Duke Clinical Research Institute CRA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for CRA

Duke Clinical Research Institute CRA Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
6%
Recommend to a Friend
Duke Clinical Research Institute CEO Lesley Curtis, PhD
Lesley Curtis, PhD
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Needs some major improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great. The ability to work from home either part time or full time and they really try to keep a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of consistent training for new employees. PM & SM continuously blaming each other. Consistently underbidding projects with sponsors. The constant threat of financial instability.

    Advice to Management

    While I know that managing large groups of people is never easy, it would be nice if there was some sort of consistency when it came to new employee training. New employees are given way to long of a grace period to "catch" on to their role and end up being a burden to the study they are assigned to. They should be evaluated more often in the first 90 days and let go if they can't catch on. We as leads should not... still be training them on the basics 1.5 years into their positions! The PM and SM feuding may stop with the new splitting of clinops but that hasn't had enough time to tell. Hopefully with out own director we will have more of a voice now. The bidding process should include people who are actually on the front lines now and not people who were there 10-20 years ago. Things have changed drastically and so has the way sites are monitored. Maybe a survey across the SM team to see how the CRAs feel about how the SM bidding has been on recent projects and what can be done to improve it? Perhaps that might help with the financial instability that seems to plague the DCRI every few years.

    Show More
    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-22

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    February 6, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and suggestions. We are happy to hear that you feel the DCRI provides a good working environment that offers opportunities for learning and growth. As a mission-driven academic research organization, we believe that supporting professional ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not what it used to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Good health benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of workplace gossip. Promotions are hard to come by. Parking is expensive.

    Advice to Management

    The organization is top heavy.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2019-01-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Contract Senior CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior CRA in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    9 to 5 job with great work life balance.

    Cons

    No standard processes across the board. Each project has its own set of processes. Training is non-existent or lacking. Managers are terrible about communicating. If you ask too many questions, they assume you are not qualified and it will be a black mark against you. They say they are a collaborative environment but they ding you for asking questions.

    Advice to Management

    Assign mentors to new employees - a buddy system.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2018-01-30
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great Mission but poor middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great mission, compensation good, good people, fantastic benefits

    Cons

    staff are not held accountable for getting the work done; nepotism and favoritism

    Advice to Management

    DCRI is a great place with some great people but the lack of accountability is frustrating.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-07-25

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    August 18, 2017Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you feel that DCRI is a great place to work, specifically noting the great mission, good people, good compensation, and fantastic benefits. However, it’s concerning to hear that you feel that there is a lack ...

    Show More
  5. "Inconsistencies in Processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits (excluding compensation), work/life balance

    Cons

    constantly getting different answers about the simplest of matters (no consistent processes), poor communication between departments, severe micromanagement and focuses on less important details/ overall processes

    Advice to Management

    stop micromanaging (start trusting employees), and focus on supporting and implementing consisten processes

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2017-01-09

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    March 20, 2017Chief Operating Officer

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Having consistency in our processes is important to our employees, and we have made it a priority as part of our ‘Operational Optimization’ initiative. We've increased our focus on improving communications across DCRI (especially cross functionally), ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute

    Pros

    Benefits and educational benefits are great

    Cons

    No room to grow within the organization

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2016-03-01

    Duke Clinical Research Institute Response

    March 28, 2016CHRO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Creating more opportunities for career growth is important to our employees, and we have made it a priority. We've increased our focus on education and development activities, including allocating more resources within groups to help pay for specialized ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Lead CRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    events associated with Duke(basketball games, Duke gardens etc)

    Cons

    unrealistic Sponsor expectations, high workload, no support from CTMs, Unethical PLs

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees or you might not have any! High turnover, unhappy people working there

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2015-10-05
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Gone to hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with faculty and KOLs. Comfortable building with attached parking. Great co-workers. Opportunity to travel nationally and internationally. Good insurance, retirement, and other benefits.

    Cons

    Culture completely changed over years from one that sought to educate, train, and recognize accomplishments to one of intimidation and threats. Lost the benefit of increased flexibility and potential for exposure to faculty and cutting edge research for lower pay. Project Leaders overall HORRIBLE managers and primarily interested in shifting work to team to look good and then not support the team. Things began to... go down hill when Rob Califf and Debra Roth left and accelerated decline since. New management in 2012 worst decision ever! Very, very sad and disappointing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand Debra Roth is back and hopefully she'll be able to turn things around. If anyone can it's Debra.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2014-04-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Gone to the dogs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are ok. Parking close by

    Cons

    I worked at DCRI for over 10 years. I use to be proud of letting people know I was part of the DCRI. Last year new management came it and everything went down hill. There is no respect for those employees who are not managers and people have been leaving anywhere from 5-10 people a week. Workplace is very hostile and the few people that are remaining are in fear of losing their job. Individuals are being targeted... and harassed on a daily basis. The sad thing is those individuals there are leaving have been part of the DCRI for more than 5, 10 15, 20 or more years . These individuals had the knowledge and experience of how research is done correctly. The new management do not want to hear anything employees have to offer. It does not bother management that they are losing so many good employees. Management at DCRI is now being ruled with any iron fist. DCRI once was a place where individuals looked forward to coming to work every day and went above and beyond the call of duty

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the current management that was brought in last year. They have ruined DCRI's reputation and if this management continues at the rate it is now going, DCRI will be a thing of the past.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2013-11-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Negative changes going on at DCRI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead CRA in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Duke Clinical Research Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All the pros of working at DCRI are now going away. DCRI is striving to become as toxic as industry CROs. The pros of reasonable work hours and work/home life balance is now going away.

    Cons

    * pitiful pay raises (which used to be balanced by reasonable work hours and ability to have a work/home life balance) * new management came from industry and is ruining DCRI * unreasonable deliverable time lines and expectations

    Advice to Management

    * DCRI used to be the play people wanted to work and were working there because of the science, access to though leaders, and reasonable work expectations. The new management needs to review expectations, especially in light that Duke will never offer salaries that industry can offer.

    Duke Clinical Research Institute2013-04-14
Found 10 reviews