Duke University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Duke University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1166 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Richard Brodhead
144 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Durham might not be the safest place in the world(in 33 reviews)

  • "PhD postdocs are treated like slaves(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great, collaborative work environment with lots of resources."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, passionate faculty, tons of academic, intellectual, and professional resources.

    Cons

    Pay is less than industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep expanding and looking forward.

    Duke University2019-05-16
  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Durham, NC

    I worked at Duke University part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay for an assistantship.

    Cons

    I have no criticisms whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you!

    Duke University2019-05-13
  3. "Poor Management/ Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Duke University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexible hours, lots of food

    Cons

    Lack of organization, communication, and overall just a difficult place to work. They gave NO notice of loss of employment (they eliminated my position entirely). Sorry excuse for a company.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe figure out if you have time to be a supervisor before hiring someone for ten months.

    Duke University2019-05-21
  4. "Postdoctoral associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Associate 

    I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good research environment. Friendly to international researchers

    Cons

    Salary is not impressive and not many compensations and benefits for postdocs

    Duke University2019-05-20
  5. "Duke Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Durham, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The best platform to hone your skills. Good platform to network and meet new people. Excellent faculty. Alumni network is out of this world. Courses for my field are excellent. May differ for different majors.

    Cons

    The only con is the fact that it is situated in NC, and the climate change here is drastic. Other than that no con about the institution as such.

    Duke University2019-05-06
  6. "Mostly good..but there are some small issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Graduate Student 

      I worked at Duke University full-time

      Pros

      Great environment. Great for physical, intellectual, spiritual growth.

      Cons

      You don't always get the guidance you need from professors. I was charged unnecessary tuition due to a system error.

      Duke University2019-05-17
    • "Great Place for Research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clinical Trial Coordinator 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      I worked in at Duke in a division under OB-GYN and had the absolute best experience. I gained a lot of knowledge, was encourage to collaborate, create a new SOP that works for the clinic and had the best patients EVER. The work environment was like a home away from home. They really encouraged change and were open to new innovative ideas. If I was ever looking to return to Duke (relocated), I would certainly reach back...

      Show More

      Cons

      None that are worth mentioning. Super busy, but great experience.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to encourage team work and proper work load allocation. Great job!

      Duke University2019-05-01
    • "Racist Plantation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New Durham, NH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Duke University full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Benefit/ healthcare, gym benefit, some discounts, use of library

      Cons

      Low salary, poorly trained managerial staff no consistency across the university each department is its own little fiefdom where racism and races ideas abound. They allow someone who hit the black worker in a car to still continue to work there. They don't hold themselves accountable to stopping out bias behavior.

      Advice to Management

      Stop the racial awareness Workshop it's not affected if you want to Stamp Out racism train the managers. There is no room for growth unless you are favored by racist managers

      Duke University2019-05-17
    • "Great place to work for higher ed administrators"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Durham, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Benefits, professional development, training and development opportunities

      Cons

      Pay, work/life balance, job descriptions/ position expectations (overloaded JDs)

      Duke University2019-05-13
    • "The people are super"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff RN in Durham, NC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Duke University full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      The opportunities for nurses at Duke are numerous. You can learn anything about any type of nursing . Duke is a Magnet hospital .

      Cons

      The system is huge and can be overwhelming.

      Advice to Management

      Hang in there.

      Duke University2019-04-28
    Found 1166 reviews