Dream Unlimited Employee Reviews about "dream"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 171 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Dream Unlimited President and CRO Michael J. Cooper
Michael J. Cooper
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dream has many of the same policies as other companies, with a difference(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great opportunities and good people(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, no strategy from top down, massive layoffs and constant change in strategy(in 7 reviews)

  • "I don't have anything negative to comment about my position with dream(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "dream"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It was like going to the army to pay for college

      Jan 16, 2021 - Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dream is a wonderful company to work at, full of congenial, hard-working, smart, friendly and fun people. They work very hard to maintain their culture and go above and beyond to engage employees and promote health, wellness and learning. Professionally, you’ll get a chance to run with things independently that might be above the level you would otherwise be at in a larger company, and you’ll learn quickly and develop to advance in your career faster as a result. These will also be towards some very interesting, landmark projects and deals. I would go to Dream all over again.

      Cons

      Dream is not a developer, it’s a hedge fund/PE firm that develops, and financial management is Dream’s primary value-add to any development partnership it enters. It’s not a bad thing at all, but one should know that going in because it drives everything at the firm, and the experience accordingly. It’s the classic pitfall of investment banking still hanging around from Dundee. People get promoted into people-management positions because they’re very gifted at finance and deal making (or not, but somehow get there anyways and leave you scratching your head). These people form the long-term core of Dream’s management. While many are fantastic managers and great mentors, others are not, nor do they have any interest in anything other than their own visibility and advancement whatsoever. The latter would be a small minority, but it’s definitely there unfortunately. I suppose it’s everywhere; maybe I’m just bitter. If your manager is the latter, your life will suck. It’s not a reason not to go to Dream, You’ll thank yourself later, and you will develop tremendously by virtue of what’s being dumped on you, but it will be painful. A lot of people can’t handle it, or plain don’t meet the expectations placed on them, which may very well be completely unrealistic depending on your supervisor’s managerial ability (or lack thereof). Hence the churn. Ohhhhh the churn. Everyone but the inner management circle churns like you’ve NEVER seen. It’s almost Orwellian, like 1984. One minute you’re talking to someone over coffee and the next....Poof. They gawn. Email address no longer valid. Like they were never there. No announcement of course, it happens too often, from resignations as well as terminations, to be fair, but it makes it very difficult to get up to speed as a new employee because you’ll be inheriting someone’s mess and/or busted excel model and there’s zero training coming in. Your manager is likely barely keeping their head above water with their workload (and yours, pre-transition) the day you sit down at your desk, and they can’t wait to hand off all the unsexy crap they just plain don’t want to deal with, especially if they’re in the management inner circle. If, like most employees, you’re outside of this circle, you’re dispensable, plain and simple. management assumes (quite rightfully so) that there are 100 people out on the street ready to take your place when you hit the glass ceiling. You won’t get through that ceiling, because your boss’ job is on the other side, and that’s when you disappear, voluntarily or not. Don’t worry, you’ll land on your feet in greener pastures because of the gauntlet you’ve just experienced.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Employer of Choice - Having an Impact

      Jun 15, 2020 - Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dream is a company that isn't afraid to do things differently and as a result your ability to have an impact within the organization and community. You get to work on projects you have to struggle to be part of at other organizations. If you are looking for a job where you are just looking to show up and punch the clock, then likely not going to be a match for you. If you are looking to be excited, challenged and grow and aren't afraid to work hard to make it happen, then this is the place for you. The team dynamic and culture is the best I have been a part of in all my career.

      Cons

      A few longer days here and there but that comes with working on cool projects to meet deliverables/deadlines. There is flexibility and recognition that comes along with that, so not really a Con.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Company Performance

      Jun 8, 2020 - Operations Manager in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am proud to work for Dream, the principal employee has been very genuine, caring and supportive throughout this COVID 19 crisis. The compnay continues to prove itself that is values all employees and treats us like family.

      Cons

      At this time I have no cons that are apparent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Jun 4, 2020 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are so many great things at Dream, from the projects we work on, the caring supportive management style, group team work, growth potential, extra recognition for those that outperform, and most recently all the communication and support during this pandemic.

      Cons

      Cant really think of anything

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dream Unlimited Response

      People + Culture Team

      It’s always great to hear about everyone’s experience as it allows us to focus on what we do well.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 4, 2020 - Senior Building Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dream has many of the same policies as other companies, with a difference. They actually follow them. The workplace is fair and balanced and I have never come across any signs of toxic culture. There are no silos. Benefits are great and as good or better than any I've had. Pay is fair and better than most other places of a similar nature. There are opportunities for advancement and good work is noted and appreciated. Dream is a company working toward the new, inclusive world we are all trying to build. They don't cut corners and only move forward when there is a well thought out strategy and proper budget. Communication is great and I've never been a victim of 'buck passing'. I am happy to be here and feel fortunate to have found this company.

      Cons

      Since I am required to fill in this field, let me say this. The only con about working for Dream is that I didn't land here sooner.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Dream Unlimited Response

      People + Culture Team

      We are so glad to hear you’re enjoying your experience with us. We look forward to continuing to provide opportunities and rewarding careers to all of our employees at Dream.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Working with Dream

      Jun 4, 2020 - Building Operator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like my job and my colleagues and training new building operators.

      Cons

      I don't have anything negative to comment about my position with dream.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Community Ambassador

      Jun 13, 2018 - Community Ambassador in Saskatoon, SK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with Dream is absolutely amazing, incredible and wonderful Leaders, they value their staff every angle of life.

      Cons

      I really don't have any negative feedbacks at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A place where you can actually contribute

      Jun 7, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A young, enthusiastic team full of people driven to improve. Sometimes it means heated opinions, but it's always with the goal of finding a better solution. If you're the kind of person that just wants to join a company where you can comfortably settle into being a cog in the wheel, there's probably more stable places to work that expect less of you. If you want to be able to contribute, share your ideas and fight for them, and make a tangible difference, no matter your title, Dream offers an amazing opportunity. The company's efforts ultimately shape the way and quality with which people live their lives, which is incredibly rewarding, and working closely with a multi-regional team provides you exposure to a range of unique perspectives.

      Cons

      The environment can be pretty fluid. The company is always trying to adapt and change, and while that can generally be a good thing, it means you don't get the comfort of knowing exactly what's expected of you for years on end. The culture can also lean toward over-work, and you can find yourself creeping toward the same too resulting in work/life balance issues, but that's tempered by a great deal of accomodation for people who keep more strict schedules. Dream also has a great deal of technology to enable cross-regional teams to function as one, but technical limitations or restrictions can feel overbearing or less efficient than they could be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Working at Dream is more than just a job.

      Jun 7, 2018 - Site Superintendent in Regina, SK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment. Great family benefits package. Working at Dream means being part of a community and a culture. We strive to create trend setting and innovative communities that people are proud to be a part of. Our work doesn't just start and stop with construction. We are active members of volunteer organizations, fundraisers and numerous events within the Dream communities that we build throughout the year. Dream provides it's staff with many perks, tools and access to information to ensure that we can all meet and exceed the goals we set for ourselves each year.

      Cons

      Working in construction means being subjected to the upwards and downwards swings of the market. Dream is not immune to these swings and sometimes the volatile market swings can affect your employment. This is just the nature of construction and will be a factor in any job in this industry.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent company!

      Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly positive environment - working with genuinely good people. Excellent benefits as well. The open desk/seating is inviting and you don't hesitate if you have a question for someone. (Don't need to knock on closed doors to talk with someone!) I love that Dream has so many volunteering events as well. It's good to see a company putting so much effort into the community.

      Cons

      No downsides to report! I've only had positive experiences here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Dream Unlimited Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Dream Unlimited? Share Your Experiences

    Dream Unlimited logo
    or