DuPont Research Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Research Scientist

DuPont Research Scientist Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
DuPont CEO Edward D. Breen
Edward D. Breen
4 Ratings
  1. "It's been great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Hyderābād

      I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Strict adherence to core values, brilliant quality of research, great collaborations,

      Cons

      Location is too far from the city.

      DuPont2013-08-13
    • "Work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Scientist in Kingston, ON

      I worked at DuPont full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits are great! You can get pension when you retire at age 58!

      Cons

      Micro management, office politics, too many managers and too many directions

      DuPont2017-02-17
    • "Research Scientis"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Scientist in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at DuPont

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      improve salary and benefits for employees

      DuPont2016-08-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Company been going in the wrong direction would no hope ahead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DuPont full-time

      Pros

      open culture, regular hours, smart coworkers

      Cons

      no clear path for promotions, no career development, management not open to or producing new project ideas, research is plug and chug and not novel, constantly bleeding talent, raises are minimal and have been cut recently with bonuses, no accountability of management, too much bureaucracy, and no onsite HR

      Advice to Management

      be open to new ideas, work on recruiting people to stay before trying to recruit new hires

      DuPont2016-06-14
    • "Can't survive on past successes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great mixture of technologies, certain projects can really change the world for the better.

      Cons

      After 2 years with the company I interviewed for a great management position. After multiple interviews I felt very good about the opportunity. Unfortunately, my boss gave a poor review of me to the hiring manager, even though I had fantastic year-end reviews each year. I guess she didn't want me to leave and ensured that I didn't. The company has been in a worsening turmoil for at least the past 8 years. Things have...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Stop the nepotism and cronyism and change the culture towards giving the right people a chance to succeed.

      DuPont2016-04-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Changing culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Has always been a scientifically stimulating and challenging (in a good way) environment. Great people doing great team work on projects that lead to new products/processes aimed at environmental sustainability.

      Cons

      Upper management seems to be more interested in keeping major shareholder happy (not that there's anything particularly negative about that) than staffing projects sufficiently. But then downsizing is the new CEO's specialty.

      Advice to Management

      As was stated in a WSJ article when the pending Dow/DuPont merger was announced, it is a sad day when two companies that have survived since the 19th century feel obliged to cowtow to activist investors. The culture and stated values of the company seem to be just so many words.

      DuPont2016-03-11
    • "Former employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Scientist in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at DuPont full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good company with strong safety culture. Great colleagues to work with. Strong legacy of innovation resulting in many major innovative products

      Cons

      Poor leadership and management structure . Company lacked Ability to hold people accountable and make difficult decisions to improve profitability. Was easier to sell off parts of the business, than trim the fat and make the business successful

      DuPont2016-03-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "The end is near"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Santa Barbara, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Facility is in Santa Barbara. Great people working in PDL. Great 401K

      Cons

      Senior leadership missed the boat!!! Believed in their tecknology and didn't pay attention to the market which was going a different direction! Now starting to layoff good people (some of my friends) while they remain fat a happy. Just waiting for my number to be packed maybe have 7 to 9 months. Its a shame. But this seems to be the SOP for DuPont Corp as a whole.

      Advice to Management

      DuPonters start getting ready to pack your bags. Your going back to Willington. Good luck and good bye.

      DuPont2015-07-30
    • Helpful (6)

      "Industrial Biotech conglomerate offering experience but no growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Interesting technology Trying to "green" the economy Great culture in Palo Alto

      Cons

      No growth opportunities Management cares more about saving money (at everyones expense) instead of investing into new platforms or its employees Old boys club mentality No concrete information on how to get promoted or get good annual reviews

      Advice to Management

      It feels like a sinking ship. Revenue hasn't grown in a number of years. Forcing sig sigma on researchers is an unproven strategy that never worked for GE or Motorola. How bad do things have to get before constructive changes are made.

      DuPont2014-10-06
    • Helpful (6)

      "Good run for 18 years."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Research Scientist in Wilmington, DE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at DuPont full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Salary, benefits, work-life balance, most people are good to work with. Great place to work if you work in agriculture and industrial biosciences.

      Cons

      Poor career development - one is on there own here, leadership does not help at all. Leadership quality is highly variable - the company does not do a good job of developing people with leadership potential. Slow decision making processes. This is due to a lack of empowerment at all levels. Too many people are involved in the decision processes and too much consensus is required to get to a decision. DuPont...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Focus on improving leadership quality, and empowering your employees.

      DuPont2014-01-24
    Found 15 reviews