Dun & Bradstreet Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Dun & Bradstreet Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
24%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Dun & Bradstreet CEO Anthony Jabbour
Anthony Jabbour
3 Ratings
  1. "PLSQL Developer DOTNET Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary , Flexibility, Leaves, Medical Benefits

    Cons

    Reduced perks compared to earlier

    Advice to Management

    They should maximize the development facility in India

    Dun & Bradstreet2017-12-12
  2. "Amazing work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet

    Pros

    Cool environment No micro management Timing is flexible Pay is good

    Cons

    Learning curve is low. Internal politics

    Advice to Management

    Nothing ..

    Dun & Bradstreet2017-02-06
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good product, less matured management, losing clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet

    Pros

    THe domain area is surely exciting.

    Cons

    Very bad management, nothing good happens for technically good people.

    Dun & Bradstreet2015-07-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Dysfunction at all levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work from home policy, however I'd prefer to be motivated to come into the office rather than looking for excuses not to be in the depressing atmosphere. Bright individuals to work with, however, no clear direction so lots of wasted effort.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? I'll start with the horrible off boarding experience. I was not given any information regarding how or when I would receive my last paycheck, where to turn in my hardware, or how to sign up for COBRA. I was given an impersonal survey to fill out via workday on my last day and that's it. Upon receiving my last paycheck it appeared that the price of my laptop was deducted which I left at my desk... per my conversation with the IT team member I talked to. I'm still waiting to be reimbursed for this incompetence. Morale is LOW. There were a huge number of team members leaving during the last few months of my employment, including my manager (I was without a direct manager for the last 4 months of my employment). This lack of morale likely stems from the lack of strong leaders in middle management and lack of clear direction from the C Suite of executives. The interview process is horrible for both interviewers and interviewees. For software engineers, there is no clear strategy of talent acquisition. In some cases I was asked to interview someone who would be on site in 30 minutes for a technical interview. Given that there is NO interview standardization at this company I felt completely underprepared. I feel the interview process is poorly designed and unfair, and a liability. When I was interviewed, I asked whether the company used data to inform decisions on the product I would be working on and was basically told "no" -- this was the first red flag. Data literacy within the company is severely lacking and there is no appetite or even desire to delve into advanced product or customer analytics. It's simply never prioritized or thought about. After the acquisition occurred, there were many benefits that were taken away, including: fitness reimbursement, employee stock purchase plan, standard yearly bonus. All were significant forms of compensation and only the bonus had any form of replacement (albeit a poorly defined and vague substitute). Many people are unsure of if and when a bonus will be paid out as it was poorly communicated and no formal program was communicated. I have never worked for any company that had poorer corporate communication programs than this one. We would often hear conflicting information from managers and from leaders. Including that our product was being sunset in the next year, yet a 5 year budget had been approved. Poor organization and enterprise software strategy pervades the entire company. There is redundancy all across the organization and it's very difficult to find or understand information regarding various API's and data marts. This has led to a massive amount of tech debt and hard to maintain monolithic code bases (that masquerade as "microservices" yet are so tightly coupled that deployment is a nightmare). Finally, the office is way up in north west Austin. This is almost 20 miles from Downtown. Don't work here if you want a decent commute and live central or south.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in talent acquisition strategy (what makes a good engineer and think about engineering talent acquisition company wide). Be more transparent. The opacity breeds mistrust and low morale. Many people have no clear idea whether there will even be a role for them in the near future, given the confusing messages that have come down from management. "There is so much work to be done" is not enough. What will my... role be after the product is sunset if any? Because of this ambiguity (among other issues), I immediately started interviewing elsewhere. Invest in a company wide data platform and eliminate redundant and poorly catalogued data marts. This is causing huge inefficiencies, risk vectors, and expense. Be more proactive when backfilling team members that have left. There were open recs that stood open for months or simply never got prioritized at all. Employees that were left were simply expected to compensate and held to the same deadlines. Modernize the tech stack. It's 2019 and people are still storing business critical data in spreadsheets rather than using a CMS. I can't tell you how many times we had to rebuild an app to process human errors in a spreadsheet that we had to use to feed into our system. Define job families and career matrices. The flatness of the organization is not enjoyable for employees. People want to know how to progress in their careers (not feel like a dead end) and also know who is more experienced.

    Show More
    Dun & Bradstreet2019-11-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not a good place to stay...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good and the work ethic used to be good....

    Cons

    New management have cut way too many positions so everyone has too much to do to really focus on delivering any benefit to the customers.

    Advice to Management

    You can't keep removing key people...

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-10-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Was great back in the day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy , work/life balance is great but really depends on which team and role.

    Cons

    Went private lost a bunch of perks.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on how your employees feel, moral is low.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-07-21
  7. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Good data Awesome folks

    Cons

    Beuracracy, slow to change, private equity

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-07-14
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lost my years in swamp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Malibu, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few of pros are there: - Some projects are interesting and challenging. - WLB exists up to some point - Location at Malibu

    Cons

    Tough to keep a balance in order not to go deep into details or personals and be objective at the same time. 1. Let's start within office at Malibu - lack of furniture, basic equipment & hardware, office itself is very modest. 2. Actual work: A lot of technical debt, nobody takes care about quality or future of projects. Five managers for 2-3 workers. Nobody interested in actual results, mostly focus... is in declaring results. 3. Teams/Environment: In some teams are very toxic and political. Had feeling - management proud themself by talking only. Bright people, they were there, but not now. 4. Management, diversity is there. Most of them is unnecessary layer, which could be eliminated without sacrificing. This layer knows that and that why defends itself, making environment even more toxic. It worth mentioning that management gives promises whatever you want to hear to stretch time. Most managers do not care about you. Unfortunately, in D&B I never met true Manager (yes, from capital letter). 5. Legal department - bunch of unprofessional subcontractors from Satterlee Stephens LLP that are ready to provide just basic level service. Unprofessionals answers and lack of competency, this what should you expect. 6. HR, Working for years.... I personally do not know who they are and what the do.... Honestly, they function is so unclear and bureaucratic. They will talk to you twice - when you are hired and when you are fired. Basically they function - make your professional career tough and unclear. 7. Promotions - Surprisingly (!), company with thousands employees does not offer you any career directions/transitions plans! Ironically , there is official career transition plan document - focused on your resignation mostly.... Should you expect career grow there ? My experience told - NO. So, personally I would not recommend for professionals to join D&B at this time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Too much cons are there to give Advice.

    Dun & Bradstreet2019-06-01
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Great work life balance, but stifled growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Senior in Center Valley, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hardly any weeks worked above 40 hours, great PTO policy, great product and good potential if CEO has the right vision. Good opportunities for training, mostly paid for.

    Cons

    People stuck in this company for decades are so far behind both technically and ethically. Many people in "leader" positions that have no business leading a team; very unprofessional and borderline in violation of HR rules related to harassment and bullying in the workplace. This makes for a very toxic work environment, which might be torpedoing DNB's efforts to attract fresh blood and talent.

    Advice to Management

    Please remove negative people from leadership positions. Retrain them and send them to classes on harassment in the workplace, and anger management, so that they can learn to treat other colleagues with respect and professionalism.

    Dun & Bradstreet2018-10-23
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Miserable place, and messes up paperwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Dun & Bradstreet full-time

    Pros

    Don't have to commute to the city

    Cons

    When our company was acquired by D&B a few years ago, they slashed benefits, reduced a lot of nice things we had, and, most importantly, really messed up with some people's information. Being misinformed by D&B and not given proper paperwork when I was an employee has led me to a nightmare of dealing with my taxes from that year. The company doesn't even care. Oh, and they pay software engineers... ~30-40k UNDER competitive rates. The only time I was offered a competitive salary was when I had another offer in hand and was giving my 2 weeks notice.

    Show More
    Dun & Bradstreet2018-09-22
Found 28 reviews