DuPont Research Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Research Scientist

DuPont Research Scientist Reviews

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
95%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
DuPont CEO Edward D. Breen
Edward D. Breen
4 Ratings
  1. "It's been great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Hyderābād

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strict adherence to core values, brilliant quality of research, great collaborations,

    Cons

    Location is too far from the city.

    DuPont2013-08-13
  2. "Good company under transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Research Scientist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working-life balance, good compensation and helpful people

    Cons

    Poor infrastructure. Information is not transparent during transition

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    DuPont2019-08-25
  3. "Work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 

    I have been working at DuPont full-time

    Pros

    Safety is the first thing

    Cons

    Slow in term of work, a lot of documentation

    DuPont2019-08-03
  4. "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Kingston, ON

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great! You can get pension when you retire at age 58!

    Cons

    Micro management, office politics, too many managers and too many directions

    DuPont2017-02-17
  5. "Research Scientis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Scientist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    improve salary and benefits for employees

    DuPont2016-08-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company been going in the wrong direction would no hope ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time

    Pros

    open culture, regular hours, smart coworkers

    Cons

    no clear path for promotions, no career development, management not open to or producing new project ideas, research is plug and chug and not novel, constantly bleeding talent, raises are minimal and have been cut recently with bonuses, no accountability of management, too much bureaucracy, and no onsite HR

    Advice to Management

    be open to new ideas, work on recruiting people to stay before trying to recruit new hires

    DuPont2016-06-14
  7. "Can't survive on past successes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mixture of technologies, certain projects can really change the world for the better.

    Cons

    After 2 years with the company I interviewed for a great management position. After multiple interviews I felt very good about the opportunity. Unfortunately, my boss gave a poor review of me to the hiring manager, even though I had fantastic year-end reviews each year. I guess she didn't want me to leave and ensured that I didn't. The company has been in a worsening turmoil for at least the past 8 years. Things... have gotten so bad that the company had to borrow one week's worth of salary from it's employees (interest free). The health insurance is the worst I've ever experienced in 20 years of work. In April 2016, the company switched payroll vendors after a major layoff. Many people were not given their promised paychecks (please google this to find out more).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop the nepotism and cronyism and change the culture towards giving the right people a chance to succeed.

    DuPont2016-04-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Changing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Has always been a scientifically stimulating and challenging (in a good way) environment. Great people doing great team work on projects that lead to new products/processes aimed at environmental sustainability.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to be more interested in keeping major shareholder happy (not that there's anything particularly negative about that) than staffing projects sufficiently. But then downsizing is the new CEO's specialty.

    Advice to Management

    As was stated in a WSJ article when the pending Dow/DuPont merger was announced, it is a sad day when two companies that have survived since the 19th century feel obliged to cowtow to activist investors. The culture and stated values of the company seem to be just so many words.

    DuPont2016-03-11
  9. "Former employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company with strong safety culture. Great colleagues to work with. Strong legacy of innovation resulting in many major innovative products

    Cons

    Poor leadership and management structure . Company lacked Ability to hold people accountable and make difficult decisions to improve profitability. Was easier to sell off parts of the business, than trim the fat and make the business successful

    DuPont2016-03-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The end is near"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Facility is in Santa Barbara. Great people working in PDL. Great 401K

    Cons

    Senior leadership missed the boat!!! Believed in their tecknology and didn't pay attention to the market which was going a different direction! Now starting to layoff good people (some of my friends) while they remain fat a happy. Just waiting for my number to be packed maybe have 7 to 9 months. Its a shame. But this seems to be the SOP for DuPont Corp as a whole.

    Advice to Management

    DuPonters start getting ready to pack your bags. Your going back to Willington. Good luck and good bye.

    DuPont2015-07-30
Found 17 reviews