Dun & Bradstreet Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dun & Bradstreet Director Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
14%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Dun & Bradstreet CEO Anthony Jabbour
Anthony Jabbour
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good Work/Life Balance ... No Career Path Upward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, sane hours, some good solutions

    Cons

    No career advancement, old technology, extremely political - rather than performance based culture

    Advice to Management

    Embrace innovation and treat people with respect

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-10-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Constant Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart people and a great focus on goals and turning the company around.

    Cons

    Constant change and culture shift due to the lack of people resources to get all the work done.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-09-30
  3. "Customer Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, People and working relationships

    Cons

    Weak Senior Leadership and Vision

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-07-11
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Horrendous Sales Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you can survive here you can survive anything. The portfolio cons you into thinking this will be a great place to work and HR dress it up as fast paced. The positive reviews on here clearly written by the poor people who have to justify the shocking turnover.

    Cons

    The culture is shocking the CEO is a bully who berates his leadership ship team who in turn bully their staff. Long hours early and late teleconferences are the norm topped with a commission plan that is for most unacceptable. The odd role can hit big numbers but most carry targets they can never achieve. Of my induction in November 2018 half of the Sales people had left within 6 months. These were senior... successful individuals who thought illion was a career move. Many left without roles to go to rather than endure the micromanagement a day longer. It’s owned by venture capitalists and led by people with shares only interested in the short term and their returns when the place sells (is on market) do not go here. It will break you people are broken and humiliated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fair work Australia will catch up with you soon.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-07-01
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Private Equity take over of D&B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    D&B has very good data and it is a prominent player. Great brand name and value proposition.

    Cons

    Private equity buyers are focused on cost cutting and not on growth. They will remove a lot of institutional knowledge and be left with 100 years old databases. They have no vision for growth or improvement

    Advice to Management

    Try to understand the market landscape and how you can differentiate. Get detailed knowledge instead of forming strategies based on superficial knowledge.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-03-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Outdated business model, declining performance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Short Hills, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time

    Pros

    Work environment is quite nice.

    Cons

    Business has beens struggling, loosing customers, laying off people.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-01-14
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Running in circles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Short Hills, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are quite intelligent. Expected as the 'product' is complex (data) and sub-products are created to meet a solution

    Cons

    No relevance between market and list pricing. Slows sales down and potentially violates agreements including those where there are substantial legal and financial penalties

    Advice to Management

    Stop the constant swings between "marketing driven" or "finance driven" or "sales driven"

    Dun & Bradstreet2018-10-16
  8. Helpful (29)

    "Grab someone’s coattails and stay along for the ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Short Hills, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance, including work from home. We removed the formal review process, which was nice for some, though it created a lack of clarity for others.

    Cons

    Review: This is not a short review, by any means. But it’s accurate and should give you a good picture of my employer, so please read the whole thing if you are contemplating a career here. When I joined D&B several years ago, this was a place that yearned for innovation – through new revenue generating ideas and major overhauls to the data supply chain. However, we are an impatient company, and due to... lack of top-line growth, we axed our prior CEO and brought in a hip, “modern”, CEO from the digital space that was going to completely disrupt our culture and strategy. With his new set of C-level execs, we ushered in a focused strategy towards growth and a sexy new brand while removing some of the stuffy bureaucratic leadership levels that existed when I joined. With all the change, came the layoffs. Some were expected and removed the redundancy that the original regime brought on. But at the same time, we appointed a new COO, who was terrible and had no idea how to inspire people, let alone all of sales and product. We made some questionable acquisitions, burning through our cash and integrating management from all these firms into our own. There was an assumption that our culture would mimic that of a start-up through these acquisitions. The opposite happened! Instead of being lean and agile, we increased our operating expenses. And what did we spend on? T&E! Workshops upon workshops, sending 10 people to events when you only needed 3, or people traveling all over the world for one-hour meetings when a WebEx would suffice. The wannabes emerged with lots of strategy decks, but no results. And even worse, they took credit for whichever few successes the company actually did have. D&B thought they were outside-in, but in reality, it was inside-out since the wannabes actually didn’t have any real substantial work experience outside of D&B. We had people that could do whatever they wanted because they had their “advocates”. Basically, if you were a former chief of staff or had a good relationship with a top 5 exec, you were set for your D&B life. No accountability required! So as this vicious cycle continued, the legends in their own minds continued spending and hiring/promoting wrong talent, while the worker bees and revenue-generators were let go over time. So where are we now? We just annihilated the rest of the most recent C-level regime, including the CEO for (surprise, surprise) lack of growth, the COO for his extracurriculars, and the CMO because he didn’t really know marketing. But it’s OK, because we’re 175 years old and we’re going to keep on trucking. Other Cons: We created our own corporate microcosm where you could do absolutely nothing of value, but still feel like an MVP. Most of these folks wouldn’t last 3 months in NYC or SF firms. In the summers, we sometimes had a shortage of desks due to all the interns. Speaking of which, we brought in 15-20 high school summer interns, which we basically babysat for 6 weeks. The college interns were essentially the sons and daughters of the execs, so none of them ended up sticking around post-graduation. Nepotism is huge at D&B, so if you’re related to an exec or one of their EA’s, you’re set!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do some real soul searching. A top 3 management consulting company barely understands our business, let alone what changes are needed. Sell the company to a place that will remove the idiots and focus on real growth.

    Dun & Bradstreet2018-06-03
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Sad End to a Once Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well known brand, respected risk scores and marketing data, good work life balance,

    Cons

    Trading on its past glory and survives (just) on its monopoly IP of the DUNS number. This isn't enough to ensure ensure its future. Terrible product development. General lack of direction, a feeling of drift. Management relying solely on cost cutting to increase margin.

    Advice to Management

    The company has relied on its monopoly of the DUNS number plus data aggregation to the exclusion of creating added value through product development. Given its lack of innovation, D&B will probably be taken over if anyone can work out how to make money from this relic of an earlier age.

    Dun & Bradstreet2018-06-21
  10. "D&B is cultural nirvana"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Short Hills, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, culture, flexibility. I love working at D&B. The transformation since Bob Carrigan joined has been steady and positive. There leadership team is inspiring. There is a great focus on people.

    Cons

    Not a ton of budgetary flexibility. Things are tight and there is not a lot of fluff...for most. It is not so bad that the necessities aren't maintained, but there are times when choices need to be made.

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the few who aren't additive and bring in more fresh ideas. Sales needs to be hungrier.

    Dun & Bradstreet2017-06-24
Found 30 reviews