - Constant promotion of employees who lack experience. - Quality control is laughable. - Favoritism to the 10th power. - Ongoing layoffs and restructuring.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who aren't recent college grads and do a little digging when interviewing - ask questions that are relevant when hiring and have a better quality control process.

    Dow Jones2016-10-17
  5. "Needs a clearer mandate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People, lots of Vacation, and a generally nice place to work. Dow Jones has a great work atmosphere - filled with British accents and positive slogans. Management tends to look out for their employees.

    Cons

    No strong direction, no clear initiatives, promotes the wrong people, and too many meetings. The company is full of smart well meaning people. Unfortunately these people aren't always successful at this company due to upper management cronyism (hiring their friends) and a powerful tenure-based culture. Employees we're kept around simply due to being relics - despite having very...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people who are good at accomplishing tasks and less that want to hold more meetings. We spend more time fending off other employees than getting the task at hand done.

    Dow Jones2016-05-01
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, professional development, friendly coworkers, leadership present, company sees the need for more of digital media presence and works toward it, good locations and offices.

    Cons

    Things constantly changing, software, departments, hr system, catering company, upper management all things that have changed since I started within a year.

    Dow Jones2015-07-03
  7. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Strategy in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My department (Data Strategy) knows work and life balance. I love the SparkPlug events and will miss trivia games and cooking contests. My managers have the ideal management style for me - hands off non-interventionism with the expectation that things will get done. Realist idealism. If things have to change for better or for worse in this department, please keep the way that management is structured right now. Dress...

    Show More

    Cons

    All the talk about vigorous cost management is off-putting. It would be great if upper management had more communication with those lower in the chain, maybe in the form of more site visits.

    Advice to Management

    As mentioned, my managers have the ideal management style for me - hands off non-interventionism with the expectation that things will get done. Realist idealism. If things have to change for better or for worse in this department, please keep the way that management is structured right now

    Dow Jones2015-05-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in South Brunswick Terrace, NJ
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and Work/Life balance are amazing, free coffee/yogurt/popcorn, on site gym, can work from home. Job wasn't the least bit stressful. The people in my department were great and strived to make the workplace more fun.

    Cons

    Complete lack of development. Got to a point where my skill set just stagnated and I gained no extra responsibility. Literally browse the internet for 75% of the day. Would've been an ideal job if I just got it out of high school so I wouldn't feel so underutilized. Industry is declining, older generations keeping revenues afloat for now but window is closing. Upper management...

    Show More
    Dow Jones2014-12-09
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dow Jones full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great collaborative environment Overall positive attitude by most employees Opportunity to contribute from day Very flexible with work schedules Incredible work/life balance Phenomenal benefits

    Cons

    Alot of changes in upper management over the last two years has caused some unrest. Hopefully we have a solid team that will stick around for a while so plans can be seen through to the end.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the open plan/open door policy and continue to drive employee with positive reinforcement.

    Dow Jones2014-10-31
  10. "System Integrity Manager | Eloqua | Salesforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dow Jones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, good vacation time, helpful, understanding, Good benefits

    Cons

    uncertainty as to what upper management is doing.

    Dow Jones2014-04-07
Found 632 reviews