Dude Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dude Solutions Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Dude Solutions CEO Ed Roshitsh
Ed Roshitsh
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, work life balance and the quality folks to work alongside(in 26 reviews)

  • "The compensation then follows (great benefits too from day 1)(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing company with growing pains, however 2020 seems to have started with a lot of excitement and a unified vision on how to move forward(in 19 reviews)

  • "It's a high growth company, so learn to be flexible(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dude Solutions

    Pros

    Better working envoirnment and culture is good

    Cons

    Nothing bad about to speak

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2016-01-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, talented people. Good location.

    Cons

    Under staffed, too much process, agile overload, open floor format.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2020-03-20

    Dude Solutions Response

    March 21, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the review. Stay healthy out there!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "A place that lives up to its name..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dude Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, amazing peers (while they lasted).

    Cons

    There was a point in time when I really believed in the software engineering leadership at the Dude, and the direction that Ed was taking the company. The mission of the company is undoubtedly good, but the reality is that those of us on the ground level are treated like kindergarteners. It’s so weird to see one of the city’s “best places to work” slowly start to live up to being a place where you’re either a part of the white male leadership in-club, or you're slowly and strategically pushed closer and closer to the door. The ethos of Software Engineering is now one where you offer what is asked of you, with no questions asked, or you're seen as a hindrance. There’s a middle ground that is overlooked entirely, in the vein of “things had to change.” Hence, software engineers who care about being treated like adults need not apply to work at Dude Solutions. It is a machine that wishes to curb the creativity of developers to a point where “innovation" is a buzz word and technical debt is the rule, not the exception. Developers are looked at with disdain, unless you are the type of person who keeps to yourself and drinks the kool-aid. But even those developers are too smart to stick around and be treated like children. Meanwhile, management of the engineers will slowly get what they want in the way of everyone leaving, until they’re left with cheap labor overseas (the cost-cutting method called “attrition), and all the while can hide behind “necessary change” and delivery of a product that only even looks good to some clientele. Further, it appears that Dude Solutions lives up to its logo and name. White Dudes that barely deliver are overlooked after repeat complaints by their peers (often even promoted), while anyone else is at risk of losing their job just by way of not stroking the ego of the SVP of engineering. Middle management is not held accountable to their actions, and often gets away with a lack of the same professionalism they expect of the individual contributors. They respond to difficult questions with vagueness, blame-shifting, and even intimidation, while the reverse expectation is for DATA DATA DATA. It’s also comical how intently the word “quality” is thrown around. Some of the most talented QA engineers and UX designers have worked at the Dude, but when they make suggestions toward an overall quality strategy, they’re met with more constantly shifting priorities. There are even managers who are blindly approving pull-requests. Meanwhile, engineers are asked on a regular basis to circumvent any definition of done, and to deliver the easy (often untested) solution. I do not recommend working in the Product Development/Engineering department at Dude Solutions, especially if you’re someone who looks to improve the organization whose walls you work within. Go somewhere open to improvement, somewhere that actually (not just verbally) values diversity, and take your skills somewhere that will genuinely appreciate them.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2020-03-28

    Dude Solutions Response

    March 28, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the review. I cannot disagree more with the assertion of “White Dude Club”. Our C Suite is dominated by talented women. Our middle management ranks are solidly populated with great leaders who also happen to be women. We also won a corporate D&I award for our efforts the last 24 months. And, the state of NC in a routine audit gave us a clean bill of health for our ratios and efforts to make this a diverse place. We also have several great women in the ranks of leadership in product management and engineering. That one just does not stick. Ed

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place in RDU to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Automation Specialist in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dude Solutions is an amazing company to work for! Every day, I'm excited to be here working with a team that cares about each other and our clients! I currently work in marketing, and there has been a lot of positive change over the course of the past 2 years since Ed took the position as CEO. There is a bright future here as we are growing rapidly, and our company has received a lot of notary on our diversity & inclusion efforts - tons of female leadership, best places to work in the Triangle with great work-life balance, and volunteer opportunities. Love this place, my colleagues, and the people we serve!

    Cons

    There is no cons that I can think of for the time being.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2020-01-24

    Dude Solutions Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your review. We have made a lot of progress, but I know we still have a lot to do. We are still in the early innings. Thank you for being a Dude!

    Continue reading
  5. "It’s been great. I work with a good team, have a manageable work load, and are excited for the journey ahead."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, work life balance and the quality folks to work alongside

    Cons

    Growing company with growing pains, however 2020 seems to have started with a lot of excitement and a unified vision on how to move forward.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2020-01-23

    Dude Solutions Response

    January 23, 2020CEO

    Thank you for the review. And I totally agree with you on the orientation process. We want to put a bit more into this effort as it would pay off in ways that you describe and more! If you want to grab a coffee with me or Tara great...or, if you just want to throw a few ideas on paper under my door (anonymity!), we will look to add this facet. Thanks for being here.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Engineers: Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions

    Pros

    The benefits are fine, but it is not difficult to find similar benefits if you look around a bit. Recent improvements have put the benefits on par with similar companies.

    Cons

    If you are an Engineer, do yourself a favor and filter the Glassdoor reviews by "Engineer". The average rating is 1.7 stars, 15% recommend to a friend. (At the time I write this.) The average rating from Engineers between 2016-2017 is 4.4, the average between 2018-2019 is 1.2. The company was bought by a new equity firm. Right after that, a lot of people started mysteriously leaving without much of an explanation. (Management said the two are not connected.) Managers are using an approach called 9 block to anonymously put people on PIPs and forcing them to leave the company. It seems that the new leadership cares only about the artificial deadlines. Senior Engineers say that they have never worked in a worse code base. I think that Asset Essentials will end up killing the company. Bottom line: If you just want to make a pay check and have good benefits, Dude Solutions might be a fit for you. Otherwise, you can do better. This area of the country is competitive and engineers are needed almost everywhere.

    Dude Solutions2020-02-08

    Dude Solutions Response

    February 10, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the review. I have full confidence in our engineering team and leadership. Turnover in engineering is at a two year low and lots of progress has been made on AE..and our entire suite. Proud of our team’s persistence and progress.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of Ethnic or racial diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time

    Pros

    New management team that has experience scaling companies VC investment for further growth through acquisition. Loyal customer base Executive ranks have gender diversity Nice headquarters, decent benefits

    Cons

    Wrong HR leadership in place to make the culture change needed for growth. Very little innovation - all Products comes through acquisition. No integration or common UI across products. Very little ethnic or racial diversity. Surprising for a technology software company. Relationship based, highly entitled culture. All about who you know and everyone want to know how you got hired.

    Dude Solutions2020-01-08

    Dude Solutions Response

    January 8, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the review. Agree with all your pros. We have totally rebuilt the HR function in last three months, so I am wondering if the comment on HR is a hangover from past. We have done a lot of acquisitions, so the innovation/UI thought rings mostly true. The company has come a long way on ethnic and racial lines. We have an active D&I function and recently passed with flying colors an audit by NC State Labor board on hiring/employee base. We also were awarded by a local publication for our D&I program. Would love to have coffee with you and see what we can do more of to address your issues on culture/diversity.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Probably look elsewhere, if you do look here, be warned."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work life balance is acceptable. Depending on who you are in the company you can work from home occasionally for now. That can change depending on who you know/how good of friends you are with them. ELT/SLT are decent and approachable people. No problems there.

    Cons

    Be very very careful on the team you are going for. Very easy to get caught up in one that makes your day to day life rather unpleasant to say the least. While ELT/SLT are good, middle management/first layer of management is typically terrible. The common theme is an over emphasized sense of self importance that radiates into every interaction they have. This is not uncommon. Unless you are going to be in any sort of higher up role at all, don't bother. Atmosphere is like high school all over again. Gossip abounds. Your role will change. A lot. The only thing that is constant is change, and not the fun day to day personal challenge change. The bad change. Policies seem to differ from team to team, day to day, person to person. HR is generally worthless. A few that are helpful, but as a whole. They are usually friends with whoever the "issue" cases are and nothing happens. Rules as a whole tend to apply to thee and not to me. If you decide to work here, please, for the love of god, CYOA. Keep paper trails for everything, always have conversations of any importance on email/messanger. Send recaps of any performance/1 on 1 meetings to yourself and others. There will be issues, and you will need proof of whatever happened. If you get HR involved, typically nothing will be resolved. If the issue is bad enough, however, you would at least have proof for a decent legal case. I regret accepting a role here. If I can keep just one person from working here, my time here was worth it.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2019-12-20

    Dude Solutions Response

    December 20, 2019CEO

    First, thank you for the review. I hate reading some of these comments as a lot of us working very hard to improve a lot of the things you list. We do have some good front line/middle managers in both competence and culture, some who are good people who need some coaching, and like any org there are probably some that need to go back to being an individual contributor. As CEO, I have been focusing on the ELT/SLT and next layer. The general idea being if we get the right, the next concentric circle improves and then the next. I hate the gossip factor as well as it is energy burned internally the we should be aiming at helping clients or out flanking competitors. I hope we can change your mind over the coming months. I know it seems like sometimes things are not moving fast enough. Happy to have a cup of coffee any time. Thanks for being a Dude! Ed

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Implementation Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Implementation Consultant 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place for entry level employees. NOT an environment for anyone with industry experience.

    Cons

    This is not an implementation consultant position. This job should be titled, Onsite Trainer. There is very little implementation or consulting done by the Implementation Consultant. If you have “friends” within the company, you can/will be promoted and awarded even if your service to clients is subpar. Management doesn’t have management/leadership skills.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2020-01-15

    Dude Solutions Response

    January 15, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the review.

    Continue reading
  10. "Lots of Change, welcome to SaaS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dude Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Been here less than a year, loved it so far. Great team and culture...

    Cons

    Lots of changes have happened, none of my hiring managers are still here. Just a timing thing? Maybe. No defined structure around compensation or how we double check what we're paid on, no breakdown of commission on paycheck.

    Continue reading
    Dude Solutions2019-12-03

    Dude Solutions Response

    December 4, 2019CEO

    Thank you for the review. Your comments about tools around comp are spot on and there is an active project beginning to fix this. You should know how much every action puts in your pocket. Thanks for being here!

    Continue reading
Found 263 reviews